A strong economic framework

Recruiting the best talent

Innovations are determined to a substantial degree by the qualification of the workforce as a whole. The Swiss education system needs to take new skills profiles into account.

Overview Promoting upcoming young scientists The tertiary education system as a key location factor Free movement of people and access to workers from third countries

The pharmaceutical industry employs an above-average number of highly qualified personnel. However, innovations depend not only on the scientific level of individual leading researchers but are also determined to a significant degree by the qualification of the workforce as a whole and thus by investment in the Swiss education system.

In 2016, the Confederation, cantons and communes together spent CHF 37.2 billion on education. This is equivalent to 17.5% of total public spending and 5.6% of Switzerland’s gross domestic product. These figures underline the importance that Switzerland attaches to well-trained skilled workers, who are our most important resource and at the same time the driving force behind economic growth. Switzerland scores well in an international comparison of educational quality, thanks not least to its dual training system. Yet there is potential for improvement since technological change is leading to uncertainty and challenges relating to future job profiles, and digitalisation is changing the skills that are required. Schools and universities must therefore teach more digital skills and interpersonal skills. Vocational training within the dual training system must be made more flexible and modular.

Education, Research and Innovation (ERI)

The policy area of education, research and innovation (ERI) makes a substantial contribution to the well-being of individuals, society and the economy in Switzerland and is therefore accorded high priority. The quality of the Swiss ERI system is also recognised abroad. The Federal Council submits a dispatch on the promotion of education, research and innovation to the federal councillors every four years. In this dispatch, the Federal Council summarises the achievements of the current period and determines the objectives and actions for the new four-year period.

In February 2020, the Federal Council referred the dispatch on promotion of education, research and innovation (ERI) for the period 2021-2024 to Parliament. The following priorities were defined with the overarching objective of “Switzerland remains a leader in education, research and innovation and harnesses the opportunities offered by digitalisation”.

  • Vocational training: In concert with the cantons and industry, the Confederation will support the training of practically oriented skilled workers and promote innovative projects that prepare vocational training for digital change and lifelong learning.
  • Continuing education: In concert with the cantons, the Confederation will promote offerings particularly in the areas of language, information and communication technology and everyday mathematics.
  • Digital change: The ERI policy of the Confederation will support stakeholders in all areas in coping with and shaping the process of digital change and will support the expansion of digital skills and research capacities in strategic areas such as AI and cybersecurity.
  • Universities: The Confederation will mandate the institutions in the ETH Domain to play a central role as innovation drivers on the basis of their excellence in teaching and research and through knowledge transfer.
  • Promotion of research and innovation: In concert with the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) and Innosuisse, the Confederation will fund efficient support agencies committed to competition.

The ERI policy will contribute to sustainable development and equality of opportunity in all areas. In this way, it will support the implementation of Agenda 2030 and as a result the development of the Sustainable Development Strategy 2030.

Collaborative partnership between the public and private sectors (public-private partnership, PPP) plays a significant role in the ERI system. Dual vocational training, for example, depends to a large degree on the willingness of companies to train apprentices and to contribute, in some instances substantially, to the costs involved. PPP also occurs in the university and research settings and in the promotion of upcoming young talents.

Free movement of people and access to workers from third countries

A flexible labour market is one of Switzerland’s strengths, while access to foreign skilled workers and specialists is not. For this reason, one of the central requirements in coming years will be to safeguard the free movement of people.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2019

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Starke wirtschaftliche Rahmenbedingungen

Rekrutierung der besten Köpfe

Innovationen werden massgeblich von der Qualifikation der gesamten Belegschaft mitbestimmt. Das Bildungssystem der Schweiz muss dabei neuen Kompetenzanforderungen Rechnung tragen.

Übersicht Nachwuchsförderung Standortfaktor Hochschulsystem Personenfreizügigkeit und Zugang zu Arbeitskräften aus Drittstaaten

Die Pharmaindustrie beschäftigt überdurchschnittlich viele hochqualifizierte Mitarbeitende. Innovationen sind jedoch nicht nur vom wissenschaftlichen Niveau einzelner Spitzenforscher abhängig, sondern werden massgeblich von der Qualifikation der gesamten Belegschaft und damit auch von den Investitionen in das Schweizer Bildungssystem mitbestimmt.

Im Jahr 2016 haben Bund, Kantone und Gemeinden 37.2 Milliarden Franken für Bildungszwecke ausgegeben. Dieser Betrag entspricht 17,5% der gesamten öffentlichen Ausgaben und 5,6% des Bruttoinlandprodukts der Schweiz. Dies verdeutlicht den Stellenwert, der gut ausgebildeten Fachkräften als unserer wichtigsten Ressource und gleichzeitig als Motor für Wirtschaftswachstum zukommt. Die Schweiz steht punkto Bildungsqualität im internationalen Vergleich gut da, nicht zuletzt dank dem dualen Bildungssystem. Dennoch gibt es Verbesserungspotenzial, denn der technologische Wandel führt zu Unsicherheiten und Herausforderungen bezüglich der künftigen Berufsbilder und die Digitalisierung ist mit einem Wandel der Kompetenzanforderungen verbunden. Die obligatorischen Schulen wie auch die Hochschulen müssen deshalb mehr digitale Fachkompetenzen und interpersonelle Sozialkompetenzen vermitteln. Innerhalb des dualen Bildungssystems braucht es eine Flexibilisierung und Modularisierung der Berufsbildung.

Bildung, Forschung und Innovation (BFI)

Der Politikbereich «Bildung, Forschung und Innovation» (BFI) trägt wesentlich zum Wohle von Individuum, Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft in der Schweiz bei und geniesst deswegen eine hohe Priorität. Auch im Ausland geniesst das schweizerische BFI-System eine breite Anerkennung. Der Bundesrat legt den eidgenössischen Räten alle vier Jahre eine Botschaft zur Förderung von Bildung, Forschung und Innovation vor. Darin zieht der Bundesrat Bilanz über die laufende Periode und legt die Ziele und Massnahmen der neuen Förderperiode fest.

Im Februar 2020 hat der Bundesrat die Botschaft zur Förderung von Bildung, Forschung und Innovation (BFI) in den Jahren 2021-2024 ans Parlament verabschiedet. Unter dem Ziel «Die Schweiz bleibt führend in Bildung, Forschung und Innovation und nutzt die Chancen der Digitalisierung» wurden folgende Prioritäten definiert:

  • Berufsbildung: Der Bund unterstützt zusammen mit den Kantonen und der Wirtschaft die Ausbildung von praxisorientierten Fachkräften und fördert innovative Projekte, die die Berufsbildung für den digitalen Wandel und für das lebenslange Lernen fit machen.
  • Weiterbildung: Der Bund fördert gemeinsam mit den Kantonen Angebote insbesondere in den Bereichen Sprache, Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie sowie Alltagsmathematik.
  • Digitaler Wandel: Die BFI-Politik des Bundes unterstützt in allen Bereichen die Akteure in der Bewältigung und in der Mitgestaltung des digitalen Wandels und unterstützt den Aufbau von «Digital Skills» sowie Forschungskapazitäten in strategischen Bereichen wie KI und Cybersicherheit.
  • Hochschulen: Der Bund beauftragt die Institutionen des ETH-Bereichs, dank Exzellenz in Lehre und Forschung sowie durch Wissenstransfer eine tragende Rolle als Innovationsmotoren zu spielen.
  • Förderung von Forschung und Innovation: Der Bund finanziert mit dem Schweizerischen Nationalfonds (SNF) und der Innosuisse effiziente, dem Wettbewerb verpflichtete Förderagenturen.

Die BFI-Politik trägt in allen Bereichen zu einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung und zur Chancengerechtigkeit bei. Damit leistet sie auch einen Beitrag zur Umsetzung der Agenda 2030 und unterstützt damit die Erarbeitung der Strategie Nachhaltige Entwicklung 2030.

Eine hohe Bedeutung für das BFI-System hat das partnerschaftliche Zusammenwirken von öffentlicher Hand und Privatwirtschaft (PPP). Die duale Berufsbildung etwa hängt wesentlich von der Ausbildungsbereitschaft der Unternehmen und deren teilweise bedeutender Kostenbeteiligung ab. Weitere Anwendungen von PPP ergeben sich im Hochschul- und Forschungsbereich sowie bei der Nachwuchsförderung.

Personenfreizügigkeit und Zugang zu Arbeitskräften aus Drittstaaten

Der flexible Arbeitsmarkt ist eine Stärke der Schweiz, nicht aber der Zugang zu ausländischen Fach- und Spitzenkräften. Die Sicherstellung der Personenfreizügigkeit gehört deshalb zu den zentralen Forderungen für die kommenden Jahre.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2019

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen