Putting the focus on patients

Medicinal product manufacture

The process of manufacturing a medicinal product involves investments and risks.

Overview Regulation of medicinal products Use of medicinal products Biologicals and biosimilars List of pharmaceutical specialities Paediatric medicinal products Generics Parallel imports The Pharma Cooperation Code

A medicinal product is a product used to treat diseases and medical problems in humans or animals. It can cure (curative medicine), relieve (palliative medicine) or prevent (preventive medicine) diseases. A medicinal product can replace substances or fluids produced by the body. It can also render harmless microbes, parasites and other foreign matter capable of causing a disease. Medicinal products consist of active substances that cause an effect or reaction in the body, and excipients that enable the product to be formed into tablets or drops, for example.

The long process of manufacturing a medicine

In its search for new active substances, the pharmaceutical industry draws on findings from basic research performed primarily at universities and other institutions of tertiary education. Numerous substances are tested in the pharmaceutical industry’s research laboratories in various phases – in preclinical studies and clinical trials – and in a specific, predefined context for efficacy and safety in animals and humans. Genuine breakthroughs are relatively rare in medicine, despite the major effort that goes into research. Smaller advances resulting from the continuing development of known active substances are more common. But for patients, these small steps forward are just as important. This is particularly evident if we think of examples such as insulin therapy for people with diabetes, therapy for asthma sufferers, transplantation medicine and cancer therapy. If no therapeutic alternatives were available, many patients would have to make the best of treatment that was less than ideal for them. These small improvements include greater efficacy or improved safety as a result of fewer side effects. They can be achieved by optimising active substances or developing new dosage forms tailored to patients’ specific needs.

The pharmaceutical industry makes the investment and takes the risk

There is a high risk that development of a medicinal product will be stopped because of adverse effects or insufficient efficacy discovered in the course of clinical trials. Just 10 out of every 10,000 substances that are investigated and tested in the research laboratories make it as far as clinical trials. And just one of these substances passes all the clinical tests and subsequently comes onto the market as a medicine. Nowadays the costs associated with developing an innovative medicinal product exceed CHF 1 billion. The Swiss pharmaceutical industry finances its research activities completely from its own resources, and thus bears the entire risk associated with research. Research-based companies need an assurance that their discoveries will not be exploited economically by third parties who have not shared in the high cost of researching these products. The state protects companies by granting a limited period of patent protection for a new active substance.

Manufacture of medicinal products

The manufacture of a medicinal product begins with the isolation of the active substance, which is then processed into a specific delivery form, such as tablets or ointment, with the aid of excipients. Finally, the medicinal product is filled by machine into specially designed packaging. Medicinal products are manufactured in batches. Quality control and quality assurance measures ensure that only medicinal products of flawless quality come onto the market. If a batch is found to be faulty, the product can be recalled using the batch number. It is vital for the consumer that medicinal products are safe to use. The manufacture of these products is therefore subject to strict regulatory controls. In Switzerland this is the responsibility of Swissmedic, with the involvement of the cantons.

The manufacture of medicinal products is governed by the international standards of Good Manufacturing Practice (GMP) specified in Annex 1 of the Medicinal Products Licensing Ordinance (MPLO) adopted by the Federal Council. The GMP-compliant manufacture of medicinal products is also important for the recognition abroad of products manufactured in Switzerland.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2019

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Der Patient im Mittelpunkt

Arzneimittelherstellung

Der Prozess zur Herstellung eines Medikaments ist mit Investitionen und Risiken verbunden.

Übersicht Regulierung von Arzneimitteln Anwendung von Arzneimitteln Biologika & Biosimilars Spezialitätenliste Kinderarzneimittel Generika Parallelimporte Pharmakodex

Ein Medikament ist ein Mittel zur Behandlung von Krankheiten und Beschwerden beim Menschen oder beim Tier. Es kann Krankheiten heilen (kuratives Medikament), lindern (palliatives Medikament) oder verhüten (präventives Medikament). Ein Medikament kann auch vom Körper selbst erzeugte Stoffe oder Flüssigkeiten ersetzen. Ausserdem kann es Mikroerreger, Parasiten und andere körperfremde Stoffe, welche eine Krankheit verursachen, unschädlich machen. Medikamente bestehen aus Wirkstoffen, die im Körper eine Wirkung oder Reaktion hervorrufen und aus Hilfsstoffen, die das Medikament in eine bestimmte Form bringen wie Tabletten oder Tropfen.

Langer Prozess zur Herstellung eines Medikaments

Bei der Suche nach neuen Wirkstoffen baut die pharmazeutische Industrie auf den Erkenntnissen der Grundlagenforschung auf, die vor allem von den Universitäten und Hochschulen betrieben wird. Auf eine konkrete Problemstellung ausgerichtet werden in den Forschungslabors der pharmazeutischen Industrie zahlreiche Substanzen in verschiedenen Phasen – präklinische und klinische Studien –auf ihre Wirksamkeit und ihre Sicherheit – an Tier und Mensch – geprüft. Eigentliche Durchbrüche sind in der Medizin trotz grossen Forschungsanstrengungen relativ selten. Häufiger sind kleinere Fortschritte, die sich aus der Weiterentwicklung bekannter Wirkstoffe ergeben. Für die Patienten sind die kleinen Fortschritte aber ebenso wichtig. Dies wird besonders deutlich am Beispiel der Insulintherapie für Diabetiker, der Behandlung von Asthmatikern, der Transplantationsmedizin oder der Krebsbehandlung. Gäbe es keine therapeutischen Alternativen, müssten viele Patienten mit einer für sie nicht optimalen Behandlung vorliebnehmen. Zu den schrittweisen Verbesserungen zählen höhere Wirksamkeit oder bessere Sicherheit durch geringere Nebenwirkungen. Dies kann durch optimierte Wirksubstanzen oder neue Darreichungsformen, die auf die spezifischen Bedürfnisse der Patienten abgestimmt sind, erzielt werden.

Investition und Risiko trägt die Pharmaindustrie

Das Risiko ist gross, dass ein Medikament aufgrund von Nebenwirkungen oder ungenügender Wirkung, die in den klinischen Studien festgestellt werden, nicht weiterentwickelt wird. Von 10’000 Substanzen, die in den Forschungslabors untersucht und geprüft werden, gelangen 10 Substanzen in die Phase der klinischen Studien. Davon besteht nur gerade eine Substanz alle klinischen Tests und kommt später als Medikament in den Handel. Die Kosten für die Entwicklung eines innovativen Medikaments betragen heute über 1 Milliarde Franken. Die Schweizer Pharmaindustrie finanziert ihre Forschungstätigkeit zu 100 Prozent aus eigenen Mitteln und trägt somit das ganze Forschungsrisiko allein. Die forschenden Unternehmen müssen Gewähr haben, dass ihre Erfindungen nicht durch Dritte wirtschaftlich genutzt werden, ohne dass sich diese an den hohen Kosten des Forschungsaufwandes beteiligen. Der Staat schützt die Unternehmen davor, indem er für einen neuen Wirkstoff einen zeitlich begrenzten Patentschutz gewährt.

Herstellung von Arzneimitteln

Die Herstellung eines Arzneimittels beginnt mit der Isolation des Wirkstoffes, der dann zusammen mit Hilfsstoffen in eine bestimmte Arzneiform wie z.B. Tablette oder Salbe gebracht wird. Schliesslich wird das Arzneimittel maschinell in eine speziell entworfene Verpackung abgefüllt. Die Arzneimittel werden chargenweise, d.h. in Losen, hergestellt. Massnahmen zur Qualitätskontrolle und -sicherung stellen sicher, dass nur qualitativ einwandfreie Arzneimittel in den Verkauf gelangen. Sollte einmal eine Charge als mangelhaft erkannt werden, können die Arzneimittel aufgrund der Chargennummer zurückgerufen werden. Die Sicherheit der Arzneimittel für den Verbraucher muss unbedingt gewährleistet sein. Die Herstellung unterliegt deshalb einer strengen behördlichen Kontrolle. Dafür ist grundsätzlich Swissmedic zuständig. Die Kantone wirken bei dieser Kontrollaufgabe mit.

Die Arzneimittelherstellung richtet sich nach den internationalen Standards der Guten Herstellungspraxis (Good Manufacturing Praxis, GMP), die im Anhang 1 der Arzneimittel-Bewilligungsverordnung (AMBV) des Bundesrates festgehalten ist. Die GMP-konforme Arzneimittel-Herstellung ist auch für die Anerkennung der in der Schweiz produzierten Arzneimittel im Ausland wichtig.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2019

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen