Leader in research and development

The lengthy process of medicine development

The investment and time required to develop a new medicinal product is substantial – and success depends on many factors.

Overview The first steps towards a new medicinal product The preclinical phase The clinical phase Authorisation and product launch

In any type of research, major breakthroughs are the exception, while many small steps forward are the rule. This also applies to pharmaceutical research. It is the ongoing, incremental innovations over many years that lead to new therapies providing optimum benefit for patients. The pharmaceutical companies are in stiff global competition against each other to achieve small innovations in common diseases. They are competing with different substances aimed at the same pharmacological target. Yet the therapeutic success achieved by an individual medicine often does not become evident until it has been in use for some time. A wide variety of factors play a decisive role in success, among them efficacy, duration of action, interactions with other medicinal products, the existence of side effects, optimum availability of the active substance and optimum dosage forms.

Growing development effort

The effort that goes into research and development has increased greatly in recent decades, not least because of the stringent safety requirements embedded in the legislation. It now takes an average of 12 years to bring a new medicinal product to market. This work involves costs of around CHF 2.6 billion. Roughly two-thirds of this amount is spent before clinical trials even begin. Just ten out of every 10,000 substances that are investigated and tested in laboratories make it as far as clinical trials. Of these, only one single substance passes all the tests and comes onto the market as a medicine. The long development time means that the time available to the pharmaceutical companies to recoup their high development costs while their patent protection is active is continually decreasing.

Important patent protection for new active substances

On a global scale, a sum equivalent to around 20 percent of a pharmaceutical company’s turnover from prescription medicines is spent on research and development. This is one of the highest levels in any sector. Accordingly, research-based companies need to be sure that their discoveries will not be exploited commercially by third parties who have not shared in the cost of researching the products. A new active substance is granted protection by the state in the form of a patent. Statutory patent protection is limited to 20 years starting from the date the patent is submitted for registration, i.e. before preclinical studies in cell systems, for example, have even started. The usable period of patent protection has decreased as the safety requirements that a new medicinal product must meet have grown. Supplementary protection certificates were created to keep pace with this development. These certificates enable the patent protection for new medicinal products to be extended for a further 5 years, giving a maximum effective exploitable period of protection of 15 years.

Protection for submitted data as an incentive

The health authorities require the pharmaceutical industry to submit extensive data from preclinical and clinical studies before a medicinal product can be authorised. These data are required so that the quality, efficacy and safety of the medicine can be assessed. Pharmaceutical companies invest a great deal of time and money in preparing these data. The submitted data are protected (first applicant protection) to ensure that no other company can refer to or use them during the period of protection following the marketing authorisation of the product. First applicant protection provides an incentive for companies to allocate resources to research and development. It is an investment incentive that is independent of a product’s patent status. There are a number of reasons why a patent may not exist for a certain product in a specific country. In such cases, first applicant protection is the primary incentive for investment. This applies, for example, to the growing trend for companies to develop new indications on the basis of established active substances.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2019

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Führend in Forschung & Entwicklung

Der lange Weg eines Medikaments

Der Investitions- und Zeitaufwand zur Entwicklung eines neuen Medikaments ist erheblich - und der Erfolg von vielen Faktoren abhängig.

Übersicht Erste Schritte zum neuen Medikament Präklinische Phase Klinische Phase Zulassung und Markt­einführung

Der Investitions- und Zeitaufwand zur Entwicklung eines neuen Medikaments ist erheblich – und der Erfolg von vielen Faktoren abhängig.

Grosse Durchbrüche sind in der Forschung die Ausnahme, die Regel sind viele kleine Fortschritte. Dies gilt auch in der Pharmaforschung. Erst die laufende, schrittweise Innovation über Jahre hinweg führt zum optimalen Nutzen neuer Therapien für Patienten. Bei weitverbreiteten Krankheiten liefern sich die Pharmaunternehmen einen globalen, harten Wettbewerb um die schrittweise Innovation. Sie konkurrieren mit verschiedenen Substanzen mit gleichem pharmakologischem Angriffspunkt. Dabei kristallisiert sich der therapeutische Erfolg der einzelnen Medikamente oft erst nach einiger Zeit in der Anwendung heraus. Entscheidend sind eine Vielfalt von Erfolgsfaktoren: Wirksamkeit, Wirkungsdauer, Wechselwirkung mit anderen Medikamenten, allfällige Nebenwirkungen, optimale Verfügbarkeit des Wirkstoffes oder optimale Darreichungsformen.

Immer grösserer Entwicklungsaufwand

Der Aufwand für Forschung und Entwicklung ist in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten stark gestiegen, auch aufgrund hoher gesetzlicher Anforderungen an die Sicherheit. Bis zur Markteinführung eines neuen Medikamentes dauert es mittlerweile im Durchschnitt 12 Jahre. Die Kosten belaufen sich auf rund 2.6 Milliarden Franken. Rund zwei Drittel dieser Kosten fallen bereits vor den klinischen Studien an. Von 10‘000 Substanzen, die in den Labors untersucht und geprüft werden, schaffen es nur gerade zehn in die klinischen Versuche. Davon wiederum übersteht nur eine einzige Substanz alle Tests und kommt schliesslich als Medikament auf den Markt. Durch die lange Entwicklungszeit wird die nutzbare Zeit für die Pharmafirmen immer kürzer, um ihre hohen Entwicklungskosten unter Patentschutz refinanzieren zu können.

Wichtiger Patentschutz für neue Wirkstoffe

Global werden von Pharmaunternehmen rund 20 Prozent des Umsatzes mit verschreibungspflichtigen Medikamenten für Forschung und Entwicklung eingesetzt. Das ist über alle Branchen hinweg ein Höchstwert. Entsprechend müssen forschende Unternehmen Gewissheit haben, dass ihre Erfindungen nicht ohne Beteiligung am Forschungsaufwand durch Dritte wirtschaftlich genutzt werden. Der Staat schützt einen neuen Wirkstoff mit einem Patent. Der gesetzliche Patentschutz ist auf 20 Jahre beschränkt und beginnt mit dem Zeitpunkt der Patentanmeldung zu laufen, also noch vor den präklinischen Studien etwa in Zellsystemen. Mit den zunehmenden Sicherheitsanforderungen an neue Medikamente ist die nutzbare Schutzdauer immer kürzer geworden. Um mit dieser Entwicklung mitzuhalten, wurde das sogenannte «ergänzenden Schutzzertifikats» geschaffen. Damit kann der Patentschutz für neue Medikamente auf weitere 5 Jahre und auf eine effektiv nutzbare Schutzfrist von höchstens 15 Jahren ausgedehnt werden.

Anreize durch Schutz für eingereichte Daten

Die Gesundheitsbehörden verlangen von der Pharmaindustrie umfangreiches Datenmaterial aus präklinischen und klinischen Studien, bevor ein Medikament zugelassen wird. Das Datenmaterial ist zur Beurteilung von Qualität, Wirksamkeit und Sicherheit des Medikaments notwendig. Die Pharmaunternehmen investieren viel Zeit und Geld in die Aufbereitung dieser Daten. Der Schutz der eingereichten Daten (Erstanmelderschutz) stellt sicher, dass sich während der Schutzperiode nach der Marktzulassung kein anderes Unternehmen auf die Daten beziehen oder diese nutzen kann. Der Erstanmelderschutz bietet Anreiz dafür, die Mittel für die Forschung und Entwicklung bereitzustellen. Erstanmelderschutz ist ein vom Patentstatus unabhängiger Investitionsanreiz. Aus diversen Gründen kann für ein bestimmtes Produkt in einem bestimmten Land kein Patent vorliegen. In einem solchen Fall ist der Erstanmelderschutz der primäre Investitionsanreiz. Dies gilt etwa für die zunehmende Tendenz, auf der Basis gut etablierter Wirkstoffe neue Indikationen zu entwickeln.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2019

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen