Leader in research and development

New approaches in research and treatment

Pharmacological and technological innovations will lead to rapid improvements in medicinal products.

Overview Personalised medicine Rare diseases Cancer immunotherapy Stem cell research Antibiotic resistance

The rapid medical progress in recent decades has not only increased the chance of survival and a cure for many patients, it has also contributed to a considerably better quality of life. Yet there is still a major need for clinical research, and further knowledge is required in order to continue making progress.

Our understanding of the causes of many diseases, some of them common, is still incomplete. We are still at the beginning of research into neurological diseases such as dementia that will play a growing role as society ages over the coming decades. More effective therapies are needed to cure diseases or prevent them from breaking out in the first place. If this undertaking fails, our healthcare system and society will be faced with a major challenge.

Focus on the individual patient

One of the central elements in successful therapy is a focus on the personal needs of the individual patient when providing medical treatment. Important considerations include the patient’s individual medical history, environmental factors and personal factors such as age and gender. In modern medicine, there is also another individual component that is playing an increasingly important role – the patient’s genetic profile.

A field known as personalised medicine aims to use knowledge of the patient’s genetic profile to determine even before treatment starts whether they are likely to respond to a certain therapy. Genetic tests developed in parallel to new medicinal products enable better diagnoses to be made and medicines to be used more effectively. Personalised medicine also enables adverse effects to be reduced.

Reinforcing the innovative strength of the pharmaceutical industry

The European pharmaceutical industry association EFPIA has launched an initiative entitled #WeWontRest to show that the innovative strength of the industry is an important element in achieving further progress in healthcare. The initiative focuses on the development of innovative medicinal products that offer a substantial advantage over conventional therapies and are able to relieve and cure both rapidly and effectively. #WeWontRest uses the examples of Alzheimer’s disease, cancer, diabetes, HIV, lung cancer and leukaemia to show what has been achieved so far thanks to research and where further effort is needed in order to combat these diseases.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2019

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Führend in Forschung & Entwicklung

Neue Forschungs- und Therapieansätze

Pharmakologische und technologische Innovationen werden mit hoher Kadenz Arzneimittel verbessern.

Übersicht Personalisierte Medizin Seltene Krankheiten Krebsim­muntherapien Stammzellen­forschung Antibiotika-Resistenzen

Der rasante medizinische Fortschritt in den letzten Jahrzehnten hat nicht nur die Überlebens- und Heilungschancen für viele Patienten erhöht, sondern auch zu einer wesentlich höheren Lebensqualität beigetragen. Dennoch besteht ein unverändert grosser Bedarf an klinischer Forschung, und zusätzliche Erkenntnisse sind nötig, um weitere Fortschritte zu erzielen.

Unser Verständnis über die Ursachen von vielen, zum Teil auch häufigen Erkrankungen, ist immer noch lückenhaft. Bei neurologischen Erkrankungen wie Demenz, die mit der alternden Gesellschaft in den kommenden Jahrzehnten noch stark an Bedeutung gewinnen werden, stehen wir noch am Anfang. Wirksamere Therapien sind nötig, welche die Krankheit heilen oder sogar ihren Ausbruch verhindern können. Gelingt dies nicht, bedeutet dies eine grosse Herausforderung für unser Gesundheitswesen und die Gesellschaft.

Der individuelle Patient steht im Mittelpunkt

Medizinische Behandlungen an den persönlichen Bedürfnissen von Patienten auszurichten, gehört zu den zentralen Voraussetzungen einer erfolgreichen Therapie. Wichtig sind dabei die individuelle Krankengeschichte, Umwelteinflüsse und persönliche Faktoren wie Alter und Geschlecht. Darüber hinaus gewinnt in der modernen Medizin eine weitere individuelle Komponente zunehmend an Bedeutung – das genetische Profil der Patienten.

Die sogenannte personalisierte Medizin setzt darauf, das Wissen über das genetische Profil von Patienten zu nutzen, um schon vor dem Beginn der Behandlung abzuwägen, ob ein Patient auf eine bestimmte Therapie ansprechen wird. Genetische Tests, die parallel zu neuen Arzneimitteln entwickelt werden, ermöglichen bessere Diagnosen und den wirksameren Einsatz von Medikamenten. Auch unerwünschte Nebenwirkungen lassen sich mit dem Ansatz der personalisierten Medizin reduzieren.

Die innovative Kraft der Pharmaindustrie stärken

Der europäische Pharmaverband EFPIA zeigt mit seiner Initiative #WeWontRest, dass die innovative Kraft der Pharmaindustrie ein wichtiges Element für weiteren Fortschritt im Gesundheitsbereich ist. Im Fokus steht die Entwicklung von innovativen Medikamenten, die einen deutlichen Vorteil gegenüber herkömmlichen Therapien bieten und schnell und wirksam lindern und heilen können. Am Beispiel von Alzheimer, Krebs, Diabetes, HIV, Lungenkrebs und Leukämie zeigt #WeWontRest auf, was dank der Forschung bisher erreicht wurde und wo weitere Anstrengungen nötig sind, um die genannten Krankheiten zu bekämpfen.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2019

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen