Putting the focus on patients

Medicinal product safety

Comprehensive measures in recent years have greatly improved the safety of medicinal products.

Overview Medicine packaging Expiry dates Counterfeit medicinal products

Patient safety has always been the top priority both for the legislator and for the research-based pharmaceutical industry. In Switzerland, Swissmedic, the Swiss Agency for Therapeutic Products, is responsible for the safety of therapeutic products and enforcement of the Therapeutic Products Act (TPA). The Therapeutic Products Act requires anyone who handles medicinal products to adopt all the measures commensurate with the state of science and technology to ensure that the health of humans and animals is not endangered.

Safety in official channels

Companies that manufacture or distribute medicinal products in Switzerland (including import, wholesale, export and foreign trade activities) require an establishment licence from Swissmedic. An establishment licence is issued by Swissmedic following a successful inspection. Switzerland is the only country that requires a licence to be held for trade in medicinal products outside the country. The regulations governing the trade in medicinal products are even stricter within the country. As a result, according to Swissmedic, counterfeit medicines have never been found in the official distribution channels.

The Therapeutic Products Act authorises Swissmedic to confiscate, impound or destroy therapeutic products that are harmful to health or not compliant with the law. Furthermore, Swissmedic can forbid and prosecute the sale, distribution, import, export and trade in such products in other countries. Nowadays, it is a punishable offence to endanger people’s health by failing to take the necessary care when handling medicinal products, and to manufacture, place on the market, prescribe, import, export or trade outside Switzerland in medicinal products without an authorisation or a licence.

Measures for greater safety of medicines

The revised Therapeutic Products Act that came into force at the start of 2019 brings about further improvements to the safety of medicines. The enforcement authorities are no longer required to prove that the health of patients could be endangered if they suspect that a medicine is counterfeit. This is almost impossible to prove. In many cases the patients are unknown, or doctors are required to maintain medical confidentiality. Today the potential endangerment of health is a punishable offence.

There is unfortunately no absolute protection against counterfeit medicines and misuse. Because of the potentially serious health implications, a major effort is made both internationally and in Switzerland to prevent the manufacture and distribution of unsafe or counterfeit medicines. A package of measures and precautions is ultimately in place with the aim of ensuring the safety of medicines in Switzerland. These include the authorisation of medicinal products by Swissmedic and the fight against counterfeiting.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2019

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Der Patient im Mittelpunkt

Arzneimittelsicherheit

Übersicht Verpackung von Arzneimitteln Verfalldaten Arzneimittelfälschungen

Die Sicherheit von Medikamenten konnte in den letzten Jahren dank umfangreicher Massnahmen stark verbessert werden.

Sowohl für den Gesetzgeber als auch für die forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen hat die Sicherheit der Patienten schon seit jeher oberste Priorität. In der Schweiz ist das Heilmittelinstitut Swissmedic für die Sicherheit der Heilmittel und den Vollzug des Heilmittelgesetzes (HMG) zuständig. Das Heilmittelgesetz fordert, dass wer mit Medikamenten umgeht, dabei alle Massnahmen treffen muss, die nach dem Stand der Wissenschaft und Technik erforderlich sind, damit die Gesundheit von Mensch und Tier nicht gefährdet wird.

Sicherheit in den offiziellen Kanälen

Firmen, die in der Schweiz Medikamente herstellen oder vermitteln (inklusive Import, Grosshandel, Export und Handel im Ausland), benötigen eine Betriebsbewilligung von Swissmedic. Betriebsbewilligungen werden von Swissmedic nach erfolgreicher Inspektion erteilt. Die Schweiz ist das einzige Land, das auch für den Handel mit Arzneimitteln im Ausland eine Bewilligung vorschreibt. Im Inland sind die Voraussetzungen an den Medikamentenhandel noch strenger. Dies führt dazu, dass in den offiziellen Vertriebskanälen nach Angaben von Swissmedic noch nie gefälschte Medikamente festgestellt wurden.

Basierend auf dem Heilmittelgesetz kann Swissmedic gesundheitsgefährdende oder unerlaubte Heilmittel beschlagnahmen, amtlich verwahren oder vernichten. Zudem kann Swissmedic den Vertrieb, die Abgabe, die Ein- und Ausfuhr sowie den Handel solcher Produkte im Ausland von der Schweiz aus verbieten und strafrechtlich verfolgen. Heute wird bestraft, wer die Gesundheit von Menschen gefährdet, indem die Sorgfaltspflichten im Umgang mit Heilmitteln verletzt wird oder wer Arzneimittel ohne Zulassung resp. ohne Bewilligung herstellt, in Verkehr bringt, verschreibt, einführt, ausführt oder damit im Ausland handelt.

Massnahmen für mehr Medikamentensicherheit

Das Anfang 2019 in Kraft gesetzte, revidierte Heilmittelgesetzes bringt weitere Beiträge zur Verbesserung der Medikamentensicherheit: Die Vollzugsbehörden müssen bei Verdacht auf ein gefälschtes Medikament nicht mehr beweisen, dass die Gesundheit von Patienten gefährdet werden könnte. Dieser Beweis ist kaum zu erbringen: Oft sind die Patienten unbekannt oder es gilt die ärztliche Schweigepflicht. Heute kann bereits die potentielle Gefährdung der Gesundheit bestraft werden.

Gegen Fälschungen und Missbrauch gibt es leider keinen absoluten Schutz. Wegen den möglicherweise schwerwiegenden gesundheitlichen Auswirkungen werden sowohl international als auch in der Schweiz grosse Anstrengungen unternommen, um die Herstellung und den Vertrieb von unsicheren oder gefälschten Medikamenten zu verhindern. Letztlich soll ein Paket von verschiedenen Massnahmen und Vorkehrungen dazu beitragen die Sicherheit der Medikamente in der Schweiz zu gewährleisten. Die Zulassung von Medikamenten durch Swissmedic und der Kampf gegen Medikamentenfälschungen/ Counterfeiting sind zwei Beispiele dafür.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2019

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen