Leader in research and development

Antibiotic resistance

In recent years, antimicrobial resistance has dramatically increased worldwide. Improper use of antibiotics poses considerable risks to humans and animals. There is a need for action with increasing urgency. Decisive measures and joint efforts are now needed. Incentives supporting research and development with thereby be of major importance.

Overview

From the time penicillin came onto the market in 1942, antibiotics have enabled diseases to be cured that formerly meant severe impairment or even a death sentence for those suffering from them. Pneumonia, meningitis and tuberculosis, as well as initially harmless infections, could have resulted in serious complications. Antibiotics continue to play an important role in modern medicine, for example in treating severe infections and preventing infections during surgery or chemotherapy.

Growing antibiotic resistance

In the past few decades, there has been a global increase in the development and spread of antimicrobial resistance (i.e. the reduced efficacy of antibiotics) – it is predicted that this will result in ten million deaths annually between now and 2050. Moreover, micro-organisms are increasingly multiresistant, which means that they develop resistance to several classes of antibiotics.

A major factor in this development is the over-frequent and inappropriate use of antibiotics in human and also veterinary medicine. The urgency of this global problem is being recognised increasingly in the public and the private sector, and the pharmaceutical industry is also redoubling its efforts to counter growing antibiotic resistance by developing new therapeutic and diagnostic approaches.

Strategy on Antibiotic Resistance Switzerland (StAR)

The Strategy on Antibiotic Resistance Switzerland (StAR) launched in 2015 has adopted measures on several levels with the aim of sustainably safeguarding the efficacy of antibiotics for the treatment of humans and animals. These measures include promotion of the correct use of antibiotics, infection prevention in hospitals, monitoring of resistance and antibiotic consumption, the promotion of research, knowledge transfer and raising awareness in the population at large. Initial success has already become evident, such as the establishment of uniform prescribing guidelines valid throughout Switzerland and an online platform (www.infect.info) that shows the latest regional resistance data.


Interpharma advocates incentives for the research and development of new antibiotics

  • Alongside incentives for research, market incentives are equally important. New instruments are needed that ensure new antibiotics are remunerated appropriately irrespective of the quantify actually prescribed.
  • New antibiotics should be regarded as insurance against future health risks. When setting prices, consideration should therefore be given not only to the value for patients, but also to the value for society, that is by preventing the propagation of resistance.
  • The process for setting tariffs and prices for new antibiotics needs to be simplified and accelerated. Interpharma

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Führend in Forschung & Entwicklung

Antibiotika-Resistenzen

In den letzten Jahren haben antimikrobielle Resistenzen global massiv zugenommen. Durch einen unsachgemässen Einsatz von Antibiotika entstehen für Mensch und Tier erhebliche Risiken. Es besteht Handlungsbedarf und die Dringlichkeit wächst. Nun braucht es entschlossene Massnahmen und gemeinsame Anstrengungen. Insbesondere Anreize für die Forschung und Entwicklung werden zentral sein.

Übersicht

Beginnend mit der Markteinführung von Penicillin im Jahr 1942 haben Antibiotika die Heilung von Krankheiten ermöglicht, die zuvor oft mit starken Beeinträchtigungen verbunden waren oder sogar einem Todesurteil gleichkamen: Lungenentzündung, Meningitis, Tuberkulose, aber auch harmlos beginnende Infektionen konnten schwerwiegende Folgen haben. Auch in der modernen Medizin spielen Antibiotika eine wichtige Rolle, etwa bei der Behandlung von schweren Infektionen, der Infektionsprävention bei chirurgischen Eingriffen oder bei Chemotherapien zur Behandlung von Krebs.

Zunehmende Antibiotikaresistenzen

In den letzten Jahrzehnten hat die Entwicklung und Verbreitung von antimikrobiellen Resistenzen (d.h. eine Verminderung der Wirksamkeit von Antibiotika) weltweit zugenommen – laut Prognosen werden sie bis 2050 jährlich zehn Millionen Todesfälle verursachen. Dazu sind die Mikroorganismen vermehrt multiresistent, das heisst sie entwickeln Resistenzen gegen gleich mehrere Antibiotikaklassen.

Ein wichtiger Faktor, der zu dieser Entwicklung beiträgt, ist der zu häufige und unsachgemässe Einsatz von Antibiotika beim Menschen und auch in der Veterinärmedizin. Die Dringlichkeit dieser globalen Problematik wird vom öffentlichen und privaten Sektor zunehmend erkannt, und auch die pharmazeutische Industrie verstärkt ihre Bemühungen, den zunehmenden Antibiotikaresistenzen mit der Entwicklung neuer therapeutischer und diagnostischer Ansätze entgegenzutreten.

Strategie Antibiotikaresistenzen Schweiz (StAR)

Mit Massnahmen auf verschiedenen Ebenen will die 2015 lancierte Strategie Antibiotikaresistenzen Schweiz (StAR) die Wirksamkeit der Antibiotika für die Behandlung von Mensch und Tier nachhaltig sichern. Zu den Massnahmen gehören die Förderung des sachgemässen Umgangs mit Antibiotika, die Infektionsprävention in Spitälern, die Überwachung von Resistenzen und Antibiotikaverbrauch, die Förderung von Forschung sowie die Wissensvermittlung und die Sensibilisierung der breiten Öffentlichkeit. Inzwischen zeigen sich erste Erfolge, wie etwa die Etablierung einheitlicher, schweizweit geltender Verschreibungsrichtlinien für Antibiotika und einer Online-Plattform (www.infect.info), auf der die die aktuellsten regionalen Resistenzdaten einsehbar sind.


Antibiotikaresistenzen: Interpharma fordert Anreize für Forschung & Entwicklung

  • Neben Anreizen für die Forschung, sind Marktanreize ebenso wichtig. Es braucht neue Instrumente für die Vergütung von neuen Antibiotika, die unabhängig von der Verschreibungsmenge sind.
  • Neue Antibiotika sollten als Versicherung für künftige Gesundheitskrisen angesehen werden. Bei der Preisfestsetzung sollte deshalb nicht nur der Wert für Patientinnen und Patienten, sondern auch der gesellschaftliche Wert, also die Verbreitung von Resistenzen zu verhindern, berücksichtigt werden.
  • Das Tarif- und Preisfestsetzungsverfahren für neue Antibiotika sollte vereinfacht und beschleunigt werden.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen