Promoting upcoming young scientists - Interpharma

A strong economic framework

Promoting upcoming young scientists

Innovations are determined to a substantial degree by the qualification of the workforce as a whole. The Swiss education system needs to take new skills profiles into account.

Overview Promoting upcoming young scientists The tertiary education system as a key location factor Free movement of people and access to workers from third countries

As a knowledge-oriented and scientific nation, Switzerland enjoys a good reputation in fields of research such as the life sciences, physics, chemistry and clinical medicine. The Swiss education system is also respected for its market-oriented and integrative vocational training system. Yet in recent years the challenges have been growing. Companies that provide specialised industrial and other services are no longer able to find enough potential trainees who meet the required profile. This applies particularly to jobs in information and communication technology. There is a great need for specialists in this field, not least because of its pace-setting role in digitalisation.

Targeted support for schools

The Pisa study in 2019 showed that schoolchildren in Switzerland are lagging behind their peers in other countries with respect to reading, mathematics and science. Fifteen-year-olds in countries such as China, Japan, Finland and Canada performed considerably better. It is therefore all the more important to promote science in the Swiss education system. Particular attention needs to be paid to the MINT subjects (mathematics, information technology, natural sciences, technology) and young people need to be promoted specifically in these areas.

Science can be supported by ensuring initial and continued training for teachers, and by providing interesting teaching materials and attractive teaching methods to make the MINT subjects appealing to young people. This will in turn help to counter the lack of skilled workers.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Nachwuchsförderung - Interpharma

Starke wirtschaftliche Rahmen­bedingungen

Nachwuchsförderung

Innovationen werden massgeblich von der Qualifikation der gesamten Belegschaft mitbestimmt. Das Bildungssystem der Schweiz muss dabei neuen Kompetenzanforderungen Rechnung tragen.

Übersicht Nachwuchsförderung Standortfaktor Hochschulsystem Personenfreizügigkeit und Zugang zu Arbeitskräften aus Drittstaaten

Als Wissens- und Wissenschaftsnation geniesst die Schweiz in Forschungsfeldern wie den Biowissenschaften (Life Sciences), Physik, Chemie und der klinischen Medizin einen hohen Beachtungsgrad. Auch das Schweizer Bildungssystem erfährt mit seiner marktorientierten und integrativen Berufslehre viel Anerkennung, auch wegen seiner marktorientierten und integrativen Berufslehre. Jedoch wachsen in den letzten Jahren die Herausforderungen. So finden Anbieter anspruchsvoller Industrie- und Dienstleistungsberufe nicht mehr genügend Lernende, die das Anforderungsprofil erfüllen. Dies betrifft besonders das Berufsfeld der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie. Der Bedarf an Spezialisten ist hier gross – auch aufgrund ihrer Schrittmacherrolle bei der Digitalisierung.

Gezielte Förderung in den Schulen

Wie die Pisa-Studie 2019 zeigte, gibt es bei Schülerinnen und Schülern in der Schweiz neben der Lesekompetenz auch in Mathematik und den Naturwissenschaften einen Leistungsrückgang zu verzeichnen. Deutlich besser haben dort 15-Jährige aus Ländern wie China, Japan, Finnland oder Kanada abgeschnitten. Die Förderung der Naturwissenschaften im schweizerischen Bildungswesen ist deshalb umso wichtiger. Den sogenannten MINT-Fächern (Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaften, Technik) muss besondere Beachtung geschenkt und der Nachwuchs gezielt gefördert werden. Mit der Aus- und Weiterbildung der Lehrerschaft, interessanten Lehrmitteln und einem methodisch attraktiven Unterricht können die Naturwissenschaften unterstützt und die Jugendlichen für die MINT-Fächer gewonnen werden, um dem Fachkräftemangel entgegenzuwirken.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen