Putting the focus on patients

Supply reliability

Supply bottlenecks are a growing problem in Switzerland and all over the world. There are many reasons why they happen.

Bottlenecks in the medicines supply chain are a global problem. The globalisation of manufacturing and distribution systems results in production being concentrated in one or just a few locations. This has been a problem in the USA since the late 1990s. Supply bottlenecks are nothing new in Switzerland, but they are currently attracting a lot of media attention. They are usually due to particular circumstances that generally have their origin in the countries where the products are manufactured.

The core of the problem is the globalisation of markets and the concentration of production at just a few companies, together with just-in-time supply chains and the associated decrease in the size of inventories held by the manufacturers and in the supply chain, e.g. wholesalers, hospitals, etc. Technical manufacturing problems such as stability or sterility issues can also lead to a temporarily restricted supply situation.

Generally increasing global demand can also result in bottlenecks, since production capacities cannot be adapted overnight; it takes years to bring a new production facility with complex operations on stream. One example is the manufacture of vaccines. Demand for vaccines is currently not only rising all over the world but is also very variable due to the changing spectrum of pathogens, new vaccination recommendations and pandemics.

Not all medicines are equally affected

Active substances that are manufactured in only a few facilities worldwide and older medicines that are off-patent or were authorised a long time ago are in a particularly exposed position. 95% of all supply bottlenecks occur with active ingredients whose patent has expired. Medicinal products that are still protected by a patent are less often affected by supply bottlenecks.

Many supply bottlenecks are annoying for patients but not critical. Sometimes the situation can be resolved simply by replacing an unavailable pack size with a different size, or by using a medicine from another company. A supply shortage, on the other hand, is a more serious problem. This arises if no therapeutic alternative is available and the supply of an entire product range is limited throughout the system.

Vaccines

Vaccines are manufactured by a limited number of companies that operate on a global basis. The complexity of the manufacturing process means that production can only be adapted over a very long period of time.

Vaccine manufacturers also have to cope with non-harmonised authorisation procedures and complex reimbursement processes.

Pharmaceutical manufacturers are required to report supply bottlenecks

Since early October 2015, pharmaceutical companies have been required to report a supply bottleneck if it persists for longer than two weeks. The process is overseen by the Federal Office for National Economic Supply (FONES). If a bottleneck is imminent, the FONES identifies alternatives in the form of generics or other types of treatment. The pharmaceutical industry co-sponsors the FONES reporting platform and has contributed constructively to the process from the outset.

Since supply bottlenecks are caused by different factors, there is no single approach capable of overcoming them. Immediate actions that can be taken include a quota system in the distribution chain to prevent stockpiling and the creation and updating of lists known as registries. Mandatory stores can be set up for medicinal products and active ingredients needed to treat rare or life-threatening diseases and for which no alternative is available. Mandatory stores are regulated in the National Economic Supply Act (NESA). In the past, they have ensured a supply of medicines during times of shortage on multiple occasions. If a medicinal product is needed urgently in Switzerland and is still available in another country, the product can be obtained by way of exception from the manufacturer or through a pharmacy in the original packaging intended for that country.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2019

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Der Patient im Mittelpunkt

Versorgungssicherheit

Lieferengpässe sind ein wachsendes Problem – in der Schweiz und weltweit. Die Gründe dafür sind vielschichtig.

Lieferengpässe in der Versorgungskette von Arzneimitteln sind ein globales Problem. Die Globalisierung von Herstellungs- und Vertriebssystemen führt zur Konzentration der Produktion auf einen oder wenige Standorte. In den USA kennt man diese Problematik seit den späten 1990er Jahren. Lieferengpässe sind in der Schweiz nichts Neues, finden jedoch derzeit grosse mediale Beachtung. Sie sind meistens auf besondere Umstände zurückzuführen, deren Ursprung meist in den Produktionsländern angesiedelt ist.

Im Zentrum steht die Globalisierung der Märkte und die Konzentration der Produktion bei wenigen Herstellerfirmen, verbunden mit der just-in-time Belieferung und dem damit verbundenen Abbau der Lagermengen bei den Herstellern, aber auch in der Versorgungskette, z.B. bei den Grossisten, Spitälern, etc. Ebenso können herstellungstechnische Gründe, wie Probleme mit der Stabilität, Sterilität etc., zu vorübergehenden Liefereinschränkungen führen.

Auch eine weltweit generell steigende Nachfrage kann zu Engpässen führen, denn Produktionskapazitäten können nicht über Nacht angepasst werden, sondern es dauert Jahre, bis eine neue Produktionsanlage für die komplexe Produktion in Betrieb genommen werden kann. Ein Beispiel dafür ist die Impfstoffherstellung. Die Nachfrage nach Impfstoffen ist zurzeit nicht nur global steigend, sondern aufgrund der Veränderung im Erregerspektrum, neuen Impfempfehlungen oder aufgrund von Pandemien auch sehr variabel.

Nicht alle Medikamente gleich betroffen

Besonders exponiert sind Wirkstoffe, für die weltweit nur wenige Produktionsstätten verfügbar sind, sowie ältere Medikamente mit abgelaufenem Patent oder lang zurückliegender Zulassung. 95% aller Lieferengpässe betreffen Wirkstoffe, deren Patente abgelaufen sind. Patentgeschütze Medikamente sind selten von Lieferengpässen betroffen.

Viele Lieferengpässe sind für den Patienten zwar ärgerlich, aber nicht kritisch. Manchmal reicht es aus, eine nicht vorhandene Packungsgrösse durch eine andere zu ersetzen oder auf das Medikament einer anderen Firma auszuweichen. Problematisch ist im Gegensatz dazu ein Versorgungsengpass. Dieser entsteht, wenn keine therapeutische Alternative verfügbar ist und ein systematischer Engpass einer ganzen Produktepalette vorliegt.

Impfstoffe

Impfstoffe werden von einer limitierten Anzahl von Impfstoffproduzenten hergestellt, die global aufgestellt sind. Die Produktion kann aufgrund der Komplexität der Herstellung nur sehr langfristig angepasst werden.

Zudem sehen sich die Impfstoffhersteller nicht harmonisierten Zulassungsprozessen und komplexen Vergütungsprozessen gegenüber.

Pharmafirmen sind verpflichtet, Lieferengpass zu melden

Seit Anfang Oktober 2015 sind die Pharmafirmen verpflichtet, einen Lieferengpass zu melden, wenn dieser länger als zwei Wochen andauert. Federführend ist das Bundesamt für wirtschaftliche Landesversorgung (BWL). Droht ein Engpass, so zeigt das BWL Alternativen etwa in Form von Generika oder anderen Behandlungswegen auf. Die Pharmabranche trägt die Meldeplattform des BWL mit und hat von Beginn weg konstruktiv am Prozess mitgewirkt.

Da den einzelnen Lieferengpässen jeweils unterschiedliche Ursachen zu Grunde liegen, gibt es auch keine singuläre Massnahme, mit welcher sich diese pauschal überwinden lassen. Mögliche Sofortmassnahmen beinhalten eine Kontingentierung in der Distribution, um ein mögliches «Hamstern» und «Horten» zu verhindern, sowie den Aufbau und die Führung von Listen, sogenannte Registries. Medikamente und Wirkstoffe für seltene oder lebensbedrohliche Krankheiten ohne therapeutische Alternative können in Pflichtlagern bevorratet werden. Die Pflichtlager sind durch das Bundesgesetz über die wirtschaftliche Landesversorgung (Landesversorgungsgesetz, LVG) geregelt. Pflichtlager haben in der Vergangenheit mehrere Male die Versorgung auch bei Lieferengpässen sicherstellen können. Falls ein Medikament in der Schweiz dringend benötigt wird und dieses im Ausland noch verfügbar ist, so kann das Medikament über den Hersteller, respektive eine Apotheke in der Originalverpackung des entsprechenden Landes, ausnahmsweise bezogen werden.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2019

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen