A strong economic framework

Safeguarding access to export markets

Regulated access for Switzerland to the EU single market and the most important global export markets must be safeguarded.

Overview Agreements between Switzerland and the EU Switzerland-UK relations Research agreement

Functioning commercial relationships are vital for an export-oriented country like Switzerland. The pharmaceutical industry alone exports goods worth some CHF 90 billion annually. Around half of this volume is exported to the European Union. Regulated and stable commercial relationships with the EU are therefore essential for the pharmaceutical industry. Yet Switzerland also needs to conclude free-trade agreements with other countries. A country-specific approach will be required, determined by the development status of the country concerned. In this way, countries with less purchasing power will also gain access to innovative medicinal products.

The pharmaceutical industry is actively concerned with the question of trade agreements and will produce a list of priorities for the competent authority every two years. Where new agreements are concluded, compliance with minimum standards must be ensured at all times, with strong protection of intellectual property. In addition to multilateral agreements, which represent the most effective means of ensuring access to the market, industry-specific mutual recognition agreements (MRA) are also needed.

Global recognition of innovative achievements

The research-based pharmaceutical industry pursues a systematic strategy of specialisation and innovation that requires companies to make a consistently high level of investment in research and development. Long-term investment of this kind can only be economically justified in an environment with global market access that is free of discrimination and strong, enforceable protection of intellectual property rights. Central requirements for this are a functioning international trade system within the World Trade Organization (WTO) and expansion of the network of free-trade agreements with clear priorities.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2019

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Starke wirtschaftliche Rahmen­bedingungen

Zugang zu Export­märkten sichern

Der geregelte Zugang der Schweiz zum EU-Binnenmarkt und zu den weltweit wichtigsten Exportmärkten muss gesichert werden.

Übersicht Abkommen Schweiz-EU Beziehungen Schweiz-UK Forschungsabkommen

Ein exportorientiertes Land wie die Schweiz ist auf funktionierende Handelsbeziehungen angewiesen. Die Pharmaindustrie allein exportiert jährlich Güter im Wert von rund 90 Milliarden Franken. Davon gehen rund die Hälfte in die Europäische Union. Geregelte und stabile Handelsbeziehungen mit der EU sind deshalb für die pharmazeutische Industrie von essenzieller Bedeutung. Die Schweiz muss aber auch mit weiteren Ländern Freihandelsabkommen abschliessen. Dabei wird eine länderspezifische Vorgehensweise nötig sein, die vom jeweiligen Entwicklungsstand der Länder abhängt. So sollen auch weniger kaufkräftige Länder Zugang zu innovativen Arzneimitteln erhalten.

Die Pharmabranche beschäftigt sich aktiv mit der Frage der Handelsabkommen und wird alle zwei Jahre zuhanden der zuständigen Behörden eine Prioritätenliste erstellen. Bei neuen Abkommen muss jederzeit garantiert sein, dass Minimalstandards mit starkem Schutz des geistigen Eigentums eingehalten werden. Neben multilateralen Abkommen, die das effektivste Mittel zur Sicherung des Marktzugangs sind, braucht es branchenspezifische Mutual Recognition Agreements (MRA).

Weltweite Anerkennung der Innovationsleistung

Die forschende pharmazeutische Industrie verfolgt eine konsequente Spezialisierungs- und Innovationsstrategie, die von den Unternehmen anhaltend hohe Forschungs- und Entwicklungsinvestitionen verlangt. Solche langfristigen Investitionen lassen sich nur in einem Umfeld mit weltweit diskriminierungsfreiem Marktzugang und starkem und durchsetzbarem Schutz der Rechte am geistigen Eigentum wirtschaftlich rechtfertigen. Zentral sind dafür eine funktionierende internationale Handelsordnung im Rahmen der Welthandelsorganisation (WTO) sowie der Ausbau des Netzes von Freihandelsabkommen mit klaren Prioritäten.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2019

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen