Healthcare system

Sustainable funding

The options for funding an increasingly complex healthcare system are limited – and they require a new way of looking at costs.

Overview HTA cost-effectiveness assessments DRG hospital funding Range of benefits

In view of the ageing population, one of the biggest challenges facing the healthcare system in Switzerland is the need to improve the treatment of diseases that occur more commonly in advanced years and are often accompanied by additional medical conditions (comorbidity). These include various forms of cancer, cardiovascular diseases and dementia.

This is a challenge that needs to be addressed initially through research and development, so that innovative therapies can not only extend life but also improve the quality of life. The Swiss population appreciates the high quality of the medical care it receives. It would be as unwilling to give it up as it would the wide range of benefits provided by basic and supplementary health insurance. Yet high expectations of the healthcare service and ever more and better benefits come at a price. These costs are the most intensively discussed aspect of the healthcare system. There is a limit to the willingness, and also the ability, of the individual to help pay for increasingly elaborate healthcare provision.

Health expenditure versus the cost of illness

If a way is to be found out of this apparently insoluble dilemma, the way we view our healthcare system must first change by comparing expenditure on health with the cost of illness. The decisive issue is not how much it costs to regain health but what it costs to be ill. This aspect is often ignored in the emotionally charged discussion of rising healthcare expenditures, as is the contribution that medicinal products make to medical progress by shortening the duration of a disease or alleviating its subsequent impact. Yet this contribution brings with it substantial economic advantages. Innovative therapies help to lower costs by shortening the length of stay in hospital or, in some cases, making surgery unnecessary.

Ultimately, spending on health can reduce the cost of illness. A disease generates not only the costs associated with treating the patient but also indirect costs, such as loss of productivity due to absence from the workplace and the effort required from family members to care for the patient at home.

HTA shows the way

Assessment of the benefits offered by medical products and services is an important tool in promoting this perspective. Health technology assessments (HTA), as they are known, can help to leverage the great potential for rationalisation that is without a doubt inherent in our healthcare system. They allow individual items to be weighed against each other, with the focus always on the benefit to the patient. HTA therefore simply reveal the ways in which the benefit can be maximised while focusing on the patient and on quality. It must not be a vehicle for lowering costs in Switzerland.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2019

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Gesundheitswesen

Nachhaltige Finanz­ierung des Gesundheits­wesens

Die Möglichkeiten ein immer aufwendigeres Gesundheitssystem zu finanzieren sind begrenzt – und sie erfordern eine neue Sichtweise auf die Kosten.

Übersicht HTA / Kosten-Nutzen DRG / Spitalfinanzierung Leistungskatalog

Angesichts der immer älter werdenden Bevölkerung ist es eine der grössten Herausforderungen an das Gesundheitswesen in der Schweiz, die Behandlung von Krankheiten zu verbessern, die im höheren Lebensalter verstärkt auftreten und oft von weiteren Erkrankungen begleitet werden (Komorbidität). Dazu gehören verschiedene Formen von Krebs, Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen und Demenz.

Diese Herausforderung richtet sich zunächst einmal an die Forschung und Entwicklung, damit innovative Therapien das Leben nicht nur verlängern, sondern auch die Lebensqualität verbessern können. Die Schweizer Bevölkerung schätzt die hohe Qualität der Gesundheitsleistungen. Sie möchte darauf ebenso wenig verzichten wie auf einen breiten Leistungskatalog in Grund- und Zusatzversicherungen. Hohe Ansprüche an das Gesundheitswesen, immer mehr und immer bessere Leistungen haben wiederum ihren Preis. Die Kosten sind der meist diskutierte Aspekt des Gesundheitswesens. Die Bereitschaft, aber auch die Möglichkeiten des einzelnen, ein immer aufwendigeres Gesundheitssystem mitzufinanzieren, haben Grenzen.

Gesundheitsausgaben versus Krankheitskosten

Um einen Ausweg aus diesem scheinbar unlösbaren Dilemma zu finden, gilt es zunächst einmal, die Sichtweise auf unser Gesundheitssystem zu verändern, indem den Gesundheitsausgaben die Krankheitskosten gegenübergestellt werden. Nicht wie viel es kostet, gesund zu werden, sondern was es kostet, krank zu sein, ist entscheidend. Dieser Aspekt wird in der emotional geführten Diskussion zu steigenden Gesundheitskosten oft ausgeblendet, ebenso wie der Beitrag, den Medikamente zum medizinischen Fortschritt leisten, indem sie die Dauer einer Krankheit verkürzen oder ihre Folgen mildern. Damit sind auch erhebliche ökonomische Vorteile verbunden: Innovative Therapien tragen zur Kostensenkung bei, indem sie etwa Spitalaufenthalte verkürzen oder in manchen Fällen operative Eingriffe unnötig machen.

Schliesslich können Gesundheitsausgaben Krankheitskosten reduzieren. Eine Erkrankung verursacht nicht nur die Kosten, die mit der Behandlung des Patienten verbunden sind, sondern auch indirekte Kosten. Letztere sind zum Beispiel Produktivitätsverluste durch das Fehlen am Arbeitsplatz und der Aufwand für häusliche Pflege durch Angehörige.

HTA als Wegweiser

Ein wichtiges Instrument, um diese Betrachtungsweise zu fördern, sind Nutzenbewertungen der Gesundheitsleistungen. Solche Health Technology Assessments (HTA) können helfen, das Rationalisierungspotential auszuschöpfen, das unser Gesundheitssystem zweifellos in hohem Mass mit sich birgt. Damit lassen sich einzelne Leistungen gegeneinander abwägen, wobei der Patientennutzen stets im Zentrum stehen muss. HTA macht also lediglich sichtbar, wie der Nutzen – patientenzentriert und qualitätsorientiert – maximiert werden kann. Es darf in der Schweiz kein Vehikel sein, um Kosten zu senken.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2019

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen