Leader in research and development

Protection of intellectual property

The legal framework must be developed further to ensure that innovations are adequately protected.

Overview Patents Exhaustion regimes

Protection of intellectual property is a central factor in the success of the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland and an important element in creating incentives for the sector to continue investing in research and the development of new medicines to treat diseases that are currently incurable. Different instruments are used to protect different types of intellectual property.

Medical discoveries are usually protected by patents. The data generated during the process of authorising medicinal products can be protected against use by competitors for a certain time through first applicant protection. And finally, a trademark confers on the holder the right to use that mark to identify goods and services and to use it as they see fit.

Disclosure in return for rights of use

A patent is a protected title granted by the state for a technical invention. In legal terms, an invention is a solution to a technical problem. Inventions are patentable if they are new and not obvious to an expert in the matter and can be exploited commercially. The holder of a patent has a maximum of 20 years during which they can exclude others from exploiting the invention commercially. During this period, third parties can be prevented from, for example, manufacturing, using, selling or importing the invention without permission. In return for this exclusive right, the invention must be explained in exact detail and disclosed publicly. The patent holder can then use the technical solution as an important source of information for further developments.

Protection as an incentive to invest

In addition to patent protection, the research-based pharmaceutical industry can also benefit from first applicant protection. This is a separate form of intellectual property protection granted for confidential data that is independent of patent law. In the pharmaceutical industry, these data are compiled during the course of a clinical trial to demonstrate the safety, quality and efficacy of an active ingredient, a task that is time-consuming and cost-intensive. First applicant protection can provide additional legal protection for the patent holder, provided this person was the first to notify the invention. However, in many situations first applicant protection is the only form of protection available, and thus the only incentive for investment. First applicant protection and its duration are independent of the validity of a patent and the length of protection it provides. First applicant protection obliges the competent authorities to protect the confidential documentation and study results that have been submitted by the first applicant as part of the authorisation process from disclosure and unfair commercial use by third parties.

The most significant role played by the trademark in the pharmaceutical industry is the confidence it generates in doctors and patients, who can be sure that they are obtaining a product that will meet their expectations in terms of quality and provenance.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2019

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Führend in Forschung & Entwicklung

Schutz geistigen Eigentums

Die rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen müssen so weiterentwickelt werden, dass Innovationen ausreichend geschützt sind.

Übersicht Patente Erschöpfungsregimes

Der Schutz des geistigen Eigentums ist ein zentraler Erfolgsfaktor der forschenden Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz und wichtiges Element um Anreize zu schaffen, damit die Branche auch in Zukunft in die Forschung und Entwicklung neuer Medikamente gegen heute unheilbare Krankheiten investiert. Für verschiedene Typen geistigen Eigentums stehen unterschiedliche Schutzinstrumente zur Verfügung.

Medizinische Erfindungen sind in der Regel durch Patente geschützt. Die im Marktzulassungsprozess von Medikamenten generierten Daten können mit dem Erstanmelderschutz für eine bestimmte Zeit dem Zugriff der Konkurrenz entzogen werden. Schliesslich ist mit dem Markenrecht das Recht verbunden, die eigene Marke zur Kennzeichnung von Waren und Dienstleistungen zu gebrauchen und darüber zu verfügen.

Offenlegung als Gegenleistung zum Nutzungsrecht

Ein Patent ist ein Schutztitel, der vom Staat für eine technische Erfindung erteilt wird. Eine Erfindung im rechtlichen Sinn ist eine Lösung zu einem technischen Problem. Erfindungen sind patentierbar, wenn sie neu und für eine Fachperson nicht naheliegend sind und gewerblich angewendet werden können. Als Patentinhaber hat man während maximal 20 Jahren das Recht, andere von der gewerbsmässigen Nutzung seiner Erfindung auszuschliessen. Während dieser Zeit kann anderen verboten werden, die Erfindung ohne Zustimmung z.B. herzustellen, zu verwenden, zu verkaufen oder einzuführen. Als Gegenleistung ist die Erfindung exakt zu erläutern und der Allgemeinheit offen zu legen. Dadurch steht dem Patentinhaber die technische Lösung als wichtige Informationsquelle für Weiterentwicklungen zur Verfügung.

Schutz als Anreiz für Investitionen

Neben dem Patentschutz steht der forschenden Pharmaindustrie das Instrument des Erstanmelderschutzes zur Verfügung. Beim Erstanmelderschutz handelt es sich um einen vom Patentrecht unabhängigen, selbstständigen immaterialgüterrechtlichen Schutz von vertraulichen Daten. In der Pharmaindustrie geht es um jene Daten, welche im Verlauf Durchführung der klinischen Studie zum Nachweis der Sicherheit, Qualität und Wirksamkeit des Wirkstoffs mit hohem Zeit- und Geldaufwand generiert werden. Der Erstanmelderschutz kann für den Patentinhaber, sofern er der Erstanmelder ist, ein zusätzliches Schutzrecht darstellen. Oft ist die Situation jedoch so, dass der Erstanmelderschutz das einzige zur Verfügung stehende Schutzinstrument und damit der einzige Investitionsanreiz ist. Der Erstanmelderschutz und seine Dauer sind unabhängig vom Bestand eines Patents und von dessen Schutzdauer. Der Erstanmelderschutz verpflichtet die zuständigen Behörden, die ihr vom Erstanmelder im Rahmen des Zulassungsverfahrens für Medikamente anvertrauten vertraulichen Dokumentationen und Untersuchungsergebnisse vor Preisgabe und vor unlauterer gewerblicher Verwendung durch Dritte zu schützen.Die geschützte Marke hat in der Pharmaindustrie vor allem darin eine wichtige Bedeutung, dass sie Ärzten und Patienten die Sicherheit gibt, ein Produkt zu beziehen, das in Bezug auf Qualität und Herkunft ihren Erwartungen entspricht.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2019

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen