Putting the focus on patients

Marketing authorisation

Efficacy, safety and quality are decisive criteria for medicines seeking marketing authorisation

Overview

The research-based pharmaceutical industry researches, develops and manufactures innovative medicinal products that prevent and cure diseases, relieve pain and improve patients’ quality of life. In recent decades, the research-based pharmaceutical industry has brought products onto the market in many therapeutic areas, enabling major progress to be made in alleviating diseases and, in some cases, also curing them. Yet in spite of this great progress in medicine, there are still no suitable therapies available for two-thirds of all known diseases.

Rigorous safety reviews for therapeutic products

The safety, quality and efficacy of medicines are of central importance for patients. In Switzerland, Swissmedic, the Swiss Agency for Therapeutic Products, is responsible for ensuring these aspects. Following a comprehensive review, it decides whether or not a medicinal product can be authorised to be placed on the market.

The research-based pharmaceutical industry provides the health authorities with extensive data from preclinical and clinical trials, and this forms the basis for an assessment of the quality, efficacy and safety of a medicinal product. The provision of this information involves an enormous amount of time and expense. It generally takes between 10 and 15 years to discover and develop a new medicine. This work involves costs in excess of CHF 1.2 billion.

Clinical trials

For patients, it is important that clinical trials are carried out in their country because clinical trials are one way of gaining access to the latest developments. Whether or not a country is an attractive place to perform clinical trials depends, among other things, on how competitive the framework conditions are. In Switzerland, the Human Research Act regulates the requirements for performing clinical trials in this country. Together with the implementing ordinances, it came into effect at the start of 2014.

High quality requirements

The conditions governing the authorisation of medicinal products are regulated in the Therapeutic Products Act (TPA). This states that medicines may only be dispensed if they comply with the legal and internationally harmonised requirements in terms of safety, efficacy and quality. Swissmedic, the competent authority in such matters, decides whether a medicinal product may only be sold on presentation of a doctor’s prescription (prescription-only) or without a prescription but with professional advice (prescription-free). Manufacturers must all comply with the same legal requirements for safety and quality.

Rapid access for patients to high-quality therapeutic products and new treatments requires a competent, independent and internationally recognised medicines agency to regulate these products, something that is also in the fundamental interest of the export-based pharmaceutical industry.

Drug safety is the top priority

The integrity of the channels through which medicines are distributed is of increasing importance for patients. Counterfeit medicines represent a growing threat to patients’ safety and, in a worst-case situation, to their survival. The threat posed to public health by counterfeit medicines can only be averted if the necessary awareness of the issue exists, the need to act is acknowledged and a joint effort is made by the partners operating at all stages of the pharmaceutical supply chain.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2019

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Der Patient im Mittelpunkt

Marktzulassung

Wirksamkeit, Sicherheit und Qualität sind entscheidende Kriterien für die Marktzulassung eines Arzneimittels.

Übersicht

Die forschende pharmazeutische Industrie erforscht, entwickelt und produziert innovative Arzneimittel, welche Krankheiten vorbeugen und heilen, Schmerzen lindern und die Lebensqualität verbessern. Für viele therapeutische Bereiche hat die forschende Pharmaindustrie in den letzten Jahrzehnten Produkte auf den Markt gebracht, die grosse Fortschritte in der Linderung von Krankheiten und in manchen Fällen auch deren Heilung ermöglichten. Trotz dieses grossen medizinischen Fortschritts stehen für zwei Drittel der bekannten Krankheiten noch keine geeigneten Therapien zur Verfügung.

Strenge Sicherheitsprüfungen für Heilmittel

Für Patientinnen und Patienten ist die Sicherheit, Qualität und Wirksamkeit von Arzneimitteln von zentraler Bedeutung. Für deren Wahrung ist in der Schweiz das Heilmittelinstitut Swissmedic zuständig. Es entscheidet nach eingehender Prüfung, ob ein Arzneimittel zur Inverkehrbringung zugelassen wird oder nicht.

Die forschende Pharmaindustrie liefert den Gesundheitsbehörden umfangreiches Datenmaterial aus präklinischen und klinischen Studien, welches als Grundlage zur Beurteilung der Qualität, der Wirksamkeit und der Sicherheit des Arzneimittels dient. Die Aufbereitung der Daten ist mit enormem Zeitaufwand und dem Einsatz von grossen finanziellen Ressourcen verbunden. In der Regel muss für die Entdeckung und Entwicklung eines neuen Arzneimittels mit 10 bis 15 Jahren gerechnet werden. Die Kosten belaufen sich dabei auf über 1.2 Milliarden Franken.

Klinische Studien

Für die Patientinnen und Patienten in einem Land ist es erheblich, ob klinische Studien durchgeführt werden, weil die klinischen Studien eine Möglichkeit darstellen, Zugang zu den neuesten Entwicklungen zu erhalten. Ob ein Land attraktiv ist für die Durchführung von klinischen Studien hängt unter anderem von der Kompetitivität der Rahmenbedingungen ab. Das Humanforschungsgesetz regelt in der Schweiz die Anforderungen an die Durchführung klinischer Versuche in der Schweiz. Es ist, zusammen mit den ausführenden Verordnungen, per Anfang 2014 in Kraft getreten.

Hohe Qualitätsanforderungen

Die Bestimmungen über die Zulassung der Arzneimittel sind im Heilmittelgesetz (HMG) geregelt. Demnach dürfen Arzneimittel nur abgegeben werden, wenn sie den gesetzlichen, international harmonisierten Anforderungen an die Sicherheit, Wirksamkeit und Qualität genügen. Das Heilmittelinstitut als zuständige Behörde entscheidet, ob ein Arzneimittel nur auf ärztliche Verschreibung hin (rezeptpflichtig) oder ohne solche Verschreibung, aber mit fachlicher Beratung (rezeptfrei) verkauft werden darf. Die Anbieter müssen alle den gleichen gesetzlichen Sicherheits- und Qualitätsanforderungen genügen.

Für den raschen Zugang der Patientinnen und Patienten zu qualitativ hochstehenden Heilmitteln und neuen Behandlungen ist eine kompetente, eigenständige und international anerkannte Arzneimittelbehörde wichtig und für die exportierende Pharmaindustrie von zentralem Interesse.

Medikamentensicherheit hat oberste Priorität

Von wachsender Bedeutung ist für die Patientinnen und Patienten die Integrität der Vertriebskanäle der Arzneimittel. Gefälschte Medikamente stellen eine zunehmende Gefahr für die Sicherheit und im schlimmsten Fall für das Überleben von Patienten dar. Die Abwendung der Gefahr für die öffentliche Gesundheit durch gefälschte Arzneimittel erfordert das notwendige Bewusstsein, die Akzeptanz und die gemeinsame Anstrengung aller entlang der pharmazeutischen Versorgungskette beteiligten Partner.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2019

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen