A strong economic framework

Switzerland as a pharma hub

Planungs- und Rechtssicherheit sind für die Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von zentraler Bedeutung.

The pharmaceutical industry is a pillar of the economy, contributing to an above-average degree to Switzerland’s prosperity. Accounting for a direct share of 5.4 percent of gross domestic product (GDP), it is one of the most important sectors of the private economy in Switzerland. Today, our country is one of the most important pharmaceutical research hubs in the world alongside the USA, and its reputation extends well beyond Europe. In 2017, the research-based pharmaceutical companies invested more than CHF 6.5 billion in research and development (R&D) in Switzerland, a figure that is almost twice the volume of the turnover that they achieve in Switzerland. Every franc transferred from the Swiss healthcare system to the pharmaceutical industry is reinvested almost twice over in Switzerland. Some 46,800 employees generate CHF 36 billion in value added every year. A total of 254,100 jobs depend on the success of the pharmaceutical industry.

Optimum framework conditions are and will remain essential for a successful and internationally competitive pharmaceutical hub. Yet the attractiveness of the location is under pressure from many quarters.

Reinforcing political stability and legal certainty

Political stability and legal certainty are major traditional strengths of Switzerland. In recent years, however, erosion has been observed that has also made itself felt in the corresponding international indices. Growing tension within the relationship with the EU, in particular, is leading to legal uncertainty. Switzerland needs to consolidate its bilateral relationship with the EU in the long term. The legal uncertainty is to a certain extent home-grown, and it is threatening from within the quality of Switzerland as a base for activities. Against the background of rising healthcare costs, calls to limit entrepreneurial freedom are bound to get louder. This is why it is all the more important for the industry to send the right signals regarding the environment, social affairs and company management in the future.

In addition to complying with the relevant national and international standards, the industry is aiming to take greater account of ecological, social and societal aspects in its corporate decision-making process. This includes making an active contribution to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) and working in partnership with other stakeholders, particularly those involved in health, diversity & inclusion and climate protection. The aim must be to achieve a transparent dialogue with society and the political community about the significance of the pharmaceutical industry for Switzerland and the necessary framework conditions for the future. One of the things needed to achieve this goal is an institutionalised advisory committee on the future of the pharmaceutical industry. This should consist of high-ranking representatives from the scientific community, the private economy and the authorities. The committee should advise the Federal Council on ways of anticipating future developments in this sector which is so important for Switzerland.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2019

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Starke wirtschaftliche Rahmen­bedingungen

Pharmastandort Schweiz

Planungs- und Rechtssicherheit sind für die Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von zentraler Bedeutung.

Planungs- und Rechtssicherheit sind für die Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von zentraler Bedeutung

Die Pharmabranche trägt als Pfeiler der Wirtschaft überdurchschnittlich zum Wohlstand der Schweiz bei. Mit einem direkten Anteil von 5,4 Prozent am Bruttoinlandprodukt (BIP) ist sie einer der bedeutendsten privaten Wirtschaftszweige der Schweiz. Heute ist unser Land neben den USA einer der wichtigsten Pharma-Forschungsstandorte weltweit und besitzt eine Strahlkraft, die weit über Europa hinausgeht. 2017 wurden von den forschenden pharmazeutischen Unternehmen mehr als 6,5 Milliarden Franken in die Forschung und Entwicklung (F&E) in der Schweiz investiert, was fast dem Doppelten des in der Schweiz erzielten Umsatzes entspricht. Jeder Franken, der über das Schweizer Gesundheitswesen in die Pharmabranche fliesst, wird fast doppelt in der Schweiz reinvestiert. Rund 46’800 Beschäftigte erwirtschaften jedes Jahr 36 Milliarden Franken an Wertschöpfung. Insgesamt hängen 254’100 Arbeitsplätze vom Erfolg der Pharmabranche ab.

Optimale Rahmenbedingungen bleiben für einen erfolgreichen und international konkurrenzfähigen Pharmastandort essenziell. Die Standortattraktivität steht jedoch von vielen Seiten unter Druck

Politische Stabilität und Rechtssicherheit stärken

Die politische Stabilität und die Rechtssicherheit sind wichtige traditionelle Stärken des Standorts Schweiz. In den letzten Jahren ist jedoch eine Erosion zu beobachten, die sich auch in entsprechenden internationalen Indizes niederschlägt. Insbesondere die zunehmenden Spannungen in der Beziehung mit der EU führen zu Rechtsunsicherheit. Die Schweiz ist gefordert, das bilaterale Verhältnis mit der EU langfristig zu festigen. Die Rechtsunsicherheit ist teilweise hausgemacht und die Qualität des Standorts Schweiz wird damit auch von innen bedroht. Vor dem Hintergrund steigender Gesundheitskosten dürften Forderungen zur Beschränkung der unternehmerischen Freiheit zunehmen. Deshalb ist es in Zukunft umso wichtiger, dass die Branche in den Bereichen Umwelt, Soziales und Unternehmensführung ein Zeichen setzt.

Neben der Einhaltung der relevanten nationalen und internationalen Standards will die Branche ökologische und sozial-gesellschaftliche Aspekte stärker in den unternehmerischen Entscheidungsprozess einfliessen lassen. Dazu gehört auch ein aktiver Beitrag zu den Sustainable Development Goals (SDG). Dies in Partnerschaft mit anderen Anspruchsgruppen, insbesondere in Bezug auf die Ziele Gesundheit, Diversity & Inclusion und Klimaschutz. Es gilt, einen transparenten Dialog mit der Gesellschaft und der Politik über die Bedeutung der Pharmaindustrie für die Schweiz und die notwendigen Rahmenbedingungen für die Zukunft zu führen. Dafür braucht es unter anderem einen institutionalisierten Beirat zur Zukunft der Pharmabranche. Dieser setzt sich aus hochrangigen Vertretern von Wissenschaft, Privatwirtschaft und Behörden zusammen. Er berät den Bundesrat, wie zukünftige Entwicklungen in dieser für die Schweiz wichtigen Branche antizipiert werden können.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2019

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen