Leader in research and development

Animal research

The research-based pharmaceutical companies make every effort to keep animal studies to a minimum and to refine their high standards continuously through specific projects. The 3Rs are at the heart of all activities: Refine, Reduce, Replace.

Overview Animal welfare charter The 3R principles Animal studies in Switzerland

The life of a new medicinal product or a diagnostic agent to identify and determine a disease begins with basic biomedical research. This work seeks to find the mechanisms underlying diseases at the level of cells, cell components or even individual molecules. Research draws on a wide spectrum of modern methods in this work, among them animal models. These are used to follow the biological processes that take place in humans and to understand diseases.

A good example is our knowledge of bacterial infections and other inflammations; today we understand that they are one of the factors that play a major role in the ageing of the body and the development of cancer. This type of inflammation is always associated with complex interactions between different cell types in the blood and the organs. This dynamic process cannot be studied in a cell culture or micro-structures that are similar to organs. For this purpose, research – even research involving state-of-the-art technologies – relies on the use of animals.

There can be no question that animal studies are only used where they are absolutely necessary from a scientific, ethical and regulatory standpoint and cannot be replaced by alternative methods. The search for suitable substances for new medicines is a process that generally takes several years and is made up of hundreds of individual steps. A large number of substances is investigated for the presence of properties that are needed to make active ingredients. Computerised processes are extremely helpful in this endeavour and are already replacing a substantial number of animal studies.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2019

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Führend in Forschung & Entwicklung

Forschung mit Tieren

Die forschenden Pharmaunternehmen sind bestrebt, Tierversuche zu minimieren und ihre hohen Standards durch konkrete Projekte laufend weiterzuentwickeln. Im Zentrum aller Aktivitäten stehen dabei die 3R: Refine, Reduce, Replace.

Übersicht Charta für den Tierschutz 3R-Prinzipien Tierversuche in der Schweiz

Die forschenden Pharmaunternehmen sind bestrebt, Tierversuche zu minimieren und ihre hohen Standards durch konkrete Projekte laufend weiterzuentwickeln. Im Zentrum aller Aktivitäten stehen dabei die 3R: Refine, Reduce, Replace.

Am Anfang eines neuen Medikaments beziehungsweise eines Diagnostikums zur Erkennung und Bestimmung von Krankheiten steht die biomedizinische Grundlagenforschung. Sie sucht nach Mechanismen, die Krankheiten auf der Ebene von Zellen, Zellbestandteilen oder sogar von einzelnen Molekülen zugrunde liegen. Hierfür nutzt die Forschung eine breite Palette moderner Methoden, darunter Tiermodelle. An ihnen lassen sich die Lebensvorgänge, wie sie im Menschen ablaufen, nachvollziehen und Krankheiten verstehen.

Ein Beispiel ist unser Verständnis von bakteriellen Infektionen und anderen Entzündungen, die nach heutigem Wissen unter anderem eine wichtige Rolle bei der Alterung des Körpers oder bei der Krebsentstehung spielen. Solche Entzündungen gehen stets mit komplexen Wechselwirkungen zwischen verschiedenen Zelltypen des Bluts und den Organen einher. Dieses dynamische Geschehen kann man nicht an einer Zellkultur oder an organähnlichen Mikrostrukturen studieren. Hierfür ist die Forschung – auch wenn sie modernste Technologien nutzt – auf Tiere angewiesen.

Es steht dabei ausser Frage, dass Tierversuche nur da durchgeführt werden, wo sie aus wissenschaftlichen, ethischen und regulatorischen Gründen unerlässlich und nicht durch Alternativen ersetzbar sind. Die Suche nach geeigneten Substanzen für neue Medikamente ist in der Regel ein mehrjähriger Prozess aus Hunderten von Einzelschritten. Eine grosse Zahl von Substanzen wird daraufhin untersucht, ob sie die für einen Wirkstoff erforderlichen Eigenschaften aufweisen. Computergestützte Verfahren leisten dafür gute Dienste und ersetzen heute schon Tierversuche in erheblichem Umfang.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2019

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen