Rationing - Interpharma

Putting the focus on patients

Rationing

A more efficient reimbursement process is needed to ensure that patients in Switzerland can benefit sooner from medical innovation.

Overview The authorisation and reimbursement process Pricing Off-label use Orphan drugs Rationing

Rationing means that the provision of medically justifiable benefits is artificially restricted. It would mean, for example, that a patient might be refused a hip operation because she has reached a certain age and surgery is no longer thought to be worthwhile as a result.

In 2016, after years of legal dispute, the Swiss Federal Supreme Court confirmed a judgement handed down by the St. Gallen Cantonal Insurance Court that marked a legal milestone for patients with rare diseases. In the judgement, the health insurer KPT was required to pay for vital treatment needed by a patient with the rare neuromuscular condition Pompe disease. The necessary medicinal product is on the List of pharmaceutical specialities, but the insurance provider had criticised the criteria for inclusion of the product in the List (specifically effectiveness and cost-effectiveness). It therefore declined to pay for the cost of treating the patient. The Federal Supreme Court decided in its judgement that the patient fulfilled the conditions for reimbursement of the costs in accordance with the List and that the health insurance provider was not entitled to object to the inclusion of the medicine in the List or to its price. This is a very important judgement for all patients with rare diseases because it can help to prevent gaps in treatment due to time-consuming legal proceedings and to achieve more treatment equality in Switzerland. 

Avoiding two-tier healthcare

Access to innovation must be ensured in the future too. Methods that seek to oversimplify and fixed cost thresholds for individual benefits, on the other hand, are rightly the target of criticism. These are rationing instruments that ignore fundamental values in society and find no acceptance in the voting Swiss population. In reality, rationing always means providing two tiers of healthcare. Economically vulnerable individuals are by definition excluded from benefits that their health insurance does not cover. The established principle of social health insurance, according to which all patients are entitled to receive the medical care they need, irrespective of their economic situation and ability to contribute, is incompatible with two-tier healthcare and rationing. Switzerland has a high-quality healthcare system that is based on solidarity with the sick and vulnerable in society.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Rationierung - Interpharma

Der Patient im Mittelpunkt

Rationierung

Damit Patienten in der Schweiz schneller von medizinischer Innovation profitieren können, braucht es einen effizienteren Vergütungsprozess.

Übersicht Zulassungs- und Vergütungs­prozess Preisbildung Off label use Orphan Drugs Rationierung

Rationieren bedeutet, medizinisch begründete Leistungen künstlich zu verknappen. Dies hiesse zum Beispiel, einer Patientin eine Hüftoperation zu verweigern, weil sie ein bestimmtes Alter überschritten hat und der Eingriff aus Altersgründen als nicht mehr als lohnenswert beurteilt wird.

Im Jahr 2016 bestätigte das Bundesgericht nach jahrelangem Rechtsstreit ein Urteil des Versicherungsgerichts des Kantons St. Gallen, das wegweisende Auswirkungen für Patienten mit seltenen Krankheiten hat. In dem Urteil wird die Krankenkasse KPT aufgefordert, für die lebensnotwendige Behandlung einer Patientin aufzukommen, die an der seltenen neuromuskulären Erkrankung Morbus Pompe leidet. Das entsprechende Medikament wird in der Spezialitätenliste geführt, jedoch hatte die Krankenkasse die Kriterien für die Aufnahme des Medikaments in die Spezialitätenliste kritisiert (speziell die Wirksamkeit und Wirtschaftlichkeit). Sie lehnte deshalb die Uebernahme der Behandlungskosten ab. Das Bundesgericht hat in seinem Urteil entschieden, dass die Patientin die Bedingungen für die Übernahme der Kosten gemäss der Spezialitätenliste erfüllt, und eine Einsprache der Krankenkasse gegen Aufnahme oder Preis des in der Spezialitätenliste aufgeführten Medikaments nicht berechtigt ist. Die ist ein sehr wichtiges Urteil für alle von seltenen Krankheiten Betroffenen, weil es dazu beitragen kann, Behandlungslücken bedingt durch langwierige Verfahren zukünftig zu verhindern und mehr Behandlungsgerechtigkeit in der Schweiz zu erreichen. 

Zwei-Klassen-Medizin vermeiden

Der Zugang zur Innovation muss auch in Zukunft sichergestellt sein. Stark vereinfachende Methoden und fixe Kostenschwellen für einzelne Leistungen stehen dagegen zu Recht in der Kritik. Es sind Rationierungsinstrumente, die fundamentale gesellschaftliche Werte ignorieren und von der Schweizer Stimmbevölkerung nicht akzeptiert werden. Rationierung bedeutet in der Realität immer auch eine Zwei-Klassen-Medizin. Denn von Leistungen, die von der Krankenversicherung nicht mehr erstattet werden, sind wirtschaftlich schwache Personen zwangsläufig ausgeschlossen. Der bewährte Grundsatz der sozialen Krankenversicherung, wonach alle Patientinnen und Patienten – unabhängig von ihrer wirtschaftlichen Situation und Leistungsfähigkeit – Anspruch auf das medizinisch Notwendige haben, lässt sich mit einer Zwei-Klassen-Medizin und Rationierung nicht vereinbaren. Die Schweiz hat ein qualitativ gutes Gesundheitswesen, das auf der Solidarität mit den Kranken und Schwachen in der Gesellschaft beruht.

Weiter Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen