Orphan drugs - Interpharma

Putting the focus on patients

Orphan drugs

A more efficient reimbursement process is needed to ensure that patients in Switzerland can benefit sooner from medical innovation.

Overview The authorisation and reimbursement process Pricing Off-label use Orphan drugs Rationing

Orphan diseases are rare diseases with a prevalence (frequency with which they occur) of less than 5 per 10,000 in the population. Compared with the large number of conditions that come under this heading, there are relatively few specific medicines, known as “orphan drugs”, available to treat them.

The authorities introduced incentives for the pharmaceutical industry to research and develop orphan drugs to make this a more attractive proposition. As long ago as 1983, the USA introduced a law to promote the development of medicinal products to treat rare diseases. The EU created a similar legal foundation in 1999 in the form of Regulation (EC) No 141/2000. It foresees various measures to promote the recognition and visibility of rare diseases and reinforces collaboration and coordination at EU level. It supports the creation of European reference networks and promotes the networking of specialist centres and experts in different countries. It has also created incentives for more research into rare diseases. Moreover, rare diseases are one of the priorities within the EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation. These supportive measures have resulted in an increase in the number of authorised medicines for the treatment of rare diseases.

Orphan drugs in Switzerland

In Switzerland, Art. 14 of the Therapeutic Products Act (TPA) provides for a simplified authorisation procedure for important medicinal products for rare diseases. The implementing provisions have been incorporated into the Ordinance of the Swiss Agency for Therapeutic Products on the Simplified Licensing of Therapeutic Products and the Licensing of Therapeutic Products by the Notification Procedure (TPLO). A distinction is made in the Ordinance between recognition of the status as an important medicinal product for rare diseases (Art. 4 – 7 TPLO) and the authorisation of a medicinal product that has been granted Orphan Drug Status by Swissmedic (Art. 24 – 26 TPLO).

Orphan drugs are reimbursed either in accordance with the List of pharmaceutical specialities or in accordance with Art. 71b HIO under the same conditions as for off-label use. These conditions state that the cost of medicinal products that are not on the List of pharmaceutical specialities and used outside the registered indications will also be reimbursed. However, this is only the case if the disease may have a fatal outcome or lead to severe or chronic problems for the insured person, and there are no therapeutic alternatives.

This decision-making process is a complex one, and patients with rare diseases are frequently in a considerably worse position with respect to reimbursement than patients with more common disorders.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Orphan Drugs - Interpharma

Der Patient im Mittelpunkt

Orphan Drugs

Damit Patienten in der Schweiz schneller von medizinischer Innovation profitieren können, braucht es einen effizienteren Vergütungsprozess.

Übersicht Zulassungs- und Vergütungs­prozess Preisbildung Off label use Orphan Drugs Rationierung

Als Orphan Diseases bezeichnet man seltene Krankheiten, deren Prävalenz (Krankheitshäufigkeit) kleiner als 5 auf 10’000 beträgt. Im Vergleich zur grossen Anzahl möglicher Diagnosen stehen noch relativ wenig spezifische Medikamente, sogenannte «Orphan Drugs», für deren Therapie zur Verfügung.

Um die Forschung und Entwicklung von Orphan Drugs attraktiver zu machen, führten Behörden Anreize für die Pharmabranche ein. Bereits im Jahr 1983 trat in den USA ein Gesetz in Kraft, das die Entwicklung von Medikamenten gegen seltene Krankheiten fördert. Auch die EU hat 1999 mit der Verordnung Nr. 141/2000 eine ähnliche Rechtsgrundlage geschaffen. Mit verschiedenen Massnahmen fördert sie die bessere Anerkennung und Sichtbarkeit seltener Krankheiten und verstärkt die Zusammenarbeit und Koordination auf Ebene der EU. Sie unterstützt die Errichtung europäischer Referenznetze und fördert die Verknüpfung von Fachzentren und Sachverständigen aus verschiedenen Ländern. Ausserdem hat sie Anreize für mehr Forschung im Bereich seltener Krankheiten geschaffen. Seltene Krankheiten sind zudem eine der Prioritäten im EU-Rahmenprogramm für Forschung und Entwicklung. Die Förderungs-Massnahmen haben dazu beigetragen, dass die Anzahl zugelassener Medikamente gegen seltene Krankheiten gestiegen ist.

Orphan Drugs in der Schweiz

In der Schweiz können gemäss Art. 14 Heilmittelgesetz (HMG) wichtige Arzneimittel für seltene Krankheiten vereinfacht zugelassen werden. Die Ausführungsbestimmungen hierzu wurden in die Verordnung des Schweizerischen Heilmittelinstituts über die vereinfachte Zulassung von Arzneimitteln und die Zulassung von Arzneimitteln im Meldeverfahren (VAZV) aufgenommen. Hierbei wird unterschieden zwischen der Anerkennung des Status als wichtiges Arzneimittel für seltene Krankheiten (Art. 4 – 7 VAZV) und der Zulassung eines Arzneimittels, das den Orphan Drug Status von Swissmedic erhalten hat (Art. 24 – 26 VAZV).

Die Vergütung für Orphan Drugs erfolgt entweder gemäss Spezialitätenliste oder gemäss Art. 71b KVV, unter denselben Voraussetzungen wie beim Off-Label-Use. Nach diesen Bestimmungen werden auch die Kosten von nicht in der Spezialitätenliste aufgeführten Arzneimitteln und ausserhalb der registrierten Indikationen übernommen. Dies allerdings nur, wenn die Krankheit für die versicherte Person tödlich verlaufen oder schwere bzw. chronische Probleme nach sich ziehen kann und wenn es keine therapeutischen Alternativen gibt.

Dieser Entscheidungsprozess ist komplex, und Patienten mit seltenen Krankheiten sind bei der Vergütung oft deutlich schlechter gestellt als Patienten mit Krankheiten, die häufiger auftreten.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen