The authorisation and reimbursement process - Interpharma

Putting the focus on patients

The authorisation and reimbursement process

A more efficient reimbursement process is needed to ensure that patients in Switzerland can benefit sooner from medical innovation.

Overview The authorisation and reimbursement process Pricing Off-label use Orphan drugs Rationing

In Switzerland, only medicinal products that comply with the legal, internationally harmonised requirements in terms of safety, efficacy and quality are permitted to come onto the market. In Switzerland, Swissmedic, the Swiss Agency for Therapeutic Products, decides on the basis of a thorough review whether a medicine fulfils the legal requirements and can be authorised for sale. This procedure is designed to protect patients from harm and from imitation products.

In order to have a medicinal product authorised by Swissmedic, the applicant must provide extensive documentation, demonstrating to the authority the efficacy, quality and safety of the product in question. The identity, purity and active substance content of the medicinal product must also be documented.

Medicines can then be reimbursed by statutory health insurance providers if the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) places them on the List of pharmaceutical specialities (LS). Inclusion in this list depends on fulfilment of the “WZW” criteria, standing for effectiveness, appropriateness and cost-effectiveness. The decision on inclusion is taken by the FOPH at the recommendation of the Federal Medicines Commission (FMC).

The manufacturer or distributor of a medicinal product can request Swissmedic to initiate a fast-track authorisation procedure for a promising product for the treatment of a severe, disabling or life-threatening disease for which no or only unsatisfactory treatment options with authorised medicinal products are available, or if the new medicine is expected to provide a major therapeutic benefit.

If the requested authorisation is denied, the applicant can discontinue the authorisation request, apply for the application to be reconsidered, submit an appeal, or submit a new application.

Delays in the authorisation and reimbursement process

It takes a median of almost 650 days after submission of the first application by a pharmaceutical company for a medicinal product to become available to patients in Switzerland. This is considerably longer than in many other countries in Europe. The situation is the result of three factors: Pharmaceutical companies submit a new medicinal product a median of 171 days later in Switzerland than to the European Medicines Agency (EMA). In 2021, authorisation by Swissmedic took a median of 147 days longer for medicines with new active substance than authorisation by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). The FOPH takes a median of about 200 days (instead of the 60 days stipulated in the relevant Ordinance) to issue the final decision on reimbursement. There is a need to optimise this situation, and this is a task that needs to be addressed by politicians and the authorities – if necessary by modifying the legal and regulatory requirements.

Dispensing medicines / dispensing categories

Swissmedic decides on the basis of a medicinal product’s benefit-risk profile whether it can be sold and dispensed only on presentation of a doctor’s prescription (prescription-only) or without a prescription (prescription-free). Swissmedic accordingly divides medicinal products into four dispensing categories. Prescription-only medicines are assigned to dispensing category A or B, those available without a prescription to category D or E.

Advice from a specialist is usually required in order to use a medicine correctly. This is why most medicines have to be obtained from specialist sources. Medicines in categories A and B are only available in pharmacies, while those in category D can also be sold in drugstores if specialist advice is provided. In some cantons doctors are also authorised to dispense medicines directly to patients (self-dispensing doctors). The same applies to trained staff in hospitals.

Prescription-free medicines are also referred to as OTC, standing for over-the-counter. These products are intended for self-medication, or in other words for use by the patient on their own responsibility. Medicines in category E can be sold without a prescription and without specialist advice in all retail outlets.

An overview of dispensing categories:

  • Dispensing category A: Dispensed once on the basis of a doctor’s prescription.
  • Dispensing category B: Dispensed on the basis of a doctor’s prescription. Under certain circumstances, pharmacists are permitted to dispense medicines in category B without a prescription.
  • Dispensing category D: Dispensed without a prescription following specialist advice.
  • Dispensing category E: Freely available medicinal product (without a prescription/specialist advice).

Important information on the pack

The information on the pack containing the medicine is intended to ensure that a medicinal product can be identified as such with as little room for error as possible. Each pack of medicine must therefore display the required information. This includes the proprietary name of the medicine and the active ingredient it contains as well as other important information about aspects such as safety and correct storage. Every pack also contains a patient information leaflet in the country’s three official languages. It provides information on the purpose of the medicine, how to use it correctly and the symptoms of any undesirable effects that the product may have. The contents of the patient information leaflet are regulated by strict legal conditions.

Weitere Informationen

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Der Patient im Mittelpunkt

Zulassungs- und Vergütungs­prozess

Damit Patienten in der Schweiz schneller von medizinischer Innovation profitieren können, braucht es einen effizienteren Vergütungsprozess.

Übersicht Zulassungs- und Vergütungs­prozess Preisbildung Off label use Orphan Drugs Rationierung

In der Schweiz dürfen nur Medikamente auf den Markt kommen, die den gesetzlichen, international harmonisierten Anforderungen an Sicherheit, Wirksamkeit und Qualität genügen. In der Schweiz entscheidet Swissmedic, das Schweizerische Heilmittelinstitut, aufgrund einer eingehenden Prüfung, ob ein Medikament den gesetzlich vorgeschriebenen Anforderungen entspricht und zum Verkauf zugelassen wird. Dadurch sollen Patientinnen und Patienten vor Gefahren und Täuschungen geschützt werden.

Damit ein Medikament von Swissmedic zugelassen wird, muss der Antragsteller eine umfangreiche Dokumentation bereitstellen. Diese muss gegenüber der Zulassungsbehörde unter anderem die Wirksamkeit, die Qualität und die Sicherheit des Medikaments belegen. Zudem müssen die Identität, die Reinheit und der Wirkstoffgehalt des Medikaments dargelegt werden.

Medikamente werden daraufhin im Rahmen der obligatorischen Grundversicherung vergütet, wenn sie vom Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG) auf die Spezialitätenliste (SL) gesetzt wurden. Für die Aufnahme in die SL wird es nach den sogenannten WZW-Kriterien beurteilt, wonach das Arzneimittel wirksam, zweckmässig und wirtschaftlich sein muss. Darüber entscheidet das BAG auf Empfehlung der Eidgenössischen Arzneimittelkommission (EAK).

Auf Antrag des Herstellers oder der Vertriebsfirma kann Swissmedic ein beschleunigtes Zulassungsverfahren («Fast Track») vorsehen, wenn es sich um einen Erfolg versprechende Therapie gegen eine schwere, invalidisierende oder lebensbedrohliche Krankheit handelt, gegen die keine oder nur unbefriedigenden Behandlungsmöglichkeiten mit zugelassenen Medikamenten vorhanden sind, oder wenn vom Einsatz des neuen Medikamentes ein hoher therapeutischer Nutzen erwartet wird.

Wenn die beantragte Zulassung abgewiesen wird, kann der Antragsteller auf die Zulassung verzichten, eine Wiedererwägung beantragen, einen Rekurs einreichen oder eine Neueinreichung veranlassen.

Verzögerungen im Zulassungs- und Vergütungsprozess

Nach der Ersteinreichung durch die Pharmafirmen dauert es im Median fast 650 Tage, bis ein Arzneimittel einem Patienten in der Schweiz zur Verfügung steht. Dies ist deutlich länger als in vielen anderen europäischen Ländern. Das ist auf drei Faktoren zurückzuführen: Pharmaunternehmen reichen ein neues Arzneimittel im Median in der Schweiz 35 Tage später als bei der European Medicines Agency (EMA) ein. Die Zulassung durch Swissmedic dauert im Median 133 Tage länger als bei der Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Das BAG benötigt für den definitiven Vergütungsentscheid im Median rund 200 Tage (statt in der Regel 60 Tage, wie in der Verordnung festgelegt). Es besteht Optimierungsbedarf, und Politik und Behörden sind gefordert – bei Bedarf auch durch Anpassung der gesetzlichen und regulatorischen Vorgaben.

Medikamentenabgabe / Abgabekategorien

Swissmedic entscheidet aufgrund des jeweiligen Nutzen-Risiko-Verhältnisses, ob ein Medikament nur auf ärztliche Verschreibung hin (rezeptpflichtig) oder ohne Verschreibungspflicht (rezeptfrei) verkauft und abgegeben werden darf. Entsprechend teilt Swissmedic die Medikamente in vier Abgabekategorien ein. Die rezeptpflichtigen Medikamente werden in die Kategorien A oder B eingeteilt, die rezeptfreien in die Kategorien D oder E.

Die richtige Anwendung eines Medikaments setzt in der Regel eine fachliche Beratung voraus. Deshalb müssen die meisten Medikamente über Fachpersonen bezogen werden. Medikamente der Kategorien A und B sind nur in der Apotheke erhältlich, solche der Kategorie D werden nach entsprechender Fachberatung auch in Drogerien abgegeben. In einigen Kantonen sind auch die Ärzte berechtigt, Medikamente direkt den Patienten abzugeben (Selbstdispensation). Dasselbe gilt für das entsprechend ausgebildete Personal in Spitälern.

Rezeptfreie Medikamente werden auch als OTC-Medikamente bezeichnet («over the counter», über den Ladentisch). Diese Medikamente sind für die Selbstmedikation, das heisst für die eigenverantwortliche Behandlung durch die Patienten bestimmt. Medikamente der Kategorie E werden rezeptfrei und ohne Fachberatung in allen Geschäften abgegeben.

Die Abgabekategorien im Überblick:

  • Abgabekategorie A:
    Einmalige Abgabe auf eine ärztliche Verschreibung hin.
  • Abgabekategorie B:
    Mehrmalige Abgabe auf eine ärztliche Verschreibung hin.
    Apothekerinnen und Apotheker dürfen unter bestimmten Bedingungen
    Medikamente der Kategorie B ohne ärztliche Verschreibung abgeben.
  • Abgabekategorie D:
    Abgabe ohne Verschreibungspflicht nach Fachberatung.
  • Abgabekategorie E:
    Frei verkäufliche Arzneimittel (ohne Verschreibungspflicht/Fachberatung).

Wichtige Packungsinformationen

Die Angaben auf der Medikamentenpackung dienen dazu, dass ein Medikament möglichst unverwechselbar als solches erkannt wird. Jede Medikamentenpackung muss deshalb mit vorgeschriebenen Angaben versehen sein. Dazu gehören die Nennung des Markennamens des Medikaments und seines Wirkstoffs sowie einige wichtige Hinweise, unter anderem zur Sicherheit und zur richtigen Aufbewahrung. Jede Packung enthält zudem als Beilage eine Patienteninformation in den drei Landessprachen. Sie informiert über den Zweck, die korrekte Anwendung und die Symptome allfälliger unerwünschter Wirkungen des Medikaments. Die inhaltliche Gestaltung der Patienteninformation ist durch enge gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen geregelt.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen