Pricing - Interpharma

Putting the focus on patients

Pricing

A more efficient reimbursement process is needed to ensure that patients in Switzerland can benefit sooner from medical innovation.

Overview The authorisation and reimbursement process Pricing Off-label use Orphan drugs Rationing

Society gains substantial added value from investments in the healthcare sector. Pharmaceutical and medical innovations open the way to better chances of a cure or survival, or help to enhance patients’ quality of life. The additional cost of new medicines is compensated by lower expenditures in other areas (hospitals, doctors, nursing care). For instance, new medicines enable patients to be treated in hospital on a day-care basis or even at home, instead of taking up expensive hospital beds.

One fact that is often overlooked in the discussion of medicine prices is that the price of medicines covered by statutory basic medical insurance is not set on the open market but through complex state interventions. The manufacturer’s selling price, distribution margins, counselling fees, administrative costs and taxes are all administered and regulated by this process. This regulation begins before a medicinal product even reaches the market. It takes roughly 8 to 12 years for a medicine to reach market readiness and for all the data required for authorisation to be submitted to and accepted by the competent authority. Only then can the manufacturer apply for the product to be reimbursed by the statutory health insurance providers.

Prices controlled by the Federal Office of Public Health

In Switzerland, as in most other countries, the authorities determine the prices of medicines and review them at regular intervals. The prices of medicines reimbursed by the statutory health insurance providers are controlled by the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH). In order to determine the price of a medicinal product, the FOPH first considers the cost of therapy with products authorised to treat the same disease. This process is known as internal reference pricing (IRP). It then compares the prices of products in other countries (known as external reference pricing, or ERP) in line with the recommendations of the Federal Medicines Commission (FMC). For external reference pricing, prices are compared with those in countries with a pharmaceutical industry economically comparable to that of Switzerland’s.

List of pharmaceutical specialities

Health insurance providers only reimburse the cost of a medicine prescribed by a doctor under the provisions of statutory health insurance if the FOPH has included it in the List of pharmaceutical specialities (LS). The medicine is examined for safety, efficacy and quality before the FOPH can include it in the LS. The authority responsible for this review is Swissmedic, the Swiss Agency for Therapeutic Products. Before a medicine can be included in the LS, Swissmedic considers not only whether it is effective and appropriate in the context of social health insurance, but also whether it is cost-effective (known as a WZW assessment, from the German words for effectiveness, appropriateness and cost-effectiveness). The decision on inclusion is taken by the FOPH at the recommendation of the FMC. If medicines no longer fulfil the WZW criteria, their prices are adjusted, their use is restricted or, in certain cases, the FOPH removes them from the LS.

Three-yearly price review

The price of every medicine is reviewed by the FOPH once every three years. From May 2012 this review was based solely on the price in other countries (external reference pricing, ERP). A comparison with products authorised for the same disease (known as internal reference pricing, IRP) was added to the price review in June 2015. Conformity with the WZW criteria is checked for around one third of all LS products each year during the three-year review cycle. All the products authorised for a specific indication (e.g. all the medicines authorised to treat cancer) are reviewed in each case. Price cuts come into effect on 1 December each year.

The Federal Council brought a new pricing system into effect at the start of March 2017 following modification of the respective Ordinance. In addition to a number of minor changes, the Federal Council decided that ERP and IRP should always be given equal weighting when new medicines are included in the LS, in the three-yearly price reviews, when indications are extended and when patents expire. Previously the ERP was given a greater weighting than the IRP in the three-yearly price reviews.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Preisbildung - Interpharma

Der Patient im Mittelpunkt

Preisbildung

Damit Patienten in der Schweiz schneller von medizinischer Innovation profitieren können, braucht es einen effizienteren Vergütungsprozess.

Übersicht Zulassungs- und Vergütungs­prozess Preisbildung Off label use Orphan Drugs Rationierung

Die Gesellschaft erhält für die Investitionen im Gesundheitsbereich einen bedeutenden Mehrwert. Pharmazeutische und medizinische Innovationen bringen bessere Heilungs- und Überlebenschancen oder tragen zur Erhöhung der Lebensqualität von Patientinnen und Patienten bei. Den Mehrausgaben für neue Medikamente stehen jedoch Minderausgaben in anderen Bereichen (Spital, Arzt, Pflege) gegenüber. Dank neuen Medikamenten können Patienten beispielsweise teilstationär oder gar zu Hause behandelt werden, statt teure Spitalbetten zu füllen.

Bei der Diskussion um die Medikamentenpreise wird oft übersehen, dass die Preisbildung bei kassenpflichtigen Medikamenten nicht auf dem freien Markt geschieht, sondern durch komplexe staatliche Eingriffe erfolgt. Administriert und reguliert werden dabei sowohl der Herstellerabgabepreis, die Vertriebsmargen als auch Beratungsgebühren, Verwaltungskosten und Steuerbelastungen. Die Regulierung beginnt bereits, bevor ein Medikament überhaupt auf den Markt kommt. Rund 8 bis 12 Jahre dauert es, bis ein Medikament die Marktreife erlangt hat und alle für die Zulassung erforderlichen Daten zuhanden der zuständigen Behörde beigebracht und akzeptiert sind. Erst danach kann der Hersteller den Antrag auf Kassenerstattung stellen.

Preiskontrolle durch das Bundesamt für Gesundheit

In der Schweiz, wie in den meisten anderen Ländern auch, legen die Behörden die Arzneimittelpreise fest und überprüfen sie in regelmässigen Abständen. Für kassenpflichtige Medikamente besteht eine Preiskontrolle durch das Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG). Zur Preisermittlung zieht es in einem therapeutischen Quervergleich (TQV) zunächst die Behandlungskosten bereits zugelassener Arzneimittel für die Behandlung derselben Krankheit heran. Daraufhin wird der Auslandpreisvergleich (APV) nach Empfehlungen der Eidgenössischen Arzneimittelkommission (EAK) durchgeführt. Im Preisvergleich mit dem Ausland werden Länder berücksichtigt, die mit der Schweiz im Pharmabereich wirtschaftlich vergleichbar sind.

Spezialitätenliste

Krankenkassen vergüten ein vom Arzt verschriebenes Arzneimittel im Rahmen der obligatorischen Krankenversicherung nur, wenn es vom BAG auf die Spezialitätenliste (SL) gesetzt wurde. Bevor das BAG ein Arzneimittel in die SL aufnehmen kann, wird es hinsichtlich Sicherheit, Wirksamkeit und Qualität geprüft. Die dafür zuständige Behörde ist das Schweizerische Heilmittelinstitut Swissmedic. Für die Aufnahme in die SL wird jedoch nicht nur beurteilt, ob das Arzneimittel wirksam und im Rahmen der sozialen Krankenversicherung zweckmässig ist, sondern ob es auch wirtschaftlich ist (sogenannte WZW-Prüfung). Darüber entscheidet das BAG auf Empfehlung der EAK. Bei Arzneimitteln, die den WZW-Kriterien nicht mehr entsprechen, erfolgt eine Preisanpassung oder Anwendungseinschränkung bzw. sie werden in bestimmnten Fällen vom BAG aus der SL gestrichen.

Dreijährliche Preisüberprüfung

Alle drei Jahre wird jedes Medikament einer erneuten Preisüberprüfung durch das BAG unterzogen. Dieses stützte sich dabei seit Mai 2012 nur noch auf den Auslandpreisvergleich (APV). Seit Juni 2015 wird bei der Preisüberprüfung auch ein therapeutischer Quervergleich (TQV) herangezogen. Bei der dreijährlichen Überprüfung wird jedes Jahr jeweils rund ein Drittel aller SL-Präparate auf die WZW-Kriterien hin überprüft. Es werden dabei jeweils alle Präparate eines bestimmten Indikationsgebiets (z.B. alle Medikamente zur Behandlung von Krebs) überprüft. Preissenkungen werden jeweils per 1. Dezember wirksam.

Der Bundesrat hat per Anfang März 2017 über Verordnungsänderungen ein neues Preisbildungssystem in Kraft gesetzt. Neben diversen kleinen Änderungen hat er entschieden, dass neu sowohl bei der Erstaufnahme von neuen Medikamenten in die SL als auch bei den dreijährlichen Preisüberprüfungen, bei Indikationserweiterungen und bei Patentablauf APV und TQV immer gleich gewichtet werden. Zuvor war der APV bei der dreijährlichen Preisüberprüfung höher gewichtet worden als der TQV.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen