The 3R principles - Interpharma

Leader in research and development

The 3R principles

The research-based pharmaceutical companies make every effort to keep animal studies to a minimum and to refine their high standards continuously through specific projects. The 3Rs are at the heart of all activities: Refine, Reduce, Replace.

Overview Animal welfare charter The 3R principles Animal studies in Switzerland

Our society has become very sensitive to the way animals are treated. This is reflected in the legislation governing animal welfare, which is designed to protect and ensure the welfare of animals and regulates the behaviour of humans towards animals. The 3R Research Foundation was set up in 1987 in response to this legislation. It supports research projects aiming to develop methods that Replace animal studies, Reduce the number of laboratory animals used or Refine the studies in order to minimise the burden on laboratory animals during breeding, transport, husbandry and the studies themselves.

The member companies of Interpharma are in an ongoing, open and constructive dialogue about animal studies and animal welfare, and invest in the implementation of the 3R principles in their research. Measures include making optimum use of their historical animal data in order to improve assessment of the toxicity risk to humans while at the same time reducing the number of animal studies. Approaches such as data annotation and expanded modelling functions (using artificial intelligence, including multitasking and deep learning) are being intensified to enable in silico predictions to be made in pharmacology. Interpharma member companies are also involved in a number of related international cooperations.

3R Competence Centre (3RCC)

The national 3R Competence Centre (3RCC) was set up in 2018 to promote the 3R principles throughout Switzerland. The objectives of the 3RCC are to promote high-quality 3R research projects, to develop a strategy for 3R-based initial and further training and to establish a professional communication strategy. The 3RCC provides all involved stakeholders with access to the latest information about 3R and alternatives to animal studies, and offers its services to authorities, teaching and training establishments and other interested parties. The Centre also monitors the progress made in these areas in Switzerland. It is funded by eleven universities, Interpharma, the Swiss animal welfare organisation and the Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office (FSVO).

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

3R-Prinzipien - Interpharma

Führend in Forschung & Entwicklung

3R-Prinzipien

Die forschenden Pharmaunternehmen sind bestrebt, Tierversuche zu minimieren und ihre hohen Standards durch konkrete Projekte laufend weiterzuentwickeln. Im Zentrum aller Aktivitäten stehen dabei die 3R: Refine, Reduce, Replace.

Übersicht Charta für den Tierschutz 3R-Prinzipien Tierversuche in der Schweiz

Unsere Gesellschaft hat eine hohe Sensibilität im Umgang mit dem Tier entwickelt. Ausdruck findet dies in der Tierschutzgesetzgebung, welche dem Schutz und dem Wohlbefinden des Tieres dient und das Verhalten des Menschen gegenüber dem Tier regelt. Ein Beispiel dafür ist die Stiftung Forschung 3R, die1987 ins Leben gerufen wurde. Sie unterstützt Forschungsprojekte, die zum Ziel haben, Methoden zu entwickeln, um Tierversuche zu ersetzen (Replace), die Anzahl der eingesetzten Versuchstiere zu verringern (Reduce) und die Belastung der Versuchstiere in Bezug auf Zucht, Transport, Haltung und Versuche zu minimieren (Refine).

Die Interpharma-Mitgliedsfirmen sind im stetigen, offenen und konstruktiven Dialog über Tierversuche und Tierschutz und investieren in die Umsetzung der 3R-Prinzipien in ihrer Forschung. Diese umfassen beispielsweise die optimale Nutzung ihrer historischen Tierdaten, mit dem Ziel, eine bessere Bewertung des Toxizitätsrisikos beim Menschen bei gleichzeitiger Reduzierung von Tierversuchen zu ermöglichen. Ansätze wie Datenannotation und erweiterte Modellierungsfunktionen (unter Verwendung künstlicher Intelligenz, einschliesslich Multitasking und Deep Learning) werden gestärkt, um in-silico-Vorhersagen in der Pharmakologie zu ermöglichen. Dabei sind Interpharma-Mitgliedsfirmen auch an diversen internationalen Kooperationen beteiligt

3R-Kompetenzzentrum (3RCC)

Das nationale 3R-Kompetenzzentrum (3RCC) wurde 2018 gegründet, um die 3R-Prinzipien schweizweit zu fördern. Die Ziele des 3RCC sind die Förderung von hochqualitativen 3R-Forschungsprojekten, die Entwicklung einer Strategie zur 3R-basierten Aus- und Weiterbildung sowie der Aufbau einer professionellen Kommunikationsstrategie. Das 3RCC verschafft allen beteiligten Akteuren Zugang zu neusten Informationen rund um 3R und Tierversuchsalternativen und bietet seine Dienstleistungen Behörden, Lehr- und Bildungseinrichtungen sowie sonstigen interessierten Kreisen an. Zudem überwacht das Zentrum die in der Schweiz erzielten Fortschritte in diesen Bereichen. Neben elf Hochschulen beteiligen sich Interpharma, der Schweizer Tierschutz sowie das Bundesamt für Lebensmittelsicherheit und Veterinärmedizin (BLV) am Zentrum.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen