Animal studies in Switzerland - Interpharma

Leader in research and development

Animal studies in Switzerland

The research-based pharmaceutical companies make every effort to keep animal studies to a minimum and to refine their high standards continuously through specific projects. The 3Rs are at the heart of all activities: Refine, Reduce, Replace.

Overview Animal welfare charter The 3R principles Animal studies in Switzerland

The legislation governing animal welfare in Switzerland is among the strictest in the world. Animal studies may only be carried out if no alternatives are available. Strict rules apply to the husbandry of laboratory animals and to the initial and further training of researchers who work with animals.

In Switzerland, every animal study and every instance in which laboratory animals are kept must be approved by the competent cantonal veterinary office. The application for approval must state why an animal study is needed, what benefit the study offers and the extent to which a burden is placed on the animals. The husbandry conditions for the laboratory animals must also be described in the application. Species-appropriate husbandry conditions for laboratory animals and continuous care provided by specialists are required by law. An animal welfare officer and the competent veterinary authority check regularly, and sometimes without warning, that the requirements for animal husbandry are being observed in the approved projects.

From a scientific standpoint, too, it is important for the animals to be kept under species-appropriate conditions. Only studies carried out with animals that have been optimally cared for and treated and remain as stress-free as possible under experimental conditions provide reliable results. Every institution that performs animal studies must report annually on the number of animals it has actually used, which species were used, the purpose of the studies and the extent to which the animals were exposed to stress. Researchers in Switzerland are required to keep animal studies to a minimum and to use alternative methods instead of animal models whenever possible. The 3R principles are embedded in the corresponding legislation and must be observed in all projects.

Harm-benefit analysis as the starting point

The Swiss animal welfare legislation requires a harm-benefit analysis to be performed for every animal study. For this purpose, studies are divided into four categories known as degrees of severity. The interests of all the parties concerned are taken into account in a consideration of whether the expected benefit of a study for society outweighs the stress on the animals and the harm to their dignity. The benefit for society can vary greatly, e.g. demonstration of the efficacy of new medicinal products, toxicity testing of a substance, new knowledge, better husbandry conditions for animals, etc. The benefit is usually evident in applied research. In basic research, on the other hand, it is often difficult to identify a direct benefit. But it is ultimately only possible to engage in applied research if this basis has been established.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Tierversuche in der Schweiz - Interpharma

Führend in Forschung & Entwicklung

Tierversuche in der Schweiz

Die forschenden Pharmaunternehmen sind bestrebt, Tierversuche zu minimieren und ihre hohen Standards durch konkrete Projekte laufend weiterzuentwickeln. Im Zentrum aller Aktivitäten stehen dabei die 3R: Refine, Reduce, Replace.

Übersicht Charta für den Tierschutz 3R-Prinzipien Tierversuche in der Schweiz

Die Tierschutzgesetzgebung in der Schweiz ist eine der strengsten weltweit. Tierversuche dürfen nur dann durchgeführt werden, wenn keine Alternativen zur Verfügung stehen. Für die Haltung der Versuchstiere gelten ebenso strikte Regeln wie für die Aus- und Weiterbildung der Forschenden, die mit Tieren arbeiten.

Jeder einzelne Tierversuch und jede Haltung von Versuchstieren muss in der Schweiz vom jeweiligen kantonalen Veterinäramt bewilligt werden. Im Gesuch muss dargelegt werden, weshalb ein Tierversuch nötig ist, was der Nutzen des Versuchs ist und in welchem Masse die Tiere dabei belastet werden. Die Haltungsbedingungen für die Versuchstiere sind im Gesuch für eine Versuchsbewilligung ebenfalls auszuweisen. Für die Haltung von Labortieren sind artgerechte Lebensbedingungen und eine ständige Betreuung durch Fachpersonal gesetzlich vorgeschrieben. Ein Tierschutzbeauftragter und die zuständige Veterinärbehörde überprüfen regelmässig und teilweise auch unangemeldet, dass die Vorgaben für die Haltungsbedingungen in den genehmigten Projekten eingehalten werden.

Auch aus der wissenschaftlichen Perspektive ist es wichtig, dass die Tiere unter artgerechten Lebensbedingungen gehalten werden. Denn nur Studien an Tieren, die optimal gepflegt und behandelt werden und auch unter Studienbedingungen möglichst stressfrei bleiben, liefern aussagekräftige Ergebnisse. Jede Institution, welche Tierversuche durchführt, muss jährlich darüber Bericht erstatten, wie viele Tiere sie tatsächlich eingesetzt hat, um welche Tierarten es sich gehandelt hat, was der Zweck der Versuche und wie stark die Belastung der Tiere war. In der Schweiz sind Forschende dazu verpflichtet, Tierversuche auf ein Minimum zu beschränken und wenn immer möglich Alternativmethoden anstatt Tiermodelle zu verwenden. Die 3R-Prinzipien sind dabei gesetzlich verankert und müssen bei jedem Projekt berücksichtigt werden.

Güterabwägung als Grundlage

Die Schweizer Tierschutzgesetzgebung erfordert bei jedem Tierversuch eine Güterabwägung. Dabei werden die Versuche in vier Belastungskategorien – die sogenannten Schweregrade – eingeteilt. Es gilt unter Berücksichtigung der Interessen aller Betroffenen abzuwägen, ob der erwartete Nutzen für die Gesellschaft grösser ist als die Belastung und die Verletzung der Würde der Tiere. Der Nutzen für die Gesellschaft kann dabei sehr unterschiedlich sein (z.B. Wirksamkeit neuer Medikamente, Toxizitätstest einer Substanz, Erkenntnisgewinn, bessere Haltungsbedingungen für Tiere etc.). In der angewandten Forschung ist der Nutzen meist klar ersichtlich. In der Grundlagenforschung hingegen ist es oftmals schwierig, einen direkten Nutzen aufzuzeigen. Doch nur wenn diese Grundlagen vorhanden sind, kann schliesslich angewandte Forschung betrieben werden.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen