Expiry dates - Interpharma

Putting the focus on patients

Expiry dates

Comprehensive measures in recent years have greatly improved the safety of medicinal products.

Overview Medicine packaging Expiry dates Counterfeit medicinal products

The shelf-life of a medicinal product is determined by the manufacturer on the basis of stability studies. The data are submitted to Swissmedic as part of the authorisation dossier. The Swissmedic authorisation includes a decision on the shelf-life (EXP: ‘The medicinal product may only be used up to the date marked “EXP” on the container’). After the product has been authorised, its shelf-life may be shortened or extended depending on the results of continuing stability studies. This is done either by the pharmaceutical company applying to Swissmedic or Swissmedic ordering the change to be made.

Internationally valid standards

The shelf-life is defined by the international requirements of the ICH (International Council on Harmonisation of Technical Requirements for Registration of Pharmaceuticals for Human Use) and the WHO, not on a country-by-country basis but for entire climatic zones (ICH: climatic zones in the EU, USA and Japan; WHO: allocation of countries to four climatic zones). Switzerland is situated within the European climatic zone and is optimally covered by the ICH and WHO guidelines.

Short shelf-life offers no advantage

Misuse as a result of deliberately short shelf-lives is not in the pharmaceutical industry’s interests. A short shelf-life would have a negative impact on the export, in particular, of a medicinal product. Short shelf-lives can create major logistical challenges or problems in distribution. Shelf-lives that are as long as possible enable more flexible logistics in production and distribution since larger quantities can be manufactured cost-effectively for warehousing. This also reduces the economic risk of having to destroy stored medicinal products because their shelf-life has expired.

Patient safety has priority

Correctly documented shelf-lives determined in compliance with internationally valid guidelines ensure quality and thus patient safety. During the shelf-life of a product, liability remains with the manufacturer (provided the product has been stored and used correctly).

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Verfalldaten - Interpharma

Der Patient im Mittelpunkt

Verfalldaten

Die Sicherheit von Medikamenten konnte in den letzten Jahren dank umfangreicher Massnahmen stark verbessert werden.

Übersicht Verpackung von Arzneimitteln Verfalldaten Arzneimittel­fälschungen

Die Haltbarkeitsdauer eines Arzneimittels wird vom Arzneimittelhersteller aufgrund von Stabilitätsuntersuchungen festgelegt. Die Daten werden als Teil des Zulassungsdossiers bei Swissmedic eingereicht. Die Swissmedic-Zulassung umfasst auch den Entscheid zur Haltbarkeit (EXP: ´Das Arzneimittel darf nur bis zu dem auf dem Behälter mit <EXP> bezeichneten Datum verwendet werden´). Nach erfolgter Zulassung kann die Haltbarkeit je nach Ergebnis der weitergeführten Stabilitätsuntersuchungen verlängert oder auch verkürzt werden. Dies geschieht entweder auf Antrag durch das Pharmaunternehmen oder auf Anordnung von Swissmedic.

Standards international gültig

Die Haltbarkeitsfrist wird durch die internationalen Vorgaben des ICH (International Council on Harmonisation of Technical Requirements for Registration of Pharmaceuticals for Human Use) und der WHO nicht für ein einzelnes Land, sondern für sogenannte «Klimazonen» (ICH: klimatische Zonen der EU, USA sowie Japan; WHO: Zuordnung der Länder zu vier klimatischen Zonen ) definiert. Die Schweiz liegt im klimatischen Zentrum Europas und ist durch die ICH-und WHO-Richtlinien in bester Weise abgedeckt.

Kein Vorteil durch kurze Haltbarkeit

Eine missbräuchliche Handhabung durch gezielt kurz gehaltene Haltbarkeitsfristen ist nicht im Interesse der Pharmafirmen. Eine kurze Haltbarkeitsfrist eines Arzneimittels würde sich insbesondere für den Export negativ auswirken. Kurze Haltbarkeitsfristen können zu grösseren logistischen Herausforderungen bzw. Problemen beim Vertrieb führen. Möglichst lange Haltbarkeitsfristen erlauben eine flexiblere Logistik in Produktion und Vertrieb. So können kostengünstig grössere Einheiten auf Lager produziert werden. Auch wird damit das wirtschaftliche Risiko verringert, eingelagerte Medikamente wegen Ablauf der Haltbarkeitsdauer vernichten zu müssen.

Patientensicherheit im Vordergrund

Korrekt belegte und gemäss international gültigen Richtlinien festgelegte Haltbarkeitsfristen gewährleisten Qualität und damit auch die Patientensicherheit. In diesem Zeitraum ist auch die Haftung durch den Hersteller (bei sachgemässer Lagerung und Anwendung) gegeben.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen