Medicine packaging - Interpharma

Putting the focus on patients

Medicine packaging

Comprehensive measures in recent years have greatly improved the safety of medicinal products.

Overview Medicine packaging Expiry dates Counterfeit medicinal products

The quantity of medicinal products that are thrown away is a recurring topic of discussion, as are calls for the pharmaceutical industry to produce smaller packs. However, there is a fundamental misunderstanding underlying this issue. The main reason why medicines are thrown away is lack of adherence to therapy and not the size of packs that medicines are sold in.

Authorities require packs appropriate for therapy

The regulatory authority Swissmedic and the Federal Office of Public Health already require pharmaceutical manufacturers to supply medicines in small packs appropriate for therapy. Manufacturers need to register both large and small packs when requesting inclusion in the List of pharmaceutical specialities. The therapeutic success of long-term treatment can be monitored by using small packs of medicine. Other than that, it is primarily the responsibility of doctors and pharmacists to prescribe and dispense the size of pack appropriate for the patient. Larger packs are often more economical and generate lower costs in terms of medical care and invoicing.

Poor therapy adherence leads to high costs later on

The fact that medicines are not taken and are then thrown away is indeed a major problem. It is known that lack of adherence to therapy (non-compliance) causes major costs in the health system and to the economy. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), only around 50 percent of patients with chronic disorders who live in developed countries follow their doctor’s therapy recommendations. Since this often results in failure of the therapy, the subsequent costs are high, especially for avoidable hospitalisation and nursing care, additional consultations with doctors or emergency admissions.

Reducing the risk of mix-ups

Medicine packs are a major topic in the safety of medicines too. The risk that one medicinal product could be mistaken for another represents a safety problem. The cause of this confusion could be the product name, the labelling or design of the outer (secondary) packaging, or also the inner (primary) packaging. This can have serious consequences for dispensing and use. The pharmaceutical industry and the responsible partners in hospitals and in the outpatient setting are making an ongoing effort to find ways of eliminating the risk of mix-ups as far as possible in everyday clinical practice.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Verpackung von Arzneimitteln - Interpharma

Der Patient im Mittelpunkt

Verpackung von Arzneimitteln

Die Sicherheit von Medikamenten konnte in den letzten Jahren dank umfangreicher Massnahmen stark verbessert werden.

Übersicht Verpackung von Arzneimitteln Verfalldaten Arzneimittel­fälschungen

Immer wieder entstehen Diskussionen um die Menge weggeworfener Medikamente und die Forderung, die Pharmaindustrie müsse kleinere Packungen produzieren. Bei diesen Überlegungen liegt jedoch ein Missverständnis vor: Die Hauptursache dafür, dass Medikamente weggeworfen werden, liegt in der fehlenden Therapietreue und nicht bei der Grösse der Medikamentenpackungen.

Behörden verlangen therapiegerechte Packungen

Bereits heute verlangen die Zulassungsbehörde Swissmedic und das Bundesamt für Gesundheit von den Pharmaherstellern therapiegerechte, kleine Medikamentenpackungen. Neben den Grosspackungen müssen auch kleine Packungen zur Aufnahme in die Spezialitätenliste angemeldet werden. Bei einer Langzeittherapie kann mit Kleinpackungen der Therapieerfolg geprüft werden. Danach liegt es vor allem in der Verantwortung der Ärzte und Apotheker, eine für die Patientinnen und Patienten geeignete Packungsgrösse zu verschreiben bzw. abzugeben. Grössere Packungen sind oft preisgünstiger und verursachen weniger Arzt-und Abrechnungskosten.

Hohe Folgekosten wegen mangelnder Therapietreue

Dass Medikamente nicht eingenommen und weggeworfen werden, stellt tatsächlich ein grosses Problem dar. Es ist bekannt, dass die fehlende Therapietreue (non-Compliance) grosse Kosten im Gesundheitswesen, aber auch grosse volkswirtschaftliche Kosten verursacht. Gemäss der Weltgesundheitsorganisation WHO befolgen in den entwickelten Ländern nur rund 50 Prozent der Patientinnen und Patienten mit chronischen Krankheiten die Therapieempfehlungen der Ärzte. Weil dadurch der Therapieerfolg oft ausbleibt, entstehen hohe Folgekosten insbesondere für vermeidbare Hospitalisationen und Pflegeleistungen, zusätzliche Arztkonsultationen oder Notfalleinweisungen.

Gefahr von Verwechslungen reduzieren

Auch im Bereich der Medikamentensicherheit sind Medikamentenpackungen ein grosses Thema. Ein Sicherheitsproblem liegt in der Verwechslungsgefahr von Arzneimitteln. Ursachen für Verwechslungen können die Bezeichnung, die Beschriftung oder die Gestaltung der äusseren Verpackung (Sekundärverpackung) und auch ihrer inneren Verpackung (Primärverpackung) sein. Dies kann in der Abgabe- und Anwendungspraxis schwerwiegende Folgen haben. Die pharmazeutische Industrie, aber auch ihre in den Spitälern und in der ambulanten Praxis verantwortlichen Partner bemühen sich laufend, Lösungen zu finden, die Verwechslungen im klinischen Alltag möglichst ausschliessen.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen