Putting the focus on patients

Marketing authorisation

Efficacy, safety and quality are decisive criteria for medicines seeking marketing authorisation

Overview

The research-based pharmaceutical industry researches, develops and manufactures innovative medicinal products that prevent and cure diseases, relieve pain and improve patients’ quality of life. In recent decades, the research-based pharmaceutical industry has brought products onto the market in many therapeutic areas, enabling major progress to be made in alleviating diseases and, in some cases, also curing them. Yet in spite of this great progress in medicine, there are still no suitable therapies available for two-thirds of all known diseases.

Rigorous safety reviews for therapeutic products

The safety, quality and efficacy of medicines are of central importance for patients. In Switzerland, Swissmedic, the Swiss Agency for Therapeutic Products, is responsible for ensuring these aspects. Following a comprehensive review, it decides whether or not a medicinal product can be authorised to be placed on the market.

The research-based pharmaceutical industry provides the health authorities with extensive data from preclinical and clinical trials, and this forms the basis for an assessment of the quality, efficacy and safety of a medicinal product. The provision of this information involves an enormous amount of time and expense. It generally takes between 10 and 15 years to discover and develop a new medicine. This work involves costs in excess of CHF 1.2 billion.

Clinical trials

For patients, it is important that clinical trials are carried out in their country because clinical trials are one way of gaining access to the latest developments. Whether or not a country is an attractive place to perform clinical trials depends, among other things, on how competitive the framework conditions are. In Switzerland, the Human Research Act regulates the requirements for performing clinical trials in this country. Together with the implementing ordinances, it came into effect at the start of 2014.

High quality requirements

The conditions governing the authorisation of medicinal products are regulated in the Therapeutic Products Act (TPA). This states that medicines may only be dispensed if they comply with the legal and internationally harmonised requirements in terms of safety, efficacy and quality. Swissmedic, the competent authority in such matters, decides whether a medicinal product may only be sold on presentation of a doctor’s prescription (prescription-only) or without a prescription but with professional advice (prescription-free). Manufacturers must all comply with the same legal requirements for safety and quality.

Rapid access for patients to high-quality therapeutic products and new treatments requires a competent, independent and internationally recognised medicines agency to regulate these products, something that is also in the fundamental interest of the export-based pharmaceutical industry.

Drug safety is the top priority

The integrity of the channels through which medicines are distributed is of increasing importance for patients. Counterfeit medicines represent a growing threat to patients’ safety and, in a worst-case situation, to their survival. The threat posed to public health by counterfeit medicines can only be averted if the necessary awareness of the issue exists, the need to act is acknowledged and a joint effort is made by the partners operating at all stages of the pharmaceutical supply chain.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2019

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Le patient au centre des considérations

Autorisation de mise sur le marché

L’efficacité, la sécurité et la qualité sont des critères décisifs pour l’autorisation de mise sur le marché d’un médicament.

Aperçu

L’industrie pharmaceutique pratiquant la recherche étudie, développe et produit des médicaments novateurs qui préviennent et guérissent les maladies, soulagent la douleur et améliorent la qualité de vie. Dans de nombreux domaines thérapeutiques, l’industrie pharmaceutique pratiquant la recherche a mis sur le marché ces dernières décennies des produits qui constituent de grands progrès dans le soulagement de maladies et débouchent parfois aussi sur leur guérison. En dépit de ces progrès médicaux considérables, deux tiers des maladies connues n’ont toujours pas de traitement adéquat.

Contrôles de sécurité rigoureux pour les produits thérapeutiques

La sécurité, la qualité et l’efficacité des médicaments sont pour les patient-e-s des critères essentiels. En Suisse, c’est l’Institut des produits thérapeutiques Swissmedic qui est chargé d’y veiller. Après un contrôle détaillé, il décide si un médicament est autorisé à être commercialisé ou non.

L’industrie pharmaceutique pratiquant la recherche fournit aux autorités de santé une vaste documentation sur les essais précliniques et cliniques qui sert de base à l’évaluation de la qualité, de l’efficacité et de la sécurité du médicament. Le traitement des données requiert énormément de temps et d’importantes ressources financières. En général, il faut compter 10 à 15 ans pour découvrir et développer un nouveau médicament. Les coûts se montent à plus de 1,2 milliards de francs.

Essais cliniques

Les essais cliniques sont très importants pour les patient-e-s du pays où ils sont réalisés, car ils représentent une chance d’accès aux derniers développements thérapeutiques. L’attractivité d’un pays pour la réalisation d’essais cliniques dépend entre autres de la compétitivité des conditions cadres. En Suisse, la loi relative à la recherche sur l’être humain règle les exigences posées à la réalisation d’essais cliniques dans notre pays. Elle est entrée en vigueur début 2014, de même que les ordonnances d’exécution.

Hautes exigences de qualité

Les règles d’autorisation de mise sur le marché des médicaments sont définies dans la loi sur les produits thérapeutiques (LPTh). Ainsi ne sont autorisés à la vente que les médicaments répondant aux exigences légales harmonisées à l’échelle internationale en matière de sécurité, d’efficacité et de qualité. L’Institut suisse des produits thérapeutiques est l’autorité compétente pour décider si un médicament peut être vendu uniquement sur prescription médicale (soumis à ordonnance) ou sans cette prescription, mais avec les conseils d’un professionnel (non soumis à ordonnance). Les fournisseurs doivent tous satisfaire aux mêmes exigences légales de sécurité et de qualité.

Un Institut des produits thérapeutiques compétent, autonome et internationalement reconnu est très important pour assurer un accès rapide des patient-e-s à des médicaments de haute qualité, mais aussi pour l’industrie pharmaceutique exportatrice.

Priorité absolue à la sécurité d’emploi des médicaments

L’intégrité des canaux de distribution des médicaments est de plus en plus importante pour les patient-e-s. En effet, les contrefaçons de médicaments représentent un danger croissant pour la sécurité, voire dans le pire des cas pour la vie des patients. Pour écarter le danger que représentent les contrefaçons pour la santé publique, il faut que tous les acteurs impliqués dans la chaîne d’approvisionnement pharmaceutique aient conscience du problème et acceptent de faire des efforts communs.

Informations

Qui nous sommes

Interpharma, fondée en 1933 et dont le siège se situe à Bâle, est l’association des entreprises pharmaceutiques suisses pratiquant la recherche.

Interpharma coopère étroitement avec tous les acteurs du système de santé, notamment avec les groupements d’intérêts de l’industrie pharmaceutique pratiquant la recherche dans notre pays et à l’étranger.

Interpharma informe le public sur les questions qui intéressent l’industrie pharmaceutique pratiquant la recherche en Suisse, ainsi que sur le marché du médicament en Suisse, le système de santé et la recherche biomédicale.

Rapport annuel d’Interpharma

Informations sur nos chiffres clés et activités au cours de l’année 2019

lire plus

Comité et direction

Interpharma se présente

lire plus

Publications

Télécharger et commander

lire plus

Vision et mission

Plus d’informations sur les tâches et les objectifs généraux d’Interpharma

lire plus

Contact

Pour nous contacter

lire plus

Médias

Informations actuelles et contacts pour les représentants des médias

lire plus