Stem cell research - Interpharma

Leader in research and development

Stem cell research

Pharmacological and technological innovations will lead to rapid improvements in medicinal products.

Overview Personalised medicine Rare diseases Cancer immunotherapy Stem cell research

Stem cells are cells that renew themselves by dividing and multiplying and can mature into various cell types with different, specific functions. They therefore have the potential to renew cells and tissues in our body. The blood-forming stem cells in our bone marrow, for example, produce the entire range of blood cells, i.e. red and white blood corpuscles and platelets.

This characteristic of stem cells is already being used for in vitro tests of new medicinal products, for disease models, to estimate the safety of medicines and also to treat diseases.

Adult stem cells are used in bone marrow transplants, for example. They are capable of differentiating into different blood cells, but cannot form other types of cells such as nerve cells. Research needs to use embryonic stem cells to grow specific cell types, tissues or even entire organs that play a valuable part in therapy, replacing diseased tissues and organs in the body. These cells have the potential to form all the cells in the body. It is hoped that one day embryonic stem cells will mature into heart, nerve and muscle cells and help to find new approaches to the therapy of diseases such as Parkinson’s disease, Alzheimer’s disease and diabetes. At the moment, this is still a vision of the future. If it is to become reality, it must be possible to use stem cells in research.

Stem Cell Research Act (StRA)

The legal framework for stem cell research in Switzerland is formed by the Stem Cell Research Act (StRA) that has been in force since 2005. It regulates the harvesting of embryonic stem cells from embryos that are superfluous to requirements as well as research with embryonic stem cells. Superfluous embryos are a by-product of in vitro fertilisation, a process used in medically assisted reproduction. The current law requires them to be destroyed. The Stem Cell Research Act stipulates the strict conditions under which embryonic stem cells for research purposes may be harvested from some of these superfluous embryos that would otherwise be destroyed. It is forbidden to create embryos for research purposes in Switzerland. The aim of the Stem Cell Research Act is to prevent misuse and preserve human dignity.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Stammzellen­forschung - Interpharma

Führend in Forschung & Entwicklung

Stammzellen­forschung

Pharmakologische und technologische Innovationen werden mit hoher Kadenz Arzneimittel verbessern.

Übersicht Personalisierte Medizin Seltene Krankheiten Krebsim­muntherapien Stammzellen­forschung

Stammzellen sind Zellen, die sich durch Teilung und Vermehrung selbst erneuern und zu verschiedenen Zelltypen mit unterschiedlichen, spezifischen Funktionen ausreifen können. Sie haben somit das Potenzial, in unserem Körper Zellen und Gewebe zu erneuern. Die blutbildenden Stammzellen unseres Knochenmarks zum Beispiel produzieren die gesamte Palette der Blutzellen, also die roten und weissen Blutkörperchen sowie die Blutplättchen.

Diese Eigenschaft von Stammzellen wird bereits heute für in-vitro-Tests neuer Arzneimittel, für Krankheitsmodelle, zur Einschätzung der Sicherheit von Medikamenten und auch für die Behandlung von Krankheiten genutzt.

Bei der Knochenmarkstransplantation zum Beispiel setzt man sogenannte adulte Stammzellen ein. Diese können sich zwar zu verschiedenen Blutzellen differenzieren, aber keine weiteren Zellarten wie etwa Nervenzellen bilden. Um gezielt therapeutisch wertvolle Zelltypen, Gewebe oder sogar ganze Organe zu züchten, welche krankes Gewebe und kranke Organe im Körper ersetzen können, muss die Forschung auf embryonale Stammzellen zurückgreifen. Diese Zellen haben das Potential, alle Zellen des Körpers zu bilden. Embryonale Stammzellen sollen eines Tages zu Herz-, Nerven-, und Muskelzellen reifen und dabei helfen, neue therapeutische Anwendungen für Krankheiten wie Parkinson, Alzheimer oder Diabetes zu finden. Noch sind dies Zukunftsvisionen. Damit sie Realität werden können, muss die Forschung mit Stammzellen möglich sein.

Stammzellenforschungsgesetz (StFG)

Den rechtlichen Rahmen für die Stammzellenforschung bildet in der Schweiz das Stammzellenforschungsgesetz (StFG), das seit 2005 in Kraft ist. Es regelt die Gewinnung embryonaler Stammzellen aus überzähligen Embryonen zu Forschungszwecken und die Forschung mit embryonalen Stammzellen. Überzählige Embryonen fallen bei der in-vitro-Fertilisation, einem Verfahren der medizinisch unterstützten Fortpflanzung, an. Nach geltendem Recht müssen diese überzähligen Embryonen vernichtet werden. Im Stammzellenforschungsgesetz ist festgelegt, unter welchen strengen Voraussetzungen von diesen zur Vernichtung bestimmten überzähligen Embryonen embryonale Stammzellen für Forschungszwecke entnommen werden dürfen. Die Herstellung von Embryonen zu Forschungszwecken ist in der Schweiz verboten. Ziel des Stammzellenforschungsgesetzes ist es, Missbräuche zu verhindern und die Menschenwürde zu schützen.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen