Rare diseases - Interpharma

Leader in research and development

Rare diseases

Pharmacological and technological innovations will lead to rapid improvements in medicinal products.

Overview Personalised medicine Rare diseases Cancer immunotherapy Stem cell research

A disease is considered to be rare if it affects no more than 5 in every 10,000 people. To date, between 6,000 and 8,000 rare diseases have been described worldwide, and new ones are being identified all the time. The majority of rare diseases have a genetic basis, but the cause of many has not yet been discovered.

Awareness of the problem of rare diseases is low in Switzerland, although more than half a million patients are estimated to be affected. This figure is far higher than the number of people with diabetes.

Rare diseases are very often severe, take a chronic course and can be disabling or life-threatening. The difficulty is compounded by the fact that it usually takes much longer to reach the correct diagnosis than with more common diseases. Knowledge about the course the disease takes is often lacking and there are few options for therapy. If a medicinal product is available for people affected by a rare disease, the situation regarding reimbursement of the cost by the health insurance providers is in many cases unclear.

National Concept for Rare Diseases

In 2014 the Federal Council ratified a National Concept for Rare Diseases, comprising 19 actions designed to achieve seven objectives. The implementation of the concept was extended for two years until the end of 2019. A subproject focused on international networking rounds out the original implementation plan. The goal is to identify ways of ensuring that Swiss experts are able to participate internationally in activities relating to rare diseases.

The FOPH has organised these actions into five projects for operational purposes. One central action that deserves special attention is the designation of centres for rare diseases, care networks and disease-specific reference centres. These structures are intended to give patients access to good treatment throughout the course of their disease and to offer further training to healthcare professionals.

Looking to the future

We are gradually learning how more and more rare diseases develop. This knowledge is the foundation on which new therapies are based. Rare diseases are often caused by a relatively simple mechanism. In some cases, the medicines used to treat a rare disease are also effective in other, more common diseases. Expectations are high for gene and cell therapies and personalised medicine since a large proportion of rare diseases have a genetic basis. Stem cell research could also contribute to the therapy of rare diseases. Major progress can be expected in diagnosis, in particular.

The research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland is a front runner in research and development in the field of rare diseases. Swiss manufacturers of medicinal products rank highly among the companies that have been granted product authorisations by the regulatory bodies in the USA and Europe.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Seltene Krankheiten - Interpharma

Führend in Forschung & Entwicklung

Seltene Krankheiten

Pharmakologische und technologische Innovationen werden mit hoher Kadenz Arzneimittel verbessern.

Übersicht Personalisierte Medizin Seltene Krankheiten Krebsim­muntherapien Stammzellen­forschung

Eine Krankheit gilt dann als selten, wenn sie maximal 5 von 10 000 Personen betrifft. Bisher sind weltweit 6000 bis 8000 seltene Krankheiten beschrieben worden, und es kommen immer wieder neue hinzu. Die Mehrzahl der seltenen Erkrankungen sind genetisch bedingt – für viele sind die Ursachen noch nicht geklärt.

Das Bewusstsein um die Problematik seltener Krankheiten in der Schweiz ist gering, obwohl die Zahl der Patienten auf mehr als eine halbe Million geschätzt wird. Diese Zahl übersteigt jene der Menschen mit Diabetes bei weitem.

Sehr oft sind seltene Krankheiten schwerwiegend, verlaufen chronisch und können behindernd oder lebensbedrohend sein. Erschwerend kommt hinzu, dass es gegenüber häufigeren Krankheiten meistens viel länger dauert, bis die richtige Diagnose gestellt wird. Das Wissen über den Krankheitsverlauf ist oft gering und es fehlt an Therapiemöglichkeiten. Wenn es für Betroffene einer seltenen Krankheit ein Medikament gibt, ist oft die Kostenübernahme durch die Krankenkasse nicht klar geregelt.

Nationales Konzept Seltene Krankheiten

Der Bundesrat hat 2014 im Konzept Seltene Krankheiten 19 Massnahmen beschlossen, um sieben Ziele zu erreichen. Die Umsetzung des Konzepts wurde zunächst um zwei Jahre bis Ende 2019 verlängert und zur Erfüllung des Auftrags des Bundesrats begleitet das BAG noch nicht abgeschlossene Massnahmen nun bis Ende 2021. Ein Teilprojekt Internationale Vernetzung ergänzt den ursprünglichen Umsetzungsplan. Ziel ist es, Lösungswege aufzuzeigen, wie die internationale Einbindung von Schweizer Expertinnen und Experten im Bereich der Seltenen Krankheiten gewährleistet werden kann.

Zu ihrer Umsetzung hat das BAG diese Massnahmen in fünf Projekten zusammengefasst. Eine zentrale Massnahme, die besonderer Aufmerksamkeit bedarf, ist die Bezeichnung von Zentren für seltene Krankheiten, Versorgungsnetzwerken und krankheitsspezifischen Referenzzentren. Diese Strukturen sollen den Patienten über den gesamten Krankheitsverlauf den Zugang zu einer guten Behandlung gewährleisten und dem Gesundheitspersonal Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten bieten.

Blick in die Zukunft

Von immer mehr seltenen Krankheiten wird bekannt, wie sie entstehen. Dieses Verständnis ist Grundlage für die Entwicklung neuer Therapien. Bei seltenen Krankheiten liegt oft ein relativ einfacher Entstehungsmechanismus zugrunde. Zum Teil wirken Medikamente gegen eine seltene Krankheit auch gegen andere, häufigere Krankheiten. Grosse Hoffnung wird in Gen- und Zelltherapien und die personalisierte Medizin gesetzt, da ein Grossteil der seltenen Krankheiten genetisch bedingt ist. Auch die Stammzellenforschung könnte zur Behandlung seltener Krankheiten beitragen. Insbesondere bei der Diagnose sind grosse Fortschritte zu erwarten. Die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz ist bei der Forschung und Entwicklung im Bereich der seltenen Krankheiten ganz vorne mit dabei. Bei den gewährten Zulassungen durch die amerikanische und die europäischen Behörden nehmen hiesige Medikamentenhersteller eine Spitzenposition ein.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen