Agreements between Switzerland and the EU - Interpharma

A strong economic framework

Agreements between Switzerland and the EU

Regulated access for Switzerland to the EU single market and the most important global export markets must be safeguarded.

Overview Agreements between Switzerland and the EU Switzerland-UK relations Research agreement

Switzerland has a large number of relationships with the European Union (EU) that are regulated in some 120 agreements. The 1972 free trade agreement and Bilateral Agreements I and II, concluded in 1999 and 2004 respectively, represent major milestones in this context.

The Bilateral Agreements I that came into force in 2002 are of major importance for the Swiss economy and Switzerland as a pharma hub, since roughly half of all exports of medicinal products are destined for the EU. The Bilateral Agreements I confer on Switzerland as a non-EU Member State the status of an MRA (Mutual Recognition Agreement) country. This means that conformity assessments (testing, inspection, certification) are recognised mutually between Switzerland and the EU. This is of decisive importance for export-oriented companies in the mechanical engineering industry and, in particular, the pharmaceutical industry.

Market access and recruitment of qualified employees

The 1972 free trade agreement abolished tariff barriers to trade (particularly customs duties). However, access to the EU single market was not effectively simplified until the Bilateral Agreements I came into force and technical trade barriers were eliminated. This is one of the central achievements of the Bilateral Agreements I and has led to a substantial increase in the volume of exports to EU markets.

Another central achievement of the Bilateral Agreements I is that companies are able to recruit specialists from EU countries unbureaucratically. Access to qualified potential employees is particularly important for the research-based pharmaceutical industry with its highly specialised activities.

Bilateral relations are essential

Swiss pharmaceutical companies export almost 25 times more products abroad than they sell in Switzerland, and over 45% of their exports go to the EU. By breaking off negotiations on a framework agreement without a Plan B, the Federal Council has accepted a deterioration in the competitiveness of Switzerland as a business location. The participation of pharmaceutical companies in the EU internal market is in danger as the bilateral agreements erode. Research-based pharmaceutical companies are dependent on permanently stable relations between Switzerland and the EU. Interpharma therefore demands:

1) No erosion of existing agreements: The free movement of persons, the Agreement on the Elimination of Technical Barriers to Trade and the research cooperation must be continued.

2) Stability in the relations between Switzerland and the EU: Politicians must develop
to ensure the stability and future development of relations.

3) A reform agenda: Switzerland must strengthen its attractiveness as a business location,
for example, in digitalisation and the creation of an attractive framework conditions for clinical trials. Access to further international markets and research locations must be secured.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Abkommen Schweiz-EU - Interpharma

Starke wirtschaftliche Rahmen­bedingungen

Abkommen Schweiz-EU

Der geregelte Zugang der Schweiz zum EU-Binnenmarkt und zu den weltweit wichtigsten Exportmärkten muss gesichert werden.

Übersicht Abkommen Schweiz-EU Beziehungen Schweiz-UK Forschungsabkommen

Die Schweiz unterhält mit der Europäischen Union (EU) eine Vielzahl an Beziehungen, die in rund 120 Vertragsabkommen geregelt sind. Wichtige Etappen sind das Freihandelsabkommen von 1972, die bilateralen Abkommen I von 1999 und die bilateralen Abkommen II von 2004.

Die 2002 in Kraft getretenen bilateralen Abkommen I sind für die Schweizer Volkswirtschaft und den Pharmastandort Schweiz von grosser Wichtigkeit, da rund die Hälfte aller Medikamentenexporte in die EU gehen. Dank den Bilateralen I hat die Schweiz als Nicht-EU-Mitgliedstaat den Status eines MRA-Landes (MRA: Mutual Recognition Agreement). Konformitätsbewertungen (Prüfung, Inspektion, Zertifizierung) werden damit zwischen der Schweiz und der EU wechselseitig anerkannt. Dies ist für exportorientierte Firmen der Maschinenindustrie und insbesondere auch für die Pharmaproduzenten entscheidend.

Marktzugang und Rekrutierung von Fachkräften

Mit dem Freihandelsabkommen von 1972 wurden u.a. tarifäre Handelshemmnisse (insbesondere Zölle) abgeschafft. Der Marktzugang zur EU wurde allerdings erst mit den Bilateralen I effektiv erleichtert, indem technische Handelshemmnisse abgebaut wurden. Das ist eine der zentralen Errungenschaften der Bilateralen I und hat zu einer deutlichen Zunahme des Exportvolumens in die EU-Märkte geführt.

Eine weitere zentrale Errungenschaft der Bilateralen I ist, dass Unternehmen unbürokratisch Fachkräfte auch im EU-Raum rekrutieren können. Gerade für die forschende Pharmaindustrie mit hochspezialisierten Arbeitsplätzen ist der Zugang zu den entsprechenden Arbeitskräften zentral.

Bilaterale Beziehungen sind essentiell

Die Schweizer Pharmaunternehmen exportieren fast 25-mal mehr Produkte ins Ausland als sie in der Schweiz verkaufen und über 45 % ihrer Exporte gehen in die EU. Mit dem Abbruch der Verhandlungen über ein Rahmenabkommen ohne Plan B, hat der Bundesrat eine Verschlechterung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Wirtschaftsstandorts Schweiz in Kauf genommen. Die Teilnahme der Pharmaunternehmen am EU-Binnenmarkt ist in Gefahr, da die bilateralen Abkommen erodieren. Die forschenden Pharmaunternehmen sind auf dauerhaft stabile Beziehungen zwischen der Schweiz und der EU angewiesen. Interpharma fordert deshalb:

1) Keine Erosion bestehender Abkommen: Die Personenfreizügigkeit,
das Abkommen zum Abbau technischer Handelshemmnisse und die
Forschungskooperation müssen weitergeführt werden.

2) Stabilität in den Beziehungen Schweiz – EU: Die Politik muss Lösungswege
erarbeiten, um die Stabilität und die künftige Weiterentwicklung der
Beziehungen sicherzustellen.

3) Eine Reformagenda: Die Schweiz muss ihre Standortattraktivität stärken,
beispielsweise bei der Digitalisierung und der Schaffung attraktiver
Rahmenbedingungen für klinische Studien. Der Zugang zu weiteren internationalen Märkten und Forschungsplätzen ist zu sichern.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2021

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen