Climate protection - Interpharma

A strong economic framework

Climate protection

The pharmaceutical companies in Switzerland play an active role in implementing the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals and improving health worldwide.

Overview Biodiversity Climate protection

The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) published a report in November 2019 calling for global emissions of greenhouse gases to be reduced by 7.6 percent annually between 2020 and 2030. Otherwise, the goal set in the 2015 Paris Agreement of limiting global warming to 1.5 degrees cannot be achieved. Despite the urgent need for action to counter climate change, the Madrid climate conference in December 2019 produced only a minimum compromise with vague wording and postponement of critical issues.

Under the umbrella of the European Health Union, the European Green Deal presented by the EU Commission at the end of 2019 envisages leading Europe to climate neutrality by 2050. With the establishment of a circular economy and research and innovation, industry plays a central role in this project.

Switzerland is playing a pioneering role in the implementation of the international climate goals. The country’s 2050 climate target envisages Switzerland achieving climate neutrality (known as net zero emissions) within the next 30 years. This means that no more greenhouse gases will be emitted than can be absorbed by natural and technical reservoirs.

Pharmaceutical industry activities

The pharmaceutical industry is committed to making a positive impact on patients’ lives. At the same time, it wants to operate sustainably, contribute to a healthy environment and take a leadership role in mitigating climate change.

The research-based pharmaceutical companies in Switzerland are actively involved at the interface of health, well-being and climate protection. Manufacturing processes and business activities in the pharmaceutical industry generate CO2 and other greenhouse gases, and the Interpharma members have therefore set themselves the goal of actively minimising their emissions and reducing their impact on the environment. Here, a large number of technologies and activities will be employed, among them the sustainable design of production processes, the integration of sustainability principles into supply chains, and increased self-regulation and monitoring.

In the course of these efforts, the pharmaceutical companies will increasingly enter into private-public partnerships and leverage synergies in order to achieve global and sustainable health. At a local level, too, efforts to protect the climate will be intensified. For example, many pharmaceutical locations in Switzerland now obtain energy from sustainable sources and use solar energy, thus making a significant contribution to the reduction of CO2 emissions.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Klimaschutz - Interpharma

Starke wirtschaftliche Rahmen­bedingungen

Klimaschutz

Die pharmazeutischen Unternehmen der Schweiz spielen bei der Umsetzung der UN-Nachhaltigkeitsziele und Verbesserung der Gesundheit weltweit eine aktive Rolle.

Übersicht Biodiversität Klimaschutz

Das UN-Umweltprogramm UNEP forderte in einem im November 2019 veröffentlichten Bericht dazu auf, die weltweiten Treibhausgasemissionen zwischen 2020 und 2030 jährlich um 7,6 Prozent zurückzufahren. Anderenfalls könne das im Pariser Klimaabkommen 2015 formulierte Ziel, die globale Erderwärmung auf 1,5 Grad zu begrenzen, nicht erreicht werden. Trotz der Dringlichkeit von Massnahmen gegen den Klimawandel stand am Ende der Klimakonferenz von Madrid im Dezember 2019 nur ein Minimalkompromiss mit vagen Formulierungen und der Vertagung kritischer Themen.

Unter dem Dach der European Health Union sieht der Ende 2019 von der EU-Kommission vorgestellte European Green Deal vor, Europa bis 2050 zur Klimaneutralität zu führen. Mit der Etablierung einer kreislauforientierten Wirtschaft und Forschung und Innovation nimmt die Industrie eine zentrale Rolle in diesem Vorhaben ein.

Die Schweiz nimmt bei der Umsetzung der internationalen Klimaziele eine Vorreiterrolle ein. Mit dem Klimaziel 2050 strebt die Schweiz an, innert der nächsten 30 Jahren Klimaneutralität zu erreichen (die so genannte Netto-Null-Grenze). Dies bedeutet, dass nicht mehr Treibhausgase ausgestossen werden, als natürliche und technische Speicher aufnehmen können.

Aktivitäten der Pharmaindustrie

Die pharmazeutische Industrie hat sich verpflichtet, einen positiven Einfluss auf das Leben von Patienten zu nehmen. Gleichzeitig möchte sie nachhaltig wirtschaften, einen Beitrag zu einer gesunden Umwelt leisten und eine Führungsrolle bei der Abschwächung des Klimawandels einnehmen.

Die forschenden Pharmaunternehmen in der Schweiz engagieren sich aktiv an der Schnittstelle zwischen Gesundheit, Wohlergehen und Klimaschutz. Die Herstellungsprozesse und Geschäftsaktivitäten der Pharmaindustrie erzeugen CO2 und weitere Treibhausgase, und die interpharma-Mitgliedsfirmen haben sich deshalb zum Ziel gesetzt, ihre Emissionen aktiv zu minimieren und Umweltauswirkungen zu reduzieren. Dazu werden eine Vielzahl von Technologien und Massnahmen eingesetzt, etwa die nachhaltige Gestaltung von Produktionsprozessen, die Integration von Nachhaltigkeitsprinzipien in Lieferketten sowie eine zunehmende Selbstregulierung und Monitoring.

Im Zuge dieser Bestrebungen schliessen sich die Pharmaunternehmen verstärkt Private Public Partnerships an und nutzen die Synergieeffekte zur Erreichung globaler und nachhaltiger Gesundheit. Auch auf lokaler Ebene werden die Anstrengungen zum Klimaschutz verstärkt. So gewinnen inzwischen viele Pharma-Standorte in der Schweiz Energie aus nachhaltigen Quellen und nutzen Solarenergie, was einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Verringerung der CO2-Emissionen leistet.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen