Biodiversity - Interpharma

A strong economic framework

Biodiversity

The pharmaceutical companies in Switzerland play an active role in implementing the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals and improving health worldwide.

Overview Biodiversity Climate protection

The Nagoya Protocol negotiated under the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) regulates access to genetic resources and the fair and equitable sharing of benefits arising from their utilisation. It underlines the importance of legal certainty, clarity and transparency in the regulations governing access to genetic resources and the fair sharing of benefits. The protocol is not applicable retroactively and does not affect existing provisions concerning intellectual property. It additionally provides guidance on a number of important questions.

Implementation of the Nagoya Protocol in Switzerland

Switzerland ratified the Nagoya Protocol on 11 July 2014. The Protocol and the associated revision of the Federal Act on the Protection of Nature and Cultural Heritage (NCHA) entered into force on 12 October 2014. The Federal Council approved the Nagoya Ordinance on 11 December 2015 and it entered into force on 1 February 2016.

The research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland supports the goals of the Convention on Biological Diversity and views the Nagoya Protocol as a solid basis for achieving its goals provided it is implemented appropriately. The industry is keen to point out that benefits can only be shared and technology can only be transferred if they are generated by corresponding research. The necessary investments will, however, only be made if they can be refinanced more easily as a result of appropriate legal protection for intellectual property.

Research involving genetic resources in practice

Biopiracy is the term given to the commercial exploitation of naturally occurring biological materials without fair compensation to the countries or peoples on whose territory these materials were originally discovered. The research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland categorically rejects biopiracy. The Interpharma member companies follow the “Guidelines for IFPMA Members on Access to Genetic Resources and Equitable Sharing of Benefits Arising out of their Utilization”. These guidelines support the principles of the Nagoya Protocol, namely prior informed consent and mutually agreed terms, particularly with respect to balanced and fair access and benefit sharing.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Biodiversität - Interpharma

Starke wirtschaftliche Rahmen­bedingungen

Biodiversität

Die pharmazeutischen Unternehmen der Schweiz spielen bei der Umsetzung der UN-Nachhaltigkeitsziele und Verbesserung der Gesundheit weltweit eine aktive Rolle.

Übersicht Biodiversität Klimaschutz

Das im Rahmen des Übereinkommens über die biologische Vielfalt (Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) ausgehandelte Nagoya-Protokoll regelt den Zugang zu genetischen Ressourcen und die ausgewogene und gerechte Aufteilung der sich aus ihrer Nutzung ergebenden Vorteile. Es bekräftigt die Bedeutung von Rechtssicherheit, Klarheit und Transparenz in Regelwerken, welche den Zugang zu genetischen Ressourcen und die faire Vorteilsverteilung festlegen. Das Protokoll ist nicht rückwirkend anwendbar und greift nicht in bestehende Bestimmungen über das geistige Eigentum ein. Es liefert darüber hinaus Orientierungshilfe in Bezug auf verschiedene bedeutende Fragestellungen.

Umsetzung des Nagoya-Protokolls in der Schweiz

Die Schweiz hat das Nagoya-Protokoll am 11. Juli 2014 ratifiziert. Das Protokoll und die damit verbundenen Gesetzesänderungen im Bundesgesetz über den Natur- und Heimatschutz (NHG) sind am 12. Oktober 2014 in Kraft getreten. Der Bundesrat hat am 11. Dezember 2015 die Nagoya-Verordnung verabschiedet. Sie ist am 1. Februar 2016 in Kraft getreten.

Die forschende pharmazeutische Industrie in der Schweiz unterstützt die Ziele des Übereinkommens über die biologische Vielfalt und beurteilt das Nagoya-Protokoll als solide Grundlage zur Erreichung dieser Ziele, sofern es in geeigneter Weise umgesetzt wird. Die Industrie legt dabei Wert auf die Feststellung, dass nur dann Vorteile aufgeteilt bzw. Technologie transferiert werden können, wenn diese durch entsprechende Forschung generiert werden. Die dazu nötigen Investitionen werden allerdings nur dann getätigt, wenn ihre Refinanzierung durch geeignete Schutzrechte für das geistige Eigentum erleichtert wird.

Forschung mit genetischen Ressourcen in der Praxis

Die so genannte Biopiraterie bezeichnet die kommerzielle Nutzung natürlich vorkommender biologischer Materialien ohne eine faire Entschädigung der Länder bzw. Völker, auf deren Territorium diese Materialien ursprünglich entdeckt wurden. Biopiraterie wird von der forschenden pharmazeutischen Industrie der Schweiz entschieden abgelehnt. Die Interpharma-Mitgliedsfirmen orientieren sich an den «Richtlinien für Mitglieder der IFPMA über den Zugang zu Genetischen Ressourcen und den Gerechten Ausgleich aus dem aus deren Nutzung entstandenen Vorteil». Diese Richtlinien postulieren die Prinzipien des Nagoya Protokolls, namentlich die vorherige Zustimmung nach Inkenntnissetzung (Prior informed consent) und einvernehmlich vereinbarte Vertragsbestimmungen (mutually agreed terms), insbesondere zur ausgewogenen und gerechten Aufteilung der Vorteile (access and benefit sharing).

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen