Pre-implantation genetic diagnosis - Interpharma

Healthcare system

Pre-implantation genetic diagnosis

If the challenges facing the Swiss healthcare system are to be overcome, quality – and not just costs – must be part of the discussion.

Overview Multi-stakeholder initiatives eHealth Legislation in the HIA Managed care Pre-implantation genetic diagnosis

Pre-implantation genetic diagnosis (PGD) refers to examinations offered to couples trying to conceive that allow certain genetic disorders and chromosomal aberrations to be identified in an embryo created through in vitro fertilisation. In this procedure, the embryos are examined before they are transferred to the woman’s uterus. In contrast to prenatal diagnosis, pre-implantation genetic diagnosis is carried out before pregnancy occurs, so it is not necessary to terminate a pregnancy if the results show that the embryo is carrying a genetic disorder.

The Reproductive Medicine Act (RMA) stipulates the legal conditions under which medically assisted reproduction may be used in humans. The Act protects human dignity, personality and the family, and prohibits misuses of biotechnology and gene technology. It establishes the wellbeing of the child as the overriding principle and forbids the storage of embryos, egg donation and genetic examination of the embryo in a test tube. The sperm donor’s data are kept at a federal office and are accessible to the child.

Background

PGD was illegal in Switzerland from the date the Reproductive Medicine Act entered into force in 2001 until 31 August 2017.

In 2013, the Federal Council referred to Parliament a draft amending the constitutional provisions governing reproductive medicine and gene technology involving human beings (Art. 119 Cst.) and amending the Reproductive Medicine Act (RMA). The proposed legislative amendment declared PGD to be legal under certain circumstances. The draft amendment of the Article of the Constitution proposed that it should be possible to perform PGD if the framework conditions are promising.

Parliament concluded the consultation procedure for the drafts on 12 December 2014. The amendment of Art. 119 Cst. was adopted by the people and the cantons by a clear margin on 14 June 2015.

On 5 June 2016, the amendments to the RMA were also adopted by the people and the cantons by a clear margin. The implementing provisions of the RMA, the Reproductive Medicine Ordinance (RMO), were amended on this basis and sent to interested parties for optional consultation.

The revised Reproductive Medicine Act and the revised Reproductive Medicine Ordinance have been in force in Switzerland since 1 September 2017. This means that pre-implantation genetic diagnosis (PGD) may be performed in Switzerland under certain conditions. Laboratories involved in reproductive medicine and pre-implantation genetic diagnosis are subject to stricter quality criteria than before.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Präimplan­tations­diagnostik - Interpharma

Gesundheitswesen

Präimplan­tations­diagnostik

Um den Herausforderungen für das Schweizer Gesundheitswesen gerecht zu werden, muss neben dem Kosten- auch der Qualitätsaspekt Teil der Diskussion sein.

Übersicht Multi-Stakeholder Initiativen eHealth KVG-Gesetzgebung Managed Care Präimplan­tations­diagnostik

Die Präimplantationsdiagnostik (PID) bezeichnet Untersuchungen, die Paaren mit Kinderwunsch erlauben, bei einem durch In-Vitro-Fertilisation erzeugten Embryo bestimmte Erbkrankheiten und Chromosomenbesonderheiten zu erkennen. Die Untersuchung der Embryonen findet bei diesem Verfahren vor der Übertragung in die Gebärmutter der Frau statt. Im Gegensatz zur Pränataldiagnostik setzt Präimplantationsdiagnostik nicht erst in der Schwangerschaft an und führt somit zu keinem Schwangerschaftsabbruch, wenn ein Befund vorliegt, dass der Embryo Träger einer genetischen Krankheit ist.

Im Fortpflanzungsmedizingesetz (FMedG) ist gesetzlich verankert, unter welchen Voraussetzungen die Verfahren der medizinisch unterstützten Fortpflanzung beim Menschen angewendet werden dürfen. Das Gesetz schützt die Menschenwürde, die Persönlichkeit sowie die Familie und verbietet missbräuchliche Anwendungen der Bio- und Gentechnologie. Es erklärt das Kindeswohl zum obersten Grundsatz und verbietet das Aufbewahren von Embryonen, die Eizellenspende sowie die genetische Untersuchung des Embryos im Reagenzglas. Die Daten des Samenspenders werden bei einer Bundesstelle aufbewahrt und sind dem Kind zugänglich.

Hintergrund

In der Schweiz war die PID vom Zeitpunkt des Inkrafttretens des Fortpflanzungsmedizingesetzes 2001 bis zum 31. August 2017 verboten.

2013 hat der Bundesrat dem Parlament einen Entwurf zur Änderung der Verfassungsbestimmung zur Fortpflanzungsmedizin und Gentechnologie im Humanbereich (Art. 119 BV) sowie zur Änderung des Fortpflanzungsmedizingesetzes (FMedG) überwiesen. Die vorgeschlagene Gesetzesänderung erklärt die PID unter gewissen Voraussetzungen für zulässig. Gemäss dem Änderungsvorschlag für den Verfassungsartikel soll die PID unter erfolgversprechenden Rahmenbedingungen durchgeführt werden können.

Am 12. Dezember 2014 hat das Parlament die Beratung der Vorlagen abgeschlossen. Die Verfassungsänderung von Art. 119 BV wurde am 14. Juni 2015 von Volk und Ständen deutlich angenommen.

Am 5. Juni 2016 wurden auch die Änderungen des FMedG von Volk und Ständen deutlich angenommen. Davon ausgehend wurde die Revision der Ausführungsbestimmungen zum FMedG, der Fortpflanzungsmedizinverordnung (FMedV), an die Hand genommen und den interessierten Kreisen im Rahmen einer fakultativen Vernehmlassung unterbreitet.

Seit dem 1. September 2017 sind in der Schweiz das revidierte Fortpflanzungsmedizingesetz und die revidierte Fortpflanzungsmedizinverordnung in Kraft. Damit kann die Präimplantationsdiagnostik (PID) in der Schweiz unter gewissen Voraussetzungen angewendet werden. Für Laboratorien, die in der Fortpflanzungsmedizin und Präimplantationsdiagnostik tätig sind, gelten strengere Qualitätskriterien als früher.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen