Managed care - Interpharma

Healthcare system

Managed care

If the challenges facing the Swiss healthcare system are to be overcome, quality – and not just costs – must be part of the discussion.

Overview Multi-stakeholder initiatives eHealth Legislation in the HIA Managed care Pre-implantation genetic diagnosis

The term managed care refers to the integrated care of patients. This essentially means that the individual steps in a patient’s treatment that are often provided by different service providers such as general practitioners, physiotherapists, specialist doctors, etc. are coordinated and aligned with each other by a central entity.

Integrated medical practices and treatment centres can offer the full range of medical expertise required to treat a clinical condition. Yet integrated care by no means stands exclusively for networks of doctors; it rather means autonomy and shared responsibility for a budget. In addition, integrated care must be given by service providers who join forces to form a care network that also regulates cooperation with third parties.

In Switzerland too, teamwork and networking between doctors are viewed as models of the future. In an insurance model of this type, insured individuals benefit from premiums that are lower than those paid in conventional models. In June 2012, the electorate in Switzerland rejected the managed care component of the HIA revision with a resounding 76 percent majority. Despite this setback, integrated care models are making headway.

Increased quality and efficiency

Integrated care models can help to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of care. The importance of managed care in Switzerland has grown, not least against the background of rising costs in the healthcare system. Inadequate care not only endangers the health of the population, it is also the cause of innumerable avoidable complications and deaths. Integrated care models are designed to improve quality and cost-effectiveness. The parameters by which their success is measured are overall outcomes in patient therapy and management. Integrated care models play a particularly significant role in the management of chronic diseases. The following elements are common to all worthwhile integrated care models:

  • Alignment with the patient’s needs: Care is organised in such a way that it increases the benefit to the patient.
  • Quality orientation: The objective of integrated care is to improve the quality of care.
  • Focus on chronic diseases: Chronic diseases account for a small percentage of all insurance cases but cause disproportionately high costs.
  • Freedom of choice: Insured persons and service providers should be able to choose freely between the two models – integrated care and conventional care – within the basic insurance system.
  • Incentives: Service providers should be able to benefit financially from good care outcomes.
  • One-stop healthcare: The integrated care network is the point of contact for patients who choose this model.
  • Autonomy and shared budget responsibility: Integrated care is given by service providers who join up to form a care network. The network regulates cooperation with third parties (integrated care models certainly don’t have to be networks of doctors).
  • Risk equalisation: This must be established in such a way that chronically ill individuals are an attractive proposition for insurers.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Managed Care - Interpharma

Gesundheitswesen

Managed Care

Um den Herausforderungen für das Schweizer Gesundheitswesen gerecht zu werden, muss neben dem Kosten- auch der Qualitätsaspekt Teil der Diskussion sein.

Übersicht Multi-Stakeholder Initiativen eHealth KVG-Gesetzgebung Managed Care Präimplan­tations­diagnostik

Managed Care bezeichnet die integrierte Versorgung von Patientinnen und Patienten. Das heisst im Wesentlichen, dass die einzelnen Therapieschritte, die häufig von unterschiedlichen Leistungserbringern wie Allgemeinpraktikern, Physiotherapeuten, Spezialärzten etc. erbracht werden, von einer zentralen Stelle koordiniert und aufeinander abgestimmt werden.

Integrierte Arztpraxen und Behandlungszentren können den vollen Umfang an medizinischem Fachwissen anbieten, die für die Behandlung eines Krankheitsbildes nötig sind. Integrierte Versorgung bedeutet aber keineswegs nur einen Zusammenschluss in Ärztenetzwerken, sondern auch Autonomie und Budgetmitverantwortung. Integrierte Versorgung muss zudem von Leistungserbringern erbracht werden, die sich zu einem Versorgungsnetzwerk zusammenschliessen, das auch die Zusammenarbeit mit Dritten regelt.

Auch in der Schweiz werden Teamarbeit und Vernetzung von Ärzten als Modelle der Zukunft betrachtet. In einem solchen Versicherungsmodell profitieren Versicherte gegenüber konventionellen Modellen von günstigeren Prämien. Im Juni 2012 hat die Stimmbevölkerung die KVG-Teilrevision Managed Care mit 76 Prozent deutlich verworfen. Trotz dieses Scheiterns sind integrierte Versorgungsmodelle aber auf dem Vormarsch.

Qualitäts- und Effizienzsteigerung

Integrierte Versorgungsmodelle können helfen, die Qualität und die Wirtschaftlichkeit in der Versorgung zu verbessern. Nicht zuletzt vor dem Hintergrund der Kostenzunahme im Gesundheitswesen hat Managed Care auch in der Schweiz an Bedeutung gewonnen. Eine ungenügende Versorgung gefährdet nicht nur die Gesundheit der Bevölkerung, sondern ist auch Ursache für unzählige vermeidbare Komplikationen und Todesfälle. Modelle der integrierten Versorgung sind auf die Verbesserung der Qualität und der Wirtschaftlichkeit ausgerichtet. Sie haben das Gesamtresultat der Patientenbehandlung und -betreuung im Visier. Von Bedeutung sind Modelle der integrierten Versorgung insbesondere bei chronischen Krankheiten. Sinnvolle Modelle der integrierten Versorgung zeichnen sich durch folgende Elemente aus:

  • Orientierung am Patientenbedürfnis: Die Organisation der Versorgung ist auf die Steigerung des Patientennutzens ausgerichtet.
  • Orientierung an Qualität: Integrierte Versorgung setzt sich zum Ziel, die Qualität der Versorgung zu steigern.
  • Fokussierung auf chronisch Kranke: Chronische Erkrankungen stellen einen geringen Prozentsatz aller Versicherungsfälle, verursachen aber überproportional hohe Kosten.
  • Wahlfreiheit: Versicherte und Leistungserbringer sollen innerhalb der Grundversicherung zwischen den beiden Modellen integrierte Versorgung und konventionelle Versorgung wählen können.
  • Anreize: Leistungserbringer sollen finanziell von guten Versorgungsresultaten profitieren können.
  • Gesundheitsleistung aus einer Hand: Für Patienten, die sich für ein integriertes Versorgungsmodell entscheiden, ist dieses Netzwerk die Anlaufstelle.
  • Autonomie und Budgetmitverantwortung: Integrierte Versorgung wird von Leistungserbringern erbracht, die sich zu einem Versorgungsnetzwerk zusammenschliessen. Das Netzwerk regelt die Zusammenarbeit mit Dritten (integrierte Versorgungsmodelle sind keineswegs zwingend Ärztenetzwerke).
  • Risikoausgleich: Er ist so zu bestimmen, dass chronisch Kranke für Versicherer interessant werden.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen