eHealth - Interpharma

Healthcare system

eHealth

If the challenges facing the Swiss healthcare system are to be overcome, quality – and not just costs – must be part of the discussion.

Overview Multi-stakeholder initiatives eHealth Legislation in the HIA Managed care Pre-implantation genetic diagnosis

Digital technologies are gaining importance in healthcare too. Electronic health services such as electronic patient records, online services with high-quality health information and telemedicine applications to assist with remote medical treatment and consultation are just a few examples.

Understanding the importance of such technologies, the federal government and the cantons developed the Swiss eHealth Strategy, which was approved by the Federal Council in 2007. It aims to introduce an electronic patient record and to create a health portal offering information relevant to health. Networking of the stakeholders in the healthcare system will be strengthened by information and communication technologies in order to increase the quality of treatment, patient safety and efficiency.

Following on from this strategy, the Federal Council approved the Swiss eHealth Strategy 2.0 in December 2018. It contains objectives and actions to be taken by the Confederation and the cantons with the aim of introducing the electronic patient record across a broad front and coordinating the digitalisation of areas relating to the electronic patient record during the period 2018-2022. The Swiss Conference of the Cantonal Ministers of Public Health (CMPH) has also committed to these objectives and actions. 

Electronic patient record

The electronic patient record (EPR) is a virtual file designed to improve the quality of medical treatment, treatment processes, patient safety and efficiency in the healthcare system, while at the same time promoting patients’ health literacy.

It provides authorised healthcare professionals who are treating a patient with access to electronically stored data relevant for that patient’s treatment. Examples of the data stored include examination reports, laboratory data and prescriptions.

Patients are also able to upload their own data into their electronic patient record (e.g. information about allergies or emergency contact details), thus making them available to healthcare professionals who are treating them.

Patients and healthcare professionals who wish to access an EPR must have an electronic identity and means of identification issued by a supplier certified in accordance with the Federal Act on the Electronic Patient Record (EPRA).

The introduction of the EPR represents a complex interaction of legal, organisational and technical requirements and numerous stakeholders. According to the EPRA, which has been in force since 15 April 2017, acute-care hospitals, rehabilitation clinics and hospital-based psychiatrists must join a certified community within three years. The deadline for this was thus 15 April 2020, which represents the date on which the EPR was launched. However, delays in the certification procedure meant that it was not possible to introduce the EPR throughout Switzerland in April 2020. It is expected that everyone living in Switzerland will be able to open an EPR by the autumn of 2020.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

eHealth - Interpharma

Gesundheitswesen

eHealth

Um den Herausforderungen für das Schweizer Gesundheitswesen gerecht zu werden, muss neben dem Kosten- auch der Qualitätsaspekt Teil der Diskussion sein.

Übersicht Multi-Stakeholder Initiativen eHealth KVG-Gesetzgebung Managed Care Präimplan­tations­diagnostik

Digitale Technologien werden auch im Gesundheitswesen immer wichtiger. Elektronische Gesundheitsdienste wie elektronische Patientendossiers, Online-Dienste mit qualitativ hochstehenden Gesundheitsinformationen oder auch Anwendungen der Telemedizin zur medizinischen Behandlung und Beratung auf Distanz sind Beispiele dafür.

Bund und Kantone haben die Bedeutung solcher Anwendungen erkannt und die «Strategie eHealth Schweiz» erarbeitet, die 2007 vom Bundesrat verabschiedet wurde. Sie bezweckt die Einführung eines elektronischen Patientendossiers und die Schaffung eines Gesundheitsportals mit gesundheitsrelevanten Informationen. Die Vernetzung der Akteure im Gesundheitswesen durch Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien soll verstärkt werden, um die Qualität der Behandlungen, die Patientensicherheit und die Effizienz zu erhöhen.

Aufbauend darauf hat der Bundesrat im Dezember 2018 die «Strategie eHealth Schweiz 2.0» verabschiedet. Sie enthält Ziele und Massnahmen von Bund und Kantonen zur Verbreitung des elektronischen Patientendossiers sowie zur Koordination der Digitalisierung rund um das elektronische Patientendossier für den Zeitraum 2018-2022. Die Schweizerische Konferenz der kantonalen Gesundheitsdirektorinnen und -direktoren (GDK) schloss sich den Zielen und Massnahmen ebenfalls an. 

Elektronisches Patientendossier

Das elektronische Patientendossier (EPD) ist ein virtuelles Dossier, mit dem die Qualität der medizinischen Behandlung gestärkt, die Behandlungsprozesse verbessert, die Patientensicherheit erhöht und die Effizienz des Gesundheitssystems gesteigert sowie die Gesundheitskompetenz der Patienten gefördert werden sollen.

Dabei können elektronisch abgelegte behandlungsrelevante Daten einer Patientin oder eines Patienten in einem Abrufverfahren den an der Behandlung beteiligten Gesundheitsfachpersonen zugänglich gemacht werden. Beispiele sind Untersuchungsberichte, Labordaten und Rezepte.

Patienten haben ebenfalls die Möglichkeit, eigene Daten (z. B. Informationen über Allergien oder Kontaktdaten für Notfälle) in ihrem elektronischen Patientendossier hochzuladen und diese damit den behandelnden Gesundheitsfachpersonen zugänglich zu machen.

Patienten sowie Gesundheitsfachpersonen, die auf ein EPD zugreifen wollen, müssen eine elektronische Identität und ein Identifikationsmittel eines nach dem Bundesgesetzt über das elektronische Patientendossier (EPDG) zertifizierten Herausgebers besitzen.

Die Einführung des EPD ist ein komplexes Zusammenspiel von rechtlichen, organisatorischen und technischen Voraussetzungen und zahlreichen Akteuren. Gemäss dem EPDG, das seit dem 15. April 2017 in Kraft ist, müssen Akutspitäler, Reha-Kliniken und stationäre Psychiatrien sich innert drei Jahren einer zertifizierten Stammgemeinschaft anschliessen. Diese Frist fiel somit auf den 15. April 2020 und gilt als Einführungstermin des EPD. Aufgrund von Verzögerungen im Zertifizierungsverfahren bietet sich jedoch erst für Personen aus dem Kanton Aargau und der Südostschweiz die Eröffnung eines EPD an.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen