Chronic diseases - Interpharma

Healthcare system

Chronic diseases

Investment in prevention and health promotion is vital to enable people to enjoy a good quality of life into old age.

Overview Vaccination Chronic diseases Disease registries

Chronic diseases are diseases that last a long time, cannot be completely cured and therefore often require repeated treatment. They include cardiovascular diseases, cancer, dementia, chronic respiratory conditions and diabetes.

Chronic diseases are some of the leading causes of death worldwide, with the global demographic development playing a major role in this. Chronic diseases tend to occur primarily in the elderly and often concurrently (known as comorbidity). Since chronic diseases occur more frequently in later life and the population is ageing overall, these diseases are becoming more significant in economic terms as they swallow up ever more resources in addition to causing suffering for patients and their families. A large proportion of expenditure in the healthcare system is due to the direct costs of treating chronic diseases and caring for people with such diseases.

Cardiovascular diseases

According to the Federal Statistical Office, cardiovascular diseases were the most common cause of death and the third most common reason for hospitalisation in Switzerland in 2016.

Various risk factors are responsible for cardiovascular diseases. There are factors that cannot be influenced, such as hereditary predisposition. Others are dependent on the individual’s behaviour. These include insufficient physical activity, an unhealthy diet, excessive alcohol consumption and smoking. Further research is still needed in order to identify the precise relationships between risk factors, environment and disease processes and to develop optimised therapies.

Diabetes

There are various forms of diabetes, a condition that involves an excessively high level of blood glucose, also known as hyperglycaemia. The two most important forms are type 1 and type 2 diabetes. In type 1 diabetes, the body’s own immune system destroys the cells in the pancreas that produce insulin. Patients are often still very young when a diagnosis is made.

Type 2 diabetes accounts for 90% of all cases. Previously referred to as late-onset or adult-onset diabetes, younger people are increasingly developing this form nowadays, not least because the risk factors of excess weight and lack of physical activity may occur at an early age. These and other risk factors can lead to reduced sensitivity to insulin (insulin resistance) and subsequently to hyperglycaemia. As with cardiovascular diseases, the risk factors predisposing to type 2 diabetes can often be actively modified. Diabetes prevention programmes show that lifestyle changes can have a lasting positive effect. It is now also known, however, that the risk of developing type 2 diabetes can be increased by genetic predisposition.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Gesundheitswesen

Chronische Krankheiten

Um eine gute Lebensqualität bis ins Alter zu ermöglichen, sind Investitionen in Prävention und Gesundheitsförderung unerlässlich.

Übersicht Impfen Chronische Krankheiten Krankheitsregister

Chronische Krankheiten sind Krankheiten, die lange andauern, nicht vollständig geheilt werden können und deshalb oft eine wiederholte Behandlung erforderlich machen. Dazu gehören u.a. Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen, Krebs, Demenz, chronische Atemwegserkrankungen und Diabetes.

Weltweit gehören die chronischen Krankheiten zu den führenden Todesursachen, was auch auf die demografische Entwicklung weltweit zurückzuführen ist. Chronische Krankheiten treten zu einem grossen Teil bei älteren Menschen auf, und das oft gleichzeitig (Komorbidität). Gerade weil die chronischen Krankheiten im Alter zunehmen und die Bevölkerung insgesamt älter wird, steigt ihre Bedeutung auch aus ökonomischer Perspektive, da sie neben dem Leid für die Betroffenen und ihre Angehörigen auch immer mehr Ressourcen beanspruchen. Ein grosser Anteil der Gesundheitsausgaben fällt auf die direkten Behandlungskosten chronischer Krankheiten und auf die Versorgung von Menschen mit chronischen Krankheiten zurück.

Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen

In der Schweiz waren Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen nach Angaben des Bundesamtes für Statistik im Jahr 2018 die häufigste Todesursache und der dritthäufigste Hospitalisierungsgrund.

Verantwortlich für Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen sind verschiedene Risikofaktoren. Dabei gibt es Faktoren, die man nicht beeinflussen kann, wie etwa erbliche Veranlagungen. Andere hingegen sind abhängig vom Verhalten der Personen. Dazu gehören ungenügende Bewegung, ungesunde Ernährung, übermässiger Alkoholkonsum und Rauchen. Um die genauen Zusammenhänge von Risikofaktoren, Umwelt und Krankheitsprozessen zu verstehen und optimierte Behandlungen zu entwickeln, braucht es auch heute noch weitere Forschung.

Diabetes

Beim Diabetes unterscheidet man verschiedene Formen eines zu hohen Blutzuckerspiegels, der auch als Hyperglykämie bezeichnet wird. Die zwei wichtigsten Formen sind der Typ-1 und Typ-2 Diabetes. Beim Typ-1-Diabetes zerstört das körpereigene Immunsystem die Insulin produzierenden Zellen der Bauchspeicheldrüse. Die Patienten sind häufig noch sehr jung, wenn sie mit der Diagnose konfrontiert werden.

90% aller Diabetesformen bilden den Typ-2-Diabetes. Früher als Altersdiabetes bezeichnet, erkranken heute zunehmend auch jüngere Menschen daran, zumal die Risikofaktoren Übergewicht und Bewegungsmangel bereits in jungen Jahren auftreten können. Diese und andere Risikofaktoren können zu einer verminderten Insulinempfindlichkeit (Insulinresistenz) und einer sich daraus ergebenden Hyperglykämie führen. Für Typ-2-Diabetes gilt wie bei den Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen, dass die Risikofaktoren oft aktiv beeinflusst werden können. Diabetespräventionsprogramme belegen, dass eine Lebensstiländerung einen langanhaltenden positiven Effekt haben kann. Mittlerweile weiss man aber auch, dass bei Typ-2-Diabetikern das Risiko für die Krankheit auch genetisch bedingt erhöht sein kann.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen