Range of benefits - Interpharma

Healthcare system

Range of benefits

The options for funding an increasingly complex healthcare system are limited – and they require a new way of looking at costs.

Overview HTA cost-effectiveness assessments DRG hospital funding Range of benefits

Compared with other countries, Switzerland has a uniform and generous range of benefits, covering everything reimbursed by the statutory health insurance (SHI) system. Its broad scope limits the transfer of costs and ensures that the entire population has access to high-quality medical care.

Medical services and products must meet the WZW criteria (the acronym derives from the German words) of effectiveness, appropriateness and cost-effectiveness before they can be included in the range of benefits provided by the statutory health insurance system and thus reimbursed by the health insurers. The Health Insurance Act (HIA) requires the included benefits to be reviewed periodically. This task falls to the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH). The FOPH examines new benefits and products at the manufacturer’s request; the manufacturer must provide evidence that they comply with the WZW criteria. If they are assessed positively by the FOPH, medicinal products are included in the List of pharmaceutical specialities (LS); this list contains all the medicinal products and therapies reimbursed under basic health insurance.

Curative benefits are covered by basic health insurance provided they have not been specifically excluded. The manufacturer must also provide evidence of the effectiveness, appropriateness and cost-effectiveness of medicinal products, laboratory analyses and other agents used for examination and treatment purposes if the intention is for them to be covered and reimbursed under basic health insurance.

Complementary medicine

In 2017, regulations came into force that put complementary medicine benefits on an equal footing with the other medical benefits provided by the SHI system. Under certain conditions (a tradition of use and research, scientific evidence and medical experience, postgraduate medical training), medical care provided by doctors practising anthroposophic medicine, traditional Chinese medicine, homeopathy and plant-based therapy are accepted in good faith and reimbursed by the SHI system. The principle of good faith presupposes that doctors only provide services that fulfil the requirements for effectiveness, appropriateness and cost-effectiveness. As with other branches of medicine, only certain, controversial services undergo scrutiny.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Leistungskatalog - Interpharma

Gesundheitswesen

Leistungskatalog

Die Möglichkeiten ein immer aufwendigeres Gesundheitssystem zu finanzieren sind begrenzt – und sie erfordern eine neue Sichtweise auf die Kosten.

Übersicht HTA / Kosten-Nutzen DRG / Spitalfinanzierung Leistungskatalog

Die Schweiz hat im Vergleich zum Ausland einen einheitlichen und grosszügigen Leistungskatalog, der alle Leistungen enthält, die von der obligatorischen Krankenpflegeversicherung (OKP) gedeckt werden. Seine Breite begrenzt die Kostenverlagerung und gewährleistet der gesamten Bevölkerung den Zugang zu qualitativ hochstehender medizinischer Versorgung.

Um in den Leistungskatalog der obligatorischen Krankenkassen aufgenommen und damit von der Krankenversicherung vergütet zu werden, müssen ärztliche Leistungen und Güter die Kriterien der Wirksamkeit, Zweckmässigkeit und Wirtschaftlichkeit (WZW) erfüllen. Das Krankenversicherungsgesetz (KVG) verlangt dafür eine periodische Überprüfung. Zuständig für diese Überprüfung ist das Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG). Dieses überprüft neue Leistungen auf Antrag der Hersteller, die den Nachweis der Erfüllung der WZW-Kriterien erbringen müssen. Arzneimittel werden nach positiver Beurteilung seitens BAG auf die Spezialitätenliste (SL) aufgenommen, welche alle Medikamente und Therapien enthält, die von der Grundversicherung vergütet werden.

Kurative Leistungen werden durch die Grundversicherung gedeckt, sofern sie nicht ausdrücklich ausgeschlossen sind. Auch für die Deckung und Rückerstattung von Arzneimitteln, Laboranalysen und weiteren Mitteln zur Untersuchung und Behandlung muss der Hersteller den Nachweis der Wirksamkeit, Zweckmässigkeit und Wirtschaftlichkeit seines Produktes erbringen.

Komplementärmedizin

Im Jahr 2017 traten Regelungen in Kraft, welche komplementärmedizinische ärztliche Leistungen den anderen von der OKP vergüteten medizinischen Leistungen gleichstellen. Unter gewissen Voraussetzungen (Anwendungs- und Forschungstradition, wissenschaftliche Evidenz und ärztliche Erfahrung, Weiterbildung) werden die ärztlichen Leistungen der anthroposophischen Medizin, der traditionellen chinesischen Medizin, der Homöopathie und der Phytotherapie dem Vertrauensprinzip unterstellt und von der OKP übernommen. Das Vertrauensprinzip setzt voraus, dass die Ärzte nur Leistungen erbringen, welche die Wirksamkeits-, Zweckmässigkeits- und Wirtschaftlichkeitsvorgaben erfüllen. Wie bei den anderen medizinischen Fachrichtungen werden nur bestimmte, umstrittene Leistungen geprüft.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen