HTA cost-effectiveness assessments - Interpharma

Healthcare system

HTA cost-effectiveness assessments

The options for funding an increasingly complex healthcare system are limited – and they require a new way of looking at costs.

Overview HTA cost-effectiveness assessments DRG hospital funding Range of benefits

The progress being made in medicine and the discussion of scarce resources in the healthcare system make the need to question the efficacy of health benefits and the efficient use of resources more important than ever. When health products and technologies are assessed, the point is not simply to establish whether a new analysis, surgical technique or medicine is effective, but also how great the added value is compared to existing interventions.

The term Health Technology Assessment (HTA) has become established for this systematic evaluation of medical procedures and technologies. The objective of this benefit assessment must be to keep the health service open to innovations in order to improve the quality of care and treatment outcomes.

Not a tool for rationing

Major efforts are being undertaken worldwide to assess prevention, diagnosis, therapies, medicinal products, organisational structures and chains of care in order to provide the authorities with a basis for taking health-policy decisions that will be accepted by the population. Systems like HTA for assessing health benefits can provide important information on the relative efficiency of therapeutic alternatives and are thus an important decision-making aid.

Reinforcement of health technology assessments is one of the health-policy priorities established by the Federal Council in the Health2020 Strategy. In this context, the federal government has launched an HTA programme to re-evaluate benefits already being reimbursed by the statutory health insurance system, and this programme will gradually be established and expanded in the coming years. In this context, HTA can enable transparent, evidence-based decisions to be taken so that ineffective and inefficient benefits can be reduced, the quality of the healthcare system can be increased and costs can be lowered.

HTA must meet demanding requirements

Expansion of cost-effectiveness assessments like HTA is a demanding task. They are cost-intensive and therefore require a clear focus. They should examine entire treatment pathways and organisational structures rather than individual interventions. Furthermore, an assessment of health benefits must be based on solid scientific methods and their use must be transparent, timely, balanced and fair. Activities without prior consultation can lead to duplication and unnecessary bureaucracy. It is therefore important to avoid overlap in order to make as efficient use as possible of scarce resources.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

HTA / Kosten-Nutzen - Interpharma

Gesundheitswesen

HTA / Kosten-Nutzen

Die Möglichkeiten ein immer aufwendigeres Gesundheitssystem zu finanzieren sind begrenzt – und sie erfordern eine neue Sichtweise auf die Kosten.

Übersicht HTA / Kosten-Nutzen DRG / Spitalfinanzierung Leistungskatalog

Mit den Fortschritten in der Medizin und der Diskussion über die Mittelknappheit im Gesundheitswesen werden die Fragen nach der Wirksamkeit von Gesundheitsleistungen und dem effizienten Einsatz der Mittel wichtiger denn je. Bei der Bewertung von Gesundheitsleistungen geht es nicht nur um die Frage, ob eine neue Analyse, eine neue chirurgische Technik oder ein neues Medikament wirksam ist, sondern darum, wie hoch der Mehrnutzen und die Kosten im Vergleich zu bisherigen Interventionen sind.

Diese systematische Bewertung medizinischer Verfahren und Technologien wird mit dem Begriff Health Technology Assessment (HTA) bezeichnet. Ziel dieser Nutzenbewertung muss es sein, das Gesundheitswesen für Innovationen offen zu halten, um die Qualität der Versorgung und die Behandlungsergebnisse zu verbessern.

Kein Rationierungsinstrument

Weltweit sind grosse Anstrengungen zu beobachten, Prävention, Diagnostik, Behandlungen, Medikamente, Organisationsstrukturen und Versorgungsketten zu bewerten, um so den Behörden Grundlagen für gesundheitspolitische Entscheide zu schaffen, die bei der Bevölkerung Akzeptanz finden. Bewertungssysteme für Gesundheitsleistungen wie HTA können wichtige Informationen zur relativen Effizienz von therapeutischen Alternativen bieten und sind damit eine nützliche Entscheidungshilfe.

Die Stärkung von Health Technology Assessments war eine der in der Strategie Gesundheit 2020 festgelegten gesundheitspolitischen Prioritäten des Bundesrates. In diesem Zusammenhang hat der Bund ein HTA-Programm zur Re-Evaluation von bereits von der obligatorischen Krankenpflegeversicherung vergüteten Leistungen lanciert, das in den kommenden Jahren schrittweise auf- und ausgebaut wird. In diesem Kontext ermöglicht HTA eine transparente und evidenzbasierte Entscheidungsfindung, um nicht wirksame und nicht effiziente Leistungen zu reduzieren, die Qualität des Gesundheitswesens zu erhöhen und die Kosten zu verringern.

Hohe Anforderungen an HTA

Der Aufbau von Kosten-Nutzen-Bewertungen, wie sie HTA beinhalten, stellt hohe Anforderungen. Sie sind kostenintensiv und benötigen deshalb einen klaren Fokus. Es sollten vermehrt ganze Behandlungspfade und Organisationsstrukturen und nicht nur einzelne Interventionen Gegenstand von HTA sein. Ferner muss eine Bewertung von Gesundheitsleistungen auf fundierten, wissenschaftlichen Methoden basieren und transparent, zeitgerecht, ausgewogen und fair eingesetzt werden. Nicht abgestimmte Aktivitäten können zu Doppelspurigkeiten und unnötiger Bürokratie führen. Um die knappen Mittel deshalb möglichst effizient einzusetzen, ist es wichtig, Überschneidungen zu vermeiden.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen