DRG hospital funding - Interpharma

Healthcare system

DRG hospital funding

The options for funding an increasingly complex healthcare system are limited – and they require a new way of looking at costs.

Overview HTA cost-effectiveness assessments DRG hospital funding Range of benefits

Inpatient care provided in hospitals underwent a major change in 2012. Since then, hospitals have no longer been funded through per diem flat rates but through the services they provide for patients. Prior to 2012, the same services were paid for differently depending on the canton. Today, they are paid for on the basis of uniform national tariffs known as diagnosis-related groups (DRG). SwissDRG AG, a non-profit company combining service providers, insurers and the cantons, is responsible for introducing, refining and updating inpatient tariff structures. SwissDRG classifies services into case groups on the basis of the main and subsidiary diagnoses, severity and other criteria as well as the treatments provided. This results in a flat rate for each case group that is reimbursed by the health insurer.

The purpose of this system is to create greater transparency, promote economic efficiency and correct existing misplaced incentives. Resources are used appropriately for needs and more efficiently because hospitals are paid only for the services they provide. But there is a natural limit to funding by means of per case flat rates.

Flanking measures necessary

It is not possible to represent medical treatments perfectly in all areas even in an optimally differentiated system. Systematic funding shortfalls arise with medical innovations and therapies because it takes around five years for a new medicinal product or a new treatment method to be included in and paid for through the per case flat rate system. Also, therapies for small groups of patients that can be provided at only a small number of specialised hospitals distort the case groups and lead to underfunding in specialised centres and overfunding in other hospitals. Additional payments are therefore needed for new examination and treatment methods to ensure comprehensive and rapid access to therapies. Without this kind of flanking measure, such as additional payments, access to new therapies would be delayed and regionally variable.

Choice of hospital and treatment

Individuals with basic insurance have been able to choose the hospital in which they wish to be treated since 2012, when this right was introduced as part of the hospital funding system. Under the current dual system of hospital funding, the public sector (cantons/communes) and the health insurers contribute separately – and in some instances independently of each other – to the funding of inpatient care. The cantons pay for 55 percent of inpatient costs with their revenue from taxation, while the 45 percent paid for by the health insurers comes from the insurance premiums.

However, this system creates misplaced incentives in terms of treatment choices. Since the cantons shoulder 55 percent of the costs of inpatient care and only 45 percent is paid for by the health insurers, and ultimately by those who pay the premiums, inpatient treatment is a more attractive option for the insurers. This is because outpatient treatment – which is often medically possible and less expensive – is paid for in full from insurance premiums. The uniform funding of inpatient and outpatient health services that is currently being debated in parliament would put an end to this distortion. It would become more attractive to choose outpatient treatment, which is often equally good in medical terms, and this would have a positive effect on overall costs.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

DRG / Spitalfinanzierung - Interpharma

Gesundheitswesen

DRG / Spitalfinanzierung

Die Möglichkeiten ein immer aufwendigeres Gesundheitssystem zu finanzieren sind begrenzt – und sie erfordern eine neue Sichtweise auf die Kosten.

Übersicht HTA / Kosten-Nutzen DRG / Spitalfinanzierung Leistungskatalog

2012 hat es im stationären Bereich einen grossen Umbruch gegeben: Seit diesem Jahr werden Spitäler nicht mehr über Tagespauschalen finanziert, sondern über ihre Leistungen für Patienten. Vor 2012 wurden die gleichen Leistungen je nach Kanton unterschiedlich vergütet. Heute erfolgt die Vergütung über national einheitliche Tarife, die sogenannten diagnosebezogenen Fallpauschalen (Diagnosis Related Groups, DRG). Die Swiss DRG AG, eine gemeinsame Institution der Leistungserbringer, der Versicherer und der Kantone, ist verantwortlich für die Einführung, Weiterentwicklung und Pflege der stationären Tarifstrukturen. Mit dem Swiss DRG werden die Leistungen nach der Haupt- und den Nebendiagnosen, dem Schweregrad und weiteren Kriterien sowie den durchgeführten Behandlungen in Fallgruppen klassifiziert. Für jede Fallgruppe ergibt sich eine Fallpauschale, die von der Krankenversicherung vergütet wird.

Das Ziel dieses Systems ist es, mehr Transparenz herzustellen, die Wirtschaftlichkeit zu fördern und bisherige Fehlanreize zu korrigieren. Weil nur noch die erbrachten Leistungen vergütet sind, werden Ressourcen bedarfsgereicht und effizienter eingesetzt. Die Finanzierung über Fallpauschalen hat aber auch seine natürlichen Grenzen.

Flankierende Massnahmen notwendig

Medizinische Behandlungen können selbst bei einem optimal ausdifferenzierten System nicht in allen Bereichen perfekt abgebildet werden. Bei medizinischen Innovationen und Therapien entstehen systematische Finanzierungslücken, denn bis ein neu eingeführtes Medikament oder eine neu eingeführte Behandlungsmethode im Fallpauschalensystem berücksichtigt und abgegolten wird, vergehen rund fünf Jahre. Auch Behandlungen für kleine Gruppen von Patienten, die nur in wenigen spezialisierten Kliniken durchgeführt werden können, verzerren die sogenannten Fallgruppen und haben eine Unterfinanzierung in den spezialisierten Kliniken und eine Überfinanzierung in den übrigen Kliniken zur Folge. Um den allgemeinen und raschen Zugang zu Therapien zu gewährleisten, sind deshalb zusätzliche Abgeltungen für neue Untersuchungs-und Behandlungsmethoden wichtig. Ohne solche flankierenden Massnahmen beispielsweise über Zusatzentgelte käme es zu einem verzögerten und regional unterschiedlichen Zugang zu neuen Therapien.

Spital- und Behandlungswahl

Mit der freien Spitalwahl, die 2012 mit der Spitalfinanzierung eingeführt wurde, können Grundversicherte ihr Spital grundsätzlich frei wählen. Im heutigen System der dualen Spitalfinanzierung beteiligen sich die öffentliche Hand (Kantone/Gemeinden) und die Krankenkassen getrennt und teilweise unabhängig voneinander an der Finanzierung des stationären Bereichs. Die Kantone zahlen mit ihren Steuereinnahmen 55 Prozent der stationären Kosten, 45 Prozent werden von den Krankenversicherern über Prämien vergütet.

Mit diesem System ergeben sich jedoch Fehlanreize in der Behandlungswahl: Da die Kantone 55 Prozent der Kosten im stationären Bereich übernehmen und nur 45 Prozent davon durch Krankenversicherer und damit durch die Prämienzahlenden vergütet werden, ist die Wahl einer stationären Leistung für die Versicherer attraktiver. Denn ambulante Behandlungen – die oft medizinisch möglich und kostengünstiger sind – werden zu 100 Prozent über Prämien finanziert. Mit der einheitlichen Finanzierung von stationären und ambulanten Gesundheitsdienstleistungen, die zurzeit im Parlament beraten wird, würden diese Fehlanreize wegfallen. Es würde attraktiver, die oft medizinisch gleichwertige ambulante Behandlung zu wählen, was sich positiv auf die Gesamtkosten auswirken würde.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen