Exhaustion regimes - Interpharma

Leader in research and development

Exhaustion regimes

The legal framework must be developed further to ensure that innovations are adequately protected.

Overview Patents Exhaustion regimes

In patent law, exhaustion refers to the geographical scope of patent protection. National exhaustion means that the protected rights of a product are exhausted in the country in which it is placed on the market, thus making parallel imports illegal. Regional exhaustion enables patented goods to be traded freely within a predetermined economic area, which means that parallel imports are permitted within this area. International exhaustion means that parallel imports are permitted worldwide.

When talking about parallel imports, the term “exhaustion” needs to be understood in the context of rights protected under intellectual property law. Intellectual property law confers on the owner of a product the exclusive right to determine when, in which country, at what price and in what manner they wish to place the product on the market for the first time. These rights are exhausted, i.e. used up, when the owner or someone else with the owner’s permission places the product on the market for the first time. A distinction is made between national and international exhaustion. Under national exhaustion, the protected rights are not affected within the country if the protected product is placed on the market abroad. Parallel imports are not permitted. Under international exhaustion, the owner of the protected rights cannot forbid a parallel import if the protected product was placed on the market abroad. International exhaustion has applied to trademark protection in Switzerland for many years, while patent protection has been governed by unilateral regional exhaustion in the European Economic Area since 2008.

Contrary to popular belief, parallel imports of medicinal products are already possible today in some instances. This is true of medicinal products that are no longer protected by a patent, and these account for a substantial proportion of the pharmaceutical market today. Parallel imports of patented products with prices set by the state are not permitted.

Switzerland goes further than many other countries in allowing some parallel imports. Unrestricted parallel trading is currently possible in a number of emerging economies in Latin America and South East Asia, but no industrialised country has implemented this exhaustion regime. The EU permits parallel imports only within the internal market. In this respect it is closed to third countries, a situation that applies not only to patents but to all intellectual property rights.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Erschöpfungsregimes - Interpharma

Führend in Forschung & Entwicklung

Erschöpfungsregimes

Die rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen müssen so weiterentwickelt werden, dass Innovationen ausreichend geschützt sind.

Übersicht Patente Erschöpfungsregimes

Die Erschöpfung im Patentrecht bezeichnet die geographische Ausdehnung des Patentschutzes. Nationale Erschöpfung bedeutet, dass sich die Schutzrechte eines Produktes in demjenigen Land erschöpfen, in dem es in Verkehr gebracht wird, womit Parallelimporte verboten sind. Mit der regionalen Erschöpfung können patentgeschützte Güter innerhalb eines festgelegten Wirtschaftsraums frei gehandelt werden, womit Parallelimporte innerhalb dieses Raumes erlaubt sind. Die internationale Erschöpfung bezeichnet die weltweite Freigabe von Parallelimporten.

Im Zusammenhang mit Parallelimporten ist der Begriff der «Erschöpfung» im Rahmen der Schutzrechte des Immaterialgüterrechts zu verstehen. Der Inhaber eines Produkts hat durch das Immaterialgüterrecht das exklusive Recht zu bestimmen, zu welchem Zeitpunkt, in welchem Land, zu welchem Preis und auf welche Art er sein Produkt das erste Mal in Verkehr bringen will. Diese Schutzrechte sind erschöpft, d.h. verbraucht, wenn der Inhaber oder mit seiner Zustimmung ein Anderer das Produkt das erste Mal in Verkehr gebracht hat. Unterschieden wird zwischen der nationalen und der internationalen Erschöpfung. Bei der nationalen Erschöpfung sind die Schutzrechte im Inland nicht betroffen, wenn das geschützte Produkt im Ausland in Verkehr gebracht wird. Parallelimporte sind nicht möglich. Bei der internationalen Erschöpfung kann der Schutzrechtsinhaber einen Parallelimport nicht verbieten, wenn das geschützte Produkt im Ausland in Verkehr gebracht wurde. Beim Markenschutz gilt in der Schweiz seit längerem die internationale Erschöpfung während beim Patentschutz seit 2008 die einseitige regionale Erschöpfung im europäischen Wirtschaftsraum gilt.

Im Gegensatz zur landläufigen Meinung sind Parallelimporte von Medikamenten bereits heute teilweise möglich. Dies betrifft die nicht mehr patentgeschützten Medikamente, die eine erheblichen Teil des Medikamentenmarktes ausmachen. Der Parallelimport von patentgeschützten Produkten, deren Preise staatlich administriert sind, ist nicht zulässig.

Die Schweiz geht mit dieser Teilzulassung von Parallelimporten weiter als viele andere Länder. Die Möglichkeit des uneingeschränkten Parallelhandels besteht heute in verschiedenen Schwellenländern Lateinamerikas und Südostasiens, während kein Industrieland dieses Erschöpfungssystem implementiert hat. Die EU erlaubt Parallelimporte nur innerhalb des Binnenmarktes. Gegenüber Drittstaaten schottet sie sich ab, wobei dies nicht nur für das Patentrecht gilt, sondern für sämtliche Immaterialgüterrechte.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen