Real world data - Interpharma

Leader in research and development

Real world data

Due to the increasing importance of health data, especially real world data, it is crucial that Switzerland invests in building a health data ecosystem.

Overview Artificial intelligence Real world data Data transparency

The enormous progress that has been made in digitalisation has opened up access to medical data which, in contrast to data from conventional clinical trials, are generated in the patient’s everyday setting. This is known as real world data (RWD).

RWD have a wide range of uses, from assessing the safety and efficacy of therapies and risk-benefit assessments for certain diseases, to complex diagnoses and conclusions about patterns and striking features in specific patient groups.

The recruitment and participation of patients in clinical trials can also be facilitated by RWD. Hospitals can select suitable participants faster and better using their own patient data. Smartphone apps and wearables help patients to record and transmit their health data wherever they are, thus reducing the number of hospital visits.

Creating fair conditions

The use of RWD in research can only be beneficial, however, if the data are of high quality, obtained under defined conditions and evaluated carefully. Here, there is a need to create a framework that ensures fair compensation for the major effort involved in generating and curating this kind of data and for the innovations that RWD make possible. Data intended to promote health should be widely available. At the same time, compliance with data protection regulations must be ensured. The effort involved in generating, curating and making the data available must be rewarded and the necessary awareness of the different types of RWD must be created. On the one hand, there are RWD that are obtained almost as a by-product under uncontrolled conditions, and on the other, there are RWD that need to fulfil very high quality requirements. RWD obtained specifically for clinical authorisations should be accorded protection similar to that given to conventional clinical data.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Real World Data - Interpharma

Führend in Forschung & Entwicklung

Real World Data

Aufgrund der zunehmenden Bedeutung von Gesundheitsdaten, insbesondere Realweltdaten, ist es entscheidend, dass die Schweiz in den Aufbau eines Gesundheitsdatenökosystems investiert.

Übersicht Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) Real World Data Datentransparenz

Die enormen Fortschritte bei der Digitalisierung haben den Zugang zu medizinischen Daten eröffnet, die im Unterschied zu herkömmlichen klinischen Studien im Alltag der Patienten generiert werden, den sogenannten Real World Data (RWD).

Die Anwendung von RWD deckt einen weiten Bereich ab, von der Bewertung von Sicherheit und Effektivität von Therapien über Risiko-Nutzen-Abwägungen für bestimmte Krankheiten bis hin zu komplexen Diagnosen und Aussagen zu Mustern und Auffälligkeiten bei spezifischen Patientengruppen.

Die Rekrutierung und Teilnahme von Patienten an klinischen Studien kann durch RWD ebenfalls vereinfacht werden. Kliniken können geeignete Studienteilnehmer anhand ihrer gesammelten Patientendaten besser und schneller auswählen. Smartphone-Apps und Wearables unterstützen den Patienten bei der ortsunabhängigen Erfassung und Übermittlung von Gesundheitsdaten, was die Anzahl von Klinikbesuchen reduziert.

Faire Rahmenbedingungen schaffen

Die nutzbringende Anwendung von RWD in der Forschung ist jedoch nur mit qualitativ hochwertigen Daten möglich, die unter definierten Bedingungen gewonnen und sorgfältig ausgewertet werden. Hier sind Rahmenbedingungen zu schaffen, die einen fairen Ausgleich für den hohen Aufwand zur Generierung und Kuratierung solcher Daten und die damit ermöglichten Innovationen gewährleisten. Daten zur Förderung der Gesundheit sollten breit zugänglich sein. Dabei muss jedoch sichergestellt werden, dass Datenschutzregulierungen eingehalten werden. Der Aufwand für Generierung, Kuratierung und Bereitstellung der Daten muss honoriert werden, wobei es ein Bewusstsein für die unterschiedlichen Arten von RWD zu schaffen gilt: Es gibt einerseits RWD, die quasi nebenbei unter unkontrollierten Bedingungen gewonnen werden, und andererseits RWD, die sehr hohen Qualitätsanforderungen genügen müssen. RWD, die gezielt für klinische Zulassungen erhoben werden, sollten einem vergleichbaren Schutz unterstellt werden, wie er für herkömmliche klinische Daten gilt.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen