Data transparency - Interpharma

Leader in research and development

Data transparency

Due to the increasing importance of health data, especially real world data, it is crucial that Switzerland invests in building a health data ecosystem.

Overview Artificial intelligence Real world data Data transparency

The data collected by pharmaceutical companies in the course of clinical trials and sent to the authorities for authorisation purposes are protected and covered by strict data protection regulations. This is the only way to ensure that patients’ privacy is adequately protected. The regulatory authorities use the submitted data to examine the benefit-risk profile of a new medicinal product and to grant authorisation if the result is positive.

In recent years, there has been growing discussion of the disclosure of clinical data relevant for authorisation so that not only the regulatory authorities but also other scientists can examine the benefit-risk profile of a medicine. However, this raises a number of problems. There is a danger that study participants could be re-identified, for example through social media. This would undermine the protection of individual privacy, leading to a reduction in people’s willingness to participate in clinical trials and a consequent negative impact on the introduction of new, effective therapies. Secondly, the integrity of the regulatory authorities would be undermined. These authorities assess the benefit-risk profile of new medicines. The consequences (for the authorities and the companies concerned) would be correspondingly severe if an authorisation decision had to be corrected subsequently. Thirdly, clinical data may also contain confidential commercial data that require protection in order to protect companies against “free riders” and ensure that they can continue to invest in the development of new medicines and indications.

Data transparency guidelines

Against this background, the pharmaceutical industry supports efforts to achieve greater transparency. For instance, the European pharmaceutical industry association EFPIA has agreed joint data transparency guidelines with the US association PhRMA that foresee the following measures:

  • Clinical data and study protocols for medicinal products authorised in the EU and the USA will be made available to scientists working on justifiable research projects. Requests for this information will be examined by a Scientific Review Board to which external experts also belong. The requests and the identity of the requester will be made public. The scientists must undertake not to pass on the data to third parties and to submit their studies for peer review (assessment by other scientists). 
  • The summary of the clinical trial reports sent to the regulatory authorities will be published.
  • The patients involved in the trial will be provided with a summary of the trial results.
  • Irrespective of the outcome, all industry-funded trials will be published in a suitable form.

Obligation to register

Years ago, the research-based pharmaceutical companies all over the world undertook to register all their clinical trials in study registries. This voluntary obligation also applies in Europe. In Switzerland, there has additionally been a legal obligation to register trials since the Human Research Act came into force in 2014. According to this obligation, all clinical trials performed in Switzerland must be registered in a study register recognised by the World Health Organization (WHO) or the official register in the USA, clinicaltrials.gov, before they begin. In addition, the trial must be registered in the supplementary database operated by the Confederation.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Datentransparenz - Interpharma

Führend in Forschung & Entwicklung

Datentransparenz

Aufgrund der zunehmenden Bedeutung von Gesundheitsdaten, insbesondere Realweltdaten, ist es entscheidend, dass die Schweiz in den Aufbau eines Gesundheitsdatenökosystems investiert.

Übersicht Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) Real World Data Datentransparenz

Die Daten, die von den Pharmaunternehmen im Rahmen klinischer Studien erhoben und für die Zulassung an die Behörden übermittelt werden, sind geschützt und unterstehen strengen Datenschutzregeln. Nur so kann garantiert werden, dass die Privatsphäre der Patienten ausreichend geschützt ist. Die Zulassungsbehörden prüfen aufgrund der eingereichten Daten das Nutzen-Risiko-Verhältnis eines neuen Medikaments und verfügen bei einem positiven Verhältnis die Zulassung.

In den letzten Jahren wird vermehrt die Offenlegung zulassungsrelevanter klinischen Daten diskutiert, damit nicht nur die Zulassungsbehörden, sondern auch andere Wissenschaftler das Nutzen-Risiko-Profil eines Medikaments überprüfen können. Dies ist allerdings mit einigen Problematiken verbunden. So besteht die Gefahr, dass Studienteilnehmer re-identifiziert werden können (etwa über Social Media). Damit würde der Schutz der Privatsphäre untergraben und damit würde sich auch die Teilnahmebereitschaft an klinischen Studien reduzieren – mit negativen Auswirkungen auf die Einführung neuer, wirksamer Therapien. Zweitens würde die Integrität der Zulassungsbehörden untergraben. Diese wägen das Nutzen-/Risiko-Profil neuer Medikamente ab. Entsprechend gewichtig wären die Konsequenzen (für die Behörde wie für die betroffene Firma), wenn ein Zulassungsentscheid nachträglich korrigiert werden muss. Drittens beinhalten klinische Daten teilweise auch vertrauliche kommerzielle Daten, deren Schutz wichtig ist, da die Firmen nur so vor Trittbrettfahrern geschützt und weiterhin in der Lage sind, in die Entwicklung neuer Medikamente und Indikationen zu investieren.

Richtlinien für Datentransparenz

Vor diesem Hintergrund unterstützt die pharmazeutische Industrie Bestrebungen für mehr Transparenz. So hat der europäische Pharmaverband EFPIA zusammen mit dem US-amerikanischen Verband PhRMA gemeinsame Richtlinien für Datentransparenz verabschiedet, die folgende Massnahmen beinhalten:

  • Klinische Daten und Studienprotokolle für in der EU und den USA zugelassene Medikamente werden bei begründeten Forschungsvorhaben an Wissenschaftler ausgehändigt. Diesbezügliche Anfragen werden von einem Scientific Review Board, dem auch externe Experten angehören, geprüft. Die Anfragen und die Identität der Anfrager werden öffentlich gemacht. Die Wissenschaftler müssen sich verpflichten, die Daten nicht an Dritte weiterzugeben und ihre Studien einer sogenannten «peer review» (Begutachtung durch andere Wissenschaftler) zu unterstellen. 
  • Die Zusammenfassung der klinischen Studienreporte, welche an die Zulassungsbehörden gesendet werden, wird veröffentlicht.
  • Den an der Studie teilnehmenden Patienten wird eine Zusammenfassung der Studienergebnisse zugänglich gemacht.
  • Unabhängig vom Resultat werden alle industriefinanzierten Studien in geeigneter Form publiziert.

Registrierungspflicht

Schon vor langer Zeit haben sich die forschenden pharmazeutischen Unternehmen weltweit verpflichtet, alle klinischen Studien in Studienregistern zu registrieren. Auch in Europa gilt diese Selbstverpflichtung. In der Schweiz gilt seit dem Inkrafttreten des Humanforschungsgesetzes 2014 zudem eine gesetzliche Pflicht zur Studienregistrierung. Alle in der Schweiz durchgeführten klinischen Studien müssen demnach vor dem Studienstart in einem von der Weltgesundheitsorganisation WHO anerkannten Studienregister oder dem offiziellen US-amerikanischen Register clinicaltrials.gov registriert werden. Zusätzlich muss die Studie in der ergänzenden Datenbank des Bundes eingetragen werden.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen