Clinical research abroad - Interpharma

Leader in research and development

Clinical research abroad

The generation of clinical data is an expensive and time-consuming undertaking – and it is facing new scientific and regulatory challenges.

Overview Clinical research in Switzerland Clinical research abroad

Nowadays, much clinical research takes place simultaneously in several countries. The majority of the clinical trials that form the basis of authorisation dossiers for the therapeutic products agency Swissmedic are carried out in the USA and the EU.

The number of clinical trials performed in countries with an emerging economy has increased in recent years, for both regulatory and medical reasons. In some cases, there are medical advantages to running a trial in different populations. Moreover, some diseases only occur in certain parts of the world, meaning that the corresponding medicinal products can only be tested there. The improved medical infrastructure, with increasingly well-trained healthcare professionals, also plays an important role.

Globally valid international standards

No matter where a clinical trial is carried out, the international standards of Good Clinical Practice (GCP) developed by the International Conference on Harmonisation (ICH) and based on the Declaration of Helsinki always apply. In Switzerland, only authorisation dossiers containing GCP-compliant clinical data may be submitted to Swissmedic, the regulatory authority. The pharmaceutical company is required to demonstrate that its clinical trials have been carried out in accordance with GCP standards. Otherwise, the trials will not be accepted as the basis of a product authorisation and are thus useless. A similar rule – known as the equivalence rule – applies in the EU, where the European Medicines Agency EMA decides on the authorisation of medicinal products.

Among other things, the GCP rules require the following: written informed consent must be obtained from every participant, there must be no coercion to take part, the relationship between benefit and risk for participants must be favourable, and every trial must be reviewed by an independent Ethics Committee before it can be carried out.

In addition to the GCP requirements, clinical trials are also governed by the International Ethical Guidelines for Biomedical Research Involving Human Subjects compiled by the Council for International Organizations of Medical Sciences (CIOMS). Furthermore, the Convention on Human Rights and Biomedicine, also known as the Biomedicine Convention, has been in force since 1997. It establishes minimum standards for the protection of human rights and dignity in the context of biology and medicine. The Convention entered into force for Switzerland in 2008. In 2005, the Council of Europe also published the Additional Protocol to the Biomedicine Convention; this covers research activities involving interventions on human beings. The basis for ratifying this Convention in Switzerland was created by the new Article concerning human research in the Constitution and the Human Research Act.

Further-reaching voluntary undertakings

Many pharmaceutical companies go even further and have developed their own guidelines, according to which clinical trials may only be carried out in countries in which the medicinal products in question will be marketed, provided they are shown to be safe and effective. In addition, access to vital medicines is guaranteed beyond the end of the trial. This enables the population in the region to benefit directly from these clinical trials.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Klinische Forschung im Ausland - Interpharma

Führend in Forschung & Entwicklung

Klinische Forschung im Ausland

Die Generierung klinischer Daten ist zeit- und kostenintensiv – und sie steht vor neuen wissenschaftlichen und regulatorischen Herausforderungen.

Übersicht Klinische Forschung in der Schweiz Klinische Forschung im Ausland

Heute findet klinische Forschung vielfach länderübergreifend statt. Dabei wird der Grossteil der klinischen Studien, welche die Basis der Zulassungsdossiers für die Arzneimittelbehörde Swissmedic sind, in den USA und der EU durchgeführt.

Auch in Schwellenländern hat die Anzahl klinischer Studien in den letzten Jahren zugenommen. Dies hat sowohl regulatorische als auch medizinische Gründe: In bestimmten Fällen kann es medizinisch sinnvoll sein, eine Studie in verschiedenen Populationen durchzuführen. Weiter treten gewisse Krankheiten nur in bestimmten Weltregionen auf, so dass Medikamente dagegen nur dort getestet werden können. Nicht zuletzt spielt die verbesserte medizinische Infrastruktur mit immer besser ausgebildetem medizinischem Personal eine wichtige Rolle.

Global gültige internationale Standards

Unabhängig vom Standort der Durchführung einer klinischen Studie gelten die internationalen Standards der Good Clinical Practice (GCP) der International Conference on Harmonisation (ICH), die auf der Deklaration von Helsinki beruhen. In der Schweiz können bei der Zulassungsbehörde Swissmedic nur Zulassungsdossiers mit klinischen Daten, die GCP-konform erhoben wurden, eingereicht werden. Das Pharmaunternehmen muss nachweisen, dass die klinischen Versuche gemäss GCP durchgeführt worden sind. Andernfalls werden die Studien nicht als Grundlage für eine Zulassung anerkannt und wären somit nutzlos. Eine ähnliche Regel – die sogenannte «equivalence rule» – gilt auch bei der Europäischen Zulassungsbehörde EMA, die Zulassungen für die EU verfügt.

Die GCP-Regeln schreiben unter anderem vor, dass von jedem Teilnehmer eine Einwilligung zur Studienteilnahme vorliegen muss, dass es keinen Teilnahmezwang geben darf, dass Nutzen und Risiko für die Teilnehmenden in einem günstigen Verhältnis stehen müssen und dass es vor jeder Studie zwingend einer unabhängigen Überprüfung durch eine Ethikkommission bedarf.

Neben der GCP gelten auch die ethischen Richtlinien für die biomedizinische Forschung am Menschen, die das Council for International Organizations of Medical Sciences (CIOMS) zusammengestellt hat. Seit 1997 ist ausserdem das Übereinkommen über Menschenrechte und Biomedizin, die sogenannte Biomedizinkonvention, in Kraft. Sie legt Minimalstandards zum Schutz der Menschenrechte und der Menschenwürde im Hinblick auf die Anwendung von Biologie und Medizin fest. Die Konvention ist für die Schweiz 2008 in Kraft getreten. Im Jahr 2005 hat der Europarat zudem das Zusatzprotokoll zur Biomedizinkonvention «Forschung am Menschen» veröffentlicht. Die Grundlagen zur Unterzeichnung wurden mit dem neuen Verfassungsartikel zur Humanforschung und dem Humanforschungsgesetz geschaffen.

Weitergehende Selbstverpflichtungen

Viele Pharmaunternehmen gehen noch weiter und haben eigene Richtlinien, denen zufolge klinische Versuche nur in Ländern durchgeführt werden, in denen die entsprechenden Medikamente – sofern sie sich als sicher und wirksam erweisen – auf den Markt gebracht werden. Zudem wird der Zugang zu überlebenswichtigen Medikamenten über die Studie hinaus bis deren Vermarktung garantiert. Damit profitiert die Bevölkerung in der Region direkt von den klinischen Versuchen.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen