The clinical phase - Interpharma

Leader in research and development

The clinical phase

The investment and time required to develop a new medicinal product is substantial – and success depends on many factors.

Overview The first steps towards a new medicinal product The preclinical phase The clinical phase Authorisation and product launch

Every clinical trial requires the approval of the competent national authority or authorities – in Switzerland, this is Swissmedic, the regulatory authority – and the Ethics Committees. Ethics Committees consist of experienced doctors, theologians, legal experts and lay people. They consider (on the basis of previous trials, etc.) whether and under what conditions the planned trial can take place from an ethical, medical and legal standpoint. They pay particular attention to protection of the trial participants. They also examine whether the medical facilities and doctors who will be involved in the trial are suitable.

Phase I – First-in-human investigation of tolerability

In this phase of drug development, small amounts of the new active substance are administered to several dozen healthy subjects who volunteer to take part in the trial. Since they are healthy, it is not possible to draw any conclusions about the efficacy of the new substance at this stage. The focus of this phase is whether the predictions in terms of tolerability, uptake, distribution, transformation and excretion that were made following the animal studies can be confirmed in humans. The reactions that occur at different dosages provide information about side effects in the human body and suitable dosages.

The data generated in this test phase are used to calculate the most suitable delivery form for the new medicine, such as tablets, capsules or drops. Once the best form for the product has been identified, production can start on a larger scale.

Phase II – Clinical trials of efficacy

Pharmaceutical companies and clinical research organisations cooperate with hospitals, such as university hospitals and other medical facilities, to enable sick patients to be included at this stage in the further development of new medicinal products. The doctors treating them inform them about the opportunity to take part in a trial and, if they are interested, look after them while they are receiving the study treatment. An average of 100 to 500 patients take part in a trial in this phase. It investigates the efficacy and tolerability of the medicine and also establishes the optimum dosage.

The most reliable way to make the necessary observations is to divide the patients into two groups. One group is given the new medicine, while the other group is given the standard treatment or a placebo – a medicine containing no active ingredient. Patients are assigned to the two groups by the doctors involved in the trial using a randomisation process; this means that patients are assigned by chance, not design. There are trials, known as double-blind trials, in which neither the patients nor the doctors know who is in each group. In these trials, the packs of medicine are identified solely by code numbers that are entered in the patients’ records. This enables the analysts to determine at a later stage who was given an active medicine and who was given a placebo. While the patients are being treated there is no way of knowing who is in which group. This approach is designed to prevent patients’ hopes and fears from influencing the effect of the medicine.

Phase III – Clinical tests to demonstrate treatment success

In this phase, the new medicine is tested in many thousands of patients to see if its tolerability and efficacy remain unchanged when it is used in a very large number of different people. In trials, it is frequently observed that a medicine works differently or not at all in different people. This is usually the result of the patient’s individual characteristics such as blood parameters or particular genetic features. Indicators like this that affect the action of medicinal products are known as biomarkers. Studies have identified certain characteristics in humans that are now known to affect the action of some medicines. Biomarker tests can be used to identify those patients who respond particularly well to a therapy.

In addition to testing efficacy in a large population, Phase III trials also investigate interactions with other medicines. At the end of the clinical phase, the results are evaluated against previously defined endpoints that describe the effect that the new medicine is expected to have. In infectious diseases, for example, the goal is for the infection to subside completely; in chronic diseases it is hoped that medication will extend the periods between exacerbations for as long as possible.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Führend in Forschung & Entwicklung

Klinische Phase

Der Investitions- und Zeitaufwand zur Entwicklung eines neuen Medikaments ist erheblich - und der Erfolg von vielen Faktoren abhängig.

Übersicht Erste Schritte zum neuen Medikament Präklinische Phase Klinische Phase Zulassung und Markteinführung

Für jede klinische Studie ist die Zustimmung der zuständigen nationalen Behörde(n) – in der Schweiz ist dies die Zulassunsgbehörde Swissmedic – und der Ethikkommissionen nötig. Ethik-Kommissionen bestehen aus erfahrenen Medizinern, Theologen, Juristen und Laien. Sie wägen (u.a. gestützt auf die vorangegangenen Untersuchungen) ab, ob und unter welchen Auflagen die geplante Studie aus ethischer, medizinischer und rechtlicher Sicht durchgeführt werden kann. Sie achten dabei insbesondere auf den Schutz der Studienteilnehmer. Sie prüfen auch, ob die medizinischen Einrichtungen und die Ärzte, die an der Studie mitwirken wollen, für die Studie geeignet sind.

Phase I – Erste Erprobung am Menschen zur Prüfung der Verträglichkeit

In dieser Phase der Medikamentenentwicklung werden geringe Mengen des neuen Wirkstoffes an einige Dutzend gesunde Freiwillige (Probanden) verabreicht. Da diese gesund sind, lässt sich hier noch keine Aussage über die Wirksamkeit der neuen Substanz machen. Vielmehr wird in dieser Phase geprüft, ob sich die Vorhersagen aus den Tierversuchen hinsichtlich Verträglichkeit, Aufnahme, Verteilung, Umwandlung und Ausscheidung beim Menschen bestätigen. Anhand ihrer Reaktionen bei unterschiedlichen Dosierungen werden zudem die Nebenwirkungen im menschlichen Organismus sowie geeignete Dosierungen deutlich.

Aus den gesammelten Daten dieser Testphase errechnet man die geeignete Verabreichungsform des neuen Medikaments wie Tabletten, Kapseln oder Tropfen. Ist die für das neue Medikament beste Form gefunden, beginnt die Produktion in grösseren Mengen.

Phase II – Klinische Tests zur Erprobung der Wirksamkeit

Durch die Zusammenarbeit von Pharmafirmen und klinischen Forschungsorganisationen mit Kliniken wie zum Beispiel Universitätsspitälern und anderen medizinischen Einrichtungen können in dieser Phase erste erkrankte Patienten in die weitere Entwicklung neuer Medikamente mit einbezogen werden. Ihre behandelnden Ärzte weisen sie auf diese Möglichkeit hin und betreuen sie bei Interesse während der Behandlung im Rahmen der Studie. Im Durchschnitt nehmen 100-500 Patientinnen und Patienten an einer Studie dieser Phase teil. Neben der Wirksamkeit des Medikaments werden auch die Verträglichkeit und die optimale Dosierung festgestellt.

Diese Beobachtungen können am zuverlässigsten gemacht werden, wenn die Patienten in zwei Gruppen aufgeteilt werden. Die eine Gruppe erhält dabei das neue Medikament, die andere das Standardpräparat oder ein Placebo – ein Medikament ohne Wirkstoff. Dabei werden die Gruppen von den betreuenden Ärzten nach dem Zufallsprinzip eingeteilt, die Zuteilung wird randomisiert. Es gibt Studien, in denen weder die Patienten noch die Ärzte wissen, wer welcher Gruppe angehört. Diese Studien nennt man Doppelblindstudien. Dabei sind die Medikamentenverpackungen lediglich mit Codenummern versehen, die in die Patientenakten eingetragen werden, um bei der Auswertung nachvollziehen zu können, wer das Medikament und wer ein Placebo erhalten hat. Während der Behandlung ist nicht auszumachen, zu welcher Gruppe die Patientin oder der Patient gehört. Durch dieses Vorgehen soll vermieden werden, dass Hoffnungen oder Befürchtungen der Patienten die Wirkung des Medikaments beeinflussen.

Phase III – Klinische Tests zum Belegen von Behandlungserfolgen

In dieser Phase wird das neue Medikament an vielen tausend Patienten erprobt, um zu sehen, ob die Verträglichkeit und Wirksamkeit auch bei sehr vielen unterschiedlichen Menschen gleich bleibt. Häufig wird in Studien beobachtet, dass ein Medikament bei unterschiedlichen Menschen anders oder gar nicht wirkt. Dies liegt meist an individuellen Eigenschaften des Patienten wie Blutwerten oder genetische Besonderheiten. Solche Indikatoren, welche die Wirkung von Medikamenten beeinflussen, nennt man Biomarker. Mittlerweile sind durch Studien bereits für einige Medikamente bestimmte Merkmale im Menschen bekannt, die die jeweilige Wirkung beeinflussen. Anhand der Biomarker-Tests kann man die Patienten finden, welche besonders gut auf die Therapie ansprechen. Neben dieser Überprüfung der Wirksamkeit in der breiten Masse werden ausserdem Wechselwirkungen mit anderen Medikamenten untersucht. Am Ende der klinischen Phase steht die Auswertung nach zuvor gesetzten «Endpunkten». Diese geben den gewünschten Effekt des neuen Medikaments vor. Bei infektiösen Krankheiten ist beispielsweise das vollständige Abklingen der Infektion oder bei chronischen Krankheiten eine möglichst lange Spanne zwischen den einzelnen Schüben das Ziel.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen