Regulation of medicinal products - Interpharma

Putting the focus on patients

Regulation of medicinal products

The process of manufacturing a medicinal product involves investments and risks.

Overview Regulation of medicinal products Use of medicinal products Biologicals and biosimilars List of pharmaceutical specialities Paediatric medicinal products Generics Parallel imports The Pharma Cooperation Code

The Swiss medicinal products market is heavily regulated in terms of both the authorisation and pricing of prescription and reimbursable medicines and distribution channels.

After a medicine has been authorised by Swissmedic, the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) decides whether to include it in the List of pharmaceutical specialities (LS), thus making it reimbursable by the statutory health insurance providers. The fundamental criteria here are effectiveness, appropriateness and cost-effectiveness. The decision on inclusion is taken by the FOPH at the recommendation of the Federal Medicines Commission (FMC). Factors that are taken into account are the added therapeutic value, i.e. the action of a medicinal product in comparison with products that have already been authorised in the same indication, and the price situation in other countries. The FOPH then determines the binding maximum reimbursement price for a medicine.

Medicines are also divided into dispensing categories by the regulatory authority Swissmedic. Depending on the category to which it is assigned, a medicine can be sold by pharmacies, self-dispensing doctors (who are authorised to dispense medicinal products directly to their patients), hospitals or drugstores. Pharmacies are the major distribution channel, accounting for over 50 percent of sales. The cantonal regulations also play a major role. Cantons with a high proportion of self-dispensing doctors generally have a substantially lower density of pharmacies than other cantons. There is a particularly high number of self-dispensing doctors in the German-speaking part of Switzerland (Baselland, Zurich).

Market development

In 2020, the Swiss pharmaceutical market had a volume of CHF 6.3 billion at ex-factory prices. This represents a slight increase of 2.9% compared with 2019. Sales of patent-protected medicines in the cash-strapped segment grew by +4.6% compared to 2019, while the number of packs sold declined slightly by -1.8% to 183 million packs in 2020.

Once a patent has expired, other manufacturers can also produce and sell medicines containing the active substance used in the original product. These medicinal products are known as generics. The volume of reimbursable generics sold in 2020 totalled CHF 760 million by value.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Regulierung von Arzneimitteln - Interpharma

Der Patient im Mittelpunkt

Regulierung von Arzneimitteln

Der Prozess zur Herstellung eines Medikaments ist mit Investitionen und Risiken verbunden.

Übersicht Regulierung von Arzneimitteln Anwendung von Arzneimitteln Biologika & Biosimilars Spezialitäten­liste Kinderarzneimittel Generika Parallelimporte Pharmakodex

Der Medikamentenmarkt in der Schweiz unterliegt starken Regulierungen, sowohl im Bereich der Zulassung und der Preisfestsetzungen bei rezept- und kassenpflichtigen Medikamenten als auch bei den Absatzkanälen.

Nachdem ein Medikament von Swissmedic zugelassen worden ist, entscheidet das Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG), ob das Medikament auf die Spezialitätenliste (SL) aufgenommen und damit von der obligatorischen Krankenversicherung (Krankenkasse) vergütet wird. Massgebend sind seine Wirksamkeit, seine Zweckmässigkeit und seine Wirtschaftlichkeit. Darüber entscheidet das BAG auf Empfehlung der Eidgenössischen Arzneimittelkommission (EAK). Berücksichtigt werden der therapeutische Mehrnutzen, also die Wirkung eines Medikaments im Vergleich zu bereits zugelassenen Medikamenten derselben Indikation, aber auch die Preissituation im Ausland. Das BAG legt danach den maximalen Vergütungspreis eines Medikaments verbindlich fest.

Zudem werden die Medikamente von der Zulassungsbehörde Swissmedic in Abgabekategorien eingeteilt. Je nach Zuteilung der Kategorie kann das Medikament über Apotheken, SD-Ärzte (Ärzte, die ihren Patienten/-innen, direkt Medikamente abgeben dürfen) Spitäler oder Drogerien verkauft werden. Die Apotheken sind der stärkste Absatzkanal mit über 50 Prozent. Entscheidend sind hierbei auch die kantonalen Bestimmungen. Die Kantone mit einem hohen Anteil der SD-Ärzte weisen gegenüber den anderen Kantonen in der Regel eine deutliche niedrigere Apothekendichte auf. Vor allem in der deutschsprachigen Schweiz gibt es viele SD-Ärzte (Baselland, Zürich).

Die Entwicklung des Marktes

Der Medikamentenmarkt in der Schweiz erzielte 2020 ein Volumen von 6.3 Milliarden Franken zu Fabrikabgabepreisen. Dies entspricht einem leichten Zuwachs von 2.9% im Vergleich zum Jahr 2019. Der Umsatz mit patentrechtlich geschützten Medikamenten entwickelte sich im kassenpflichtigen Segment um +4.6% im Vergleich zu 2019. Die Anzahl der verkauften Packungen war mit -1.8% leicht rückläufig und liegt 2020 bei 183 Mio. Packungen.

Nach Patentablauf können andere Hersteller Medikamente mit dem Wirkstoff des Originalpräparates ebenfalls herstellen und verkaufen. Diese Medikamente nennt man Generika. Die kassenpflichtigen Generika erreichten im Jahr 2020 ein wertmässiges Volumen von 760 Millionen Franken.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen