The Pharma Cooperation Code - Interpharma

Putting the focus on patients

The Pharma Cooperation Code

The process of manufacturing a medicinal product involves investments and risks.

Overview Regulation of medicinal products Use of medicinal products Biologicals and biosimilars List of pharmaceutical specialities Paediatric medicinal products Generics Parallel imports The Pharma Cooperation Code

The Pharma Cooperation Code (PCC) that came into force in 2014 regulates relationships between pharmaceutical companies and healthcare professionals (particularly doctors, pharmacists, etc.), healthcare organisations (hospitals, research institutions, etc.) and patient-support organisations. The PCC was developed by the business association scienceindustries, which also oversees compliance with the Code.

The PCC requires companies to disclose the recipients of pecuniary benefits. These benefits include payments for consultancy or other services such as presentations, training events or scientific studies. The term also covers financial support for research and development in the healthcare sector and contributions by pharmaceutical companies towards the cost of attendance at events by professionals, a category that includes registration fees, travel expenses and accommodation. With few exceptions, pharmaceutical companies may no longer give gifts (neither cash nor material objects) to professionals, which is tantamount to a ban on gifts. Wherever possible, disclosure should be on an individual basis, with the aim of making it possible to identify which individual has received the benefit.

An obligation to disclose pecuniary benefits granted to patient-support organisations existed previously, and this was incorporated into the Pharma Cooperation Code.

The PCC brings Switzerland into line with common practice in Europe (EFPIA Code of Conduct) and the USA (Physician Payments Sunshine Act).

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Pharmakodex - Interpharma

Der Patient im Mittelpunkt

Pharmakodex

Der Prozess zur Herstellung eines Medikaments ist mit Investitionen und Risiken verbunden.

Übersicht Regulierung von Arzneimitteln Anwendung von Arzneimitteln Biologika & Biosimilars Spezialitäten­liste Kinderarzneimittel Generika Parallelimporte Pharmakodex

Der 2014 in Kraft getretene Pharma-Kooperations-Kodex regelt die Beziehungen zwischen den Pharmaunternehmen und Gesundheitsfachpersonen (insbesondere Ärztinnen und Ärzte, Apothekerinnen und Apotheker, etc.), Gesundheitsversorgungsorganisationen (Spitäler, Forschungsinstitutionen etc.) sowie Patientenorganisationen. Der Pharma-Kooperations-Kodex wurde von Scienceindustries erarbeitet, welche auch die Einhaltung der Kodizes beaufsichtigt.

Der Kodex verpflichtet die Unternehmen öffentlich zu machen, wem sie geldwerte Leistungen gezahlt haben. Dazu zählen einerseits Zahlungen für Beratungs- oder Dienstleistungen wie etwa Referate, Schulungen oder wissenschaftliche Studien. Andererseits fallen auch die finanzielle Unterstützung von Forschung und Entwicklung im Gesundheitsbereich darunter, sowie Beiträge von Pharmafirmen an die Kosten für die Teilnahme von Fachpersonen an Veranstaltungen wie etwa die Vergütung von Anmeldegebühren oder Beiträge an die Reise- und Unterkunftskosten. Pharmaunternehmen dürfen mit wenigen Ausnahmen keine Geschenke (weder in bar noch Sachwerte) an Fachpersonen mehr abgeben, was einem eigentlichen «Geschenkverbot» gleichkommt. Wenn immer möglich, soll die Offenlegung auf individueller Basis erfolgen. Es soll also nachvollziehbar sein, welcher konkreten Fachperson die Leistungen zugekommen sind.

Bereits vorher galt eine Offenlegungspflicht geldwerter Leistungen an Patientenorganisationen, die in den Pharma-Kooperations-Kodex übernommen wurde.

Die Schweiz vollzog mit dem Kodex die gängige Praxis in Europa (EFPIA-Kodex) und den USA (Physician Payments Sunshine Act).

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen