Parallel imports - Interpharma

Putting the focus on patients

Parallel imports

The process of manufacturing a medicinal product involves investments and risks.

Overview Regulation of medicinal products Use of medicinal products Biologicals and biosimilars List of pharmaceutical specialities Paediatric medicinal products Generics Parallel imports The Pharma Cooperation Code

The price of identical products with the same degree of intellectual property protection (e.g. a patent or trademark protection) can vary from one country to another. If price differences are big enough, distributors have an incentive to exploit this difference commercially: they purchase large quantities of a product in a low-price country, then import it and sell it in a high-price country. By doing so, the parallel importer is in competition with the manufacturer.

It is important to make a distinction between trademark protection and patent protection: trademark protection is primarily protection of the product name conferred on the manufacturer that also protects consumers. A trademark provides protection against imitations. If you pay a high price for a Rolex, a Lacoste T-shirt or a handbag from Louis Vuitton, you want to be sure that you’re buying the original. In contrast, patent protection protects only against competition. A patent confers on the discoverer a time-limited exclusive right to exploit the discovery commercially, thus creating an incentive to invest in research and development. This protection against competition is generally more comprehensive but, unlike a trademark, lasts only for a limited period of time. Medicinal products lose their patent protection between 10 and a maximum of 15 years after authorisation.

Patent law

The legislation governing patents ensures that the patenting of discoveries does not lead to the creation of unilateral monopolies or dependencies and does not hinder research. In return for the patent protection that has been granted, the holder is required to disclose the discovery when the patent is applied for and to explain it in a way that is evident to a specialist in the field. Because of this obligation, the interested public is able to find out the current status of the research and to discuss the pros and cons of the possible commercial use of a specific discovery. It is possible to use the discovery for research purposes without restriction, despite its being patented (this is known as the research privilege), and the same applies to private use. Compulsory licences, which are mandated by law, encourage patent holders to grant licences voluntarily. After the period of patent protection has expired, anyone can use the discovery (commercially) without restriction. Patent law thus establishes a balance between the interests of the patent holder, other parties involved in research and the public.

Parallel imports of patented goods for which prices on the domestic market have been set by the government are not permitted. This means that medicinal products cannot be the subject of parallel importing.  

The pharmaceuticals market: state regulation – differentiated regulation

The dynamic of the pharmaceuticals market makes a very important contribution to Switzerland’s innovative strength. This position and this strength should not be weakened by parallel imports of products for which prices are regulated. Switzerland needs the substantial contribution made by the pharmaceutical industry.

  • The parallel importer, who creates little added value, is the only beneficiary of parallel imports.
  • Parallel imports make it easier for counterfeit medicines to find their way onto the market.
  • Parallel imports can also cause considerable difficulties in terms of a country’s provision with medicines.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Parallelimporte - Interpharma

Der Patient im Mittelpunkt

Parallelimporte

Der Prozess zur Herstellung eines Medikaments ist mit Investitionen und Risiken verbunden.

Übersicht Regulierung von Arzneimitteln Anwendung von Arzneimitteln Biologika & Biosimilars Spezialitäten­liste Kinderarzneimittel Generika Parallelimporte Pharmakodex

Von Land zu Land kann der Preis identischer und mit einem immaterialgüterrechtlichen Schutz (z.B. Patentschutz, Markenschutz) versehener Produkte verschieden hoch sein. Sind die Preisunterschiede genügend gross, so besteht für den Händler ein Anreiz, dieses Gefälle kommerziell zu nutzen: Er kauft Ware in einem Niedrigpreisland in grossen Mengen ein und importiert und verkauft sie in ein Hochpreisland. Der Parallelimporteur handelt dabei in Konkurrenz zum Hersteller.

Wichtig ist, zwischen Markenschutz und Patentschutz zu unterscheiden: Der Markenschutz ist in erster Linie ein Kennzeichnungsschutz für den Produzenten, aber auch für die Konsumenten. Es geht um den Schutz vor Täuschungen: Wer einen hohen Preis für eine Rolex, für ein Lacoste-T-Shirt, oder eine Louis Vuitton-Tasche bezahlt, möchte sicher sein, dass er das Original kauft. Im Unterschied zum Markenschutz ist der Patentschutz ein reiner Leistungsschutz. Das Patent verleiht dem Erfinder ein zeitlich begrenztes Exklusivrecht zur kommerziellen Nutzung seiner Erfindung und schafft somit einen Anreiz für Investitionen in Forschung und Entwicklung. Dieser Leistungsschutz ist in der Regel umfassender, aber -im Gegensatz zum Markenschutz -auch zeitlich befristet. Medikamente verlieren den Patentschutz rund 10 bis maximal 15 Jahre nach ihrer Zulassung.

Patentrecht

Das Patentrecht stellt sicher, dass die Patentierung von Erfindungen nicht zu einseitigen Monopolen oder Abhängigkeiten führt oder die Forschung behindert: Im Sinne einer Gegenleistung für das ihm eingeräumte Patentrecht ist der Inhaber verpflichtet, die Erfindung bereits im Zeitpunkt der Patentanmeldung zu offenbaren und für eine Fachperson nachvollziehbar zu erklären. Auf Grund dieser Verpflichtung besitzt die interessierte Öffentlichkeit die Möglichkeit, den aktuellen Stand der Entwicklung in der Forschung zu kennen und über Sinn und Unsinn einer allfälligen kommerziellen Nutzung einer bestimmten Erfindung zu diskutieren. Die Benützung der Erfindung zu Forschungszwecken ist trotz Patentierung uneingeschränkt möglich (sog. Forschungsprivileg); Gleiches gilt in Bezug auf den Privatgebrauch. Die gesetzliche Massnahme der Zwangslizenz fördern die freiwillige Lizenzvergabe. Nach Ablauf der Patentschutzdauer kann jedermann die Erfindung frei (kommerziell) benützen. Das Patentrecht stellt somit ein Gleichgewicht zwischen den Interessen der Patentinhaber, den weiteren forschenden Kreisen und der Öffentlichkeit her.

Parallelimporte von patentgeschützten Gütern mit staatlich festgelegten Preisen im Inland sind nicht zugelassen. Arzneimittel sind damit von Parallelimporten ausgenommen.

Pharmamarkt: staatlich reguliert – differenziert reguliert

Die Dynamik der Pharmaindustrie ist ein sehr wichtiger Beitrag zur Innovationsstärke der Schweiz. Diese Position und diese Stärke sollen nicht mit Parallelimporten im Bereich der regulierten Preise geschwächt werden. Die Schweiz benötigt den substanziellen Beitrag der Pharmaindustrie.

  • Profiteur des Parallelhandels ist der Parallelimporteur, der kaum zur Wertschöpfung beiträgt.
  • Parallelimporte erleichtern Marktzugang für gefälschte Medikamente
  • Parallelimporte können ausserdem erhebliche Schwierigkeiten in der Medikamentenversorgung eines Landes bewirken.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen