Paediatric medicinal products - Interpharma

Putting the focus on patients

Paediatric medicinal products

The process of manufacturing a medicinal product involves investments and risks.

Overview Regulation of medicinal products Use of medicinal products Biologicals and biosimilars List of pharmaceutical specialities Paediatric medicinal products Generics Parallel imports The Pharma Cooperation Code

In recent years, the situation regarding medicines for children has become a focus of discussion, and this discussion is moving in a direction that offers potential for solutions. For a long time, one of the main criticisms was that too few medicines developed specially for children or safe, high-quality medicines adapted to their needs were available. The general lack of reliable data specific to the age groups involved was a further point of criticism. For want of alternatives, medicines are often used in the paediatric setting that have been neither investigated nor authorised for this purpose. At the same time, there has been great reticence about research involving children, who are seen as particularly vulnerable individuals.

Progress in medicines for children

Nowadays, efforts are being made worldwide to bring more child-appropriate medicines onto the market and obtain authorisation for them.  In 2007, regulations under EU law entered into force in Europe with the aim of improving the range of medicines available for paediatric use. Since the revised Therapeutic Products Act came into force in 2019, the Swiss pharmaceutical industry has also been able to submit additional data on safe and effective use in children to Swissmedic when requesting authorisation for a new medicinal product.

A national catalogue of recommendations for dosing medicinal products for children (SwissPedDose) has been available to healthcare professionals in Switzerland since 2018. Further obligations and incentives to develop medicines for paediatric use have also been introduced. Their aim is to facilitate the development and accessibility of medicines for use in children. A further aim is to ensure that the medicinal products used to treat children are developed through ethically sound and high-quality research activities and are approved specifically for paediatric use. And finally, there are plans to improve the information available on the use of medicinal products in children. The intention is to achieve all these objectives without subjecting the paediatric population to unnecessary clinical trials and without delaying the approval of a medicinal product for other age groups.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Kinderarzneimittel - Interpharma

Der Patient im Mittelpunkt

Kinderarzneimittel

Der Prozess zur Herstellung eines Medikaments ist mit Investitionen und Risiken verbunden.

Übersicht Regulierung von Arzneimitteln Anwendung von Arzneimitteln Biologika & Biosimilars Spezialitäten­liste Kinderarzneimittel Generika Parallelimporte Pharmakodex

Die Diskussion über die Situation für Kinderarzneimittel ist in den letzten Jahren in Bewegung gekommen und hat eine Richtung eingeschlagen, die Lösungen ermöglicht. Lange Zeit wurde einerseits beklagt, dass zu wenig speziell für Kinder entwickelte oder an sie angepasste, sichere und qualitativ hochwertige Arzneimittel zur Verfügung stünden. Weiter wurde kritisiert, dass generell ein Mangel an verlässlichen, den Altersklassen entsprechenden Daten bestünde. Mangels Alternativen würden in der Kinderheilkunde oft Medikamente eingesetzt, die für eine solche Verwendung weder untersucht noch zugelassen wurden. Andererseits herrschte gegenüber der Forschung mit Kindern und damit gegenüber besonders verletzbaren Personen grosse Zurückhaltung.

Fortschritte bei Kinderarzneimitteln

Weltweit werden heute Anstrengungen dafür unternommen, dass mehr kindergerechte Arzneimittel auf den Markt gebracht und zugelassen werden.  Im Jahr 2007 traten in der EU Rechtsvorschriften zur Verbesserung des Arzneimittelangebots in der Kinderheilkunde in Kraft. Die Pharmaindustrie kann seit der Inkraftsetzung des revidierten Heilmittelgesetzes im Jahr 2019 auch in der Schweiz bei einem Zulassungsgesuch für ein neues Arzneimittel bei Swissmedic zusätzliche Daten über die sichere und wirksame Anwendung bei Kindern einreichen.

Seit 2018 steht Gesundheitsfachpersonen in der Schweiz ein nationales Verzeichnis mit Empfehlungen zur Arzneimitteldosierung bei Kindern zur Verfügung (Swisspeddose). Zusätzlich wurden weitere Verpflichtungen und Anreize zur Entwicklung von Kinderarzneimitteln eingeführt. Deren Ziel ist es, die Entwicklung und die Zugänglichkeit von Arzneimitteln zur Verwendung bei Kindern zu erleichtern. Weiter soll gewährleistet werden, dass die zur Behandlung von Kindern verwendeten Arzneimittel im Rahmen ethisch vertretbarer und qualitativ hochwertiger Forschungsarbeiten entwickelt und eigens für die pädiatrische Verwendung genehmigt werden. Schliesslich sollen die über die Verwendung von Arzneimitteln bei Kindern verfügbaren Informationen verbessert werden. Diese Ziele sollten verwirklicht werden, ohne die pädiatrische Bevölkerungsgruppe unnötigen klinischen Prüfungen auszusetzen und ohne die Genehmigung eines Arzneimittels für andere Altersgruppen zu verzögern.

Weiter Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen