Generics - Interpharma

Putting the focus on patients

Generics

The process of manufacturing a medicinal product involves investments and risks.

Overview Regulation of medicinal products Use of medicinal products Biologicals and biosimilars List of pharmaceutical specialities Paediatric medicinal products Generics Parallel imports The Pharma Cooperation Code

Generics, which are copies of brand-name medicines, are manufactured after the patent protection on the original product has expired, using the same active ingredient. A generic product has the same composition, volume, dosage and pharmaceutical formulation as the original.

Generic pricing

The price-difference rule states that generics can only be granted reimbursable status under statutory health insurance cover if they are less expensive than the products they are copying by a percentage determined by the market volume of the original. This takes into account the fact that generics do not incur any costs for research or development. Generic pricing is based on the price of the original product on the date its patent expires. The price-difference rule is set out in Art. 65c of the Health Insurance Ordinance (HIO). The manufacturer may reduce the price of the original product to that of the generic in order to remain competitive.

The Federal Council revised this price difference between generics and original products in 2017 with the aim of reducing the prices of medicinal products. Generic pricing was differentiated more strongly according to the market volume of the original product as a criterion for inclusion in the List of pharmaceutical specialities. There are five levels determined by the market volume of the original product during the three years prior to the expiry of its patent.

The Federal Council also made the differentiated co-payment made by the patient more flexible. Patients are currently required to make a differentiated co-payment of 20 percent for a medicine if it is at least 20 percent more expensive than the average of the cheapest third of all medicinal products with the same active substance composition on the List of pharmaceutical specialities. Previously, patients had to make a co-payment of 10 percent for generics and 20 percent for original products.

Substitution – a right, but not an obligation

According to Art. 52a of the Health Insurance Act, pharmacists can substitute a generic for an original product prescribed by a doctor, but they are not obliged to. Pharmacists therefore have a right to substitute generics in Switzerland, but substitution is not mandatory. The doctor can leave it to the pharmacist, as a healthcare professional, to select the product most suitable for the patient.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Generika - Interpharma

Der Patient im Mittelpunkt

Generika

Der Prozess zur Herstellung eines Medikaments ist mit Investitionen und Risiken verbunden.

Übersicht Regulierung von Arzneimitteln Anwendung von Arzneimitteln Biologika & Biosimilars Spezialitäten­liste Kinderarzneimittel Generika Parallelimporte Pharmakodex

Generika – auch Nachahmerprodukte genannt – werden mit dem Wirkstoff des Originalpräparates hergestellt, wenn dessen Patentschutz abgelaufen ist. Ein Generikum entspricht in seiner Zusammensetzung, Menge, Dosierung und galenischer Formulierung dem Original.

Preisbildung von Generika

Bedingung für die Aufnahme in die Kassenpflicht ist, dass Generika nach der sogenannten Preisabstandregel im Verhältnis zum Marktvolumen des Originalpräparates günstiger sind als ihr Vorbild. Damit wird berücksichtigt, dass für Generika keine Forschungs-und Entwicklungskosten anfallen. Ausgangspunkt für die Preisfestsetzung ist der Preis des Originalpräparats bei Patentablauf. Die Preisabstandsregel ist in Art. 65c der Krankenversicherungsverordnung (KVV) festgelegt. Im Sinne des Preiswettbewerbs kann die Herstellerfirma den Preis des Originalpräparats auf das Niveau des Generikums senken.

Als Massnahme zur Senkung der Medikamentenpreise hat der Bundesrat 2017 diesen Preisabstand von den Generika zu den Originalpräparaten neu geregelt. Die Preisbildung der Generika wurde für deren Aufnahme in die Spezialitätenliste stärker nach dem Marktvolumen des Originalpräparats differenziert. Es gelten dafür fünf Stufen je nach Marktvolumen des Originalpräparats während drei Jahren vor Patentablauf.

Zudem hat der Bundesrat den differenzierten Selbstbehalt flexibler gestaltet. Es gilt heute ein differenzierter Selbstbehalt von 20 Prozent für ein Arzneimittel dann, wenn es den Durchschnitt des günstigsten Drittels aller Arzneimittel mit gleicher Wirkstoffzusammensetzung auf der Spezialitätenliste um mindestens zwanzig Prozent übersteigt. Zuvor bezahlten Patientinnen und Patienten für ein Generikum 10 Prozent Selbstbehalt und für Originalpräparate 20 Prozent.

Substitution – ein Recht, aber kein Zwang

Nach Artikel 52a des Krankenversicherungsgesetzes können Apothekerinnen und Apotheker ärztlich verschriebene Originalpräparate durch ein Generikum ersetzen, sie müssen aber nicht. Die Schweiz kennt also ein Substitutionsrecht, aber keinen Zwang. Der Arzt kann dem Apotheker als Fachperson die Wahl des für den Patienten am besten geeigneten Präparates überlassen.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen