Biologicals and biosimilars - Interpharma

Putting the focus on patients

Biologicals and biosimilars

The process of manufacturing a medicinal product involves investments and risks.

Overview Regulation of medicinal products Use of medicinal products Biologicals and biosimilars List of pharmaceutical specialities Paediatric medicinal products Generics Parallel imports The Pharma Cooperation Code

Medicinal products obtained from living cells in complex biotechnological processes nowadays play a central role in the therapy and diagnosis of diseases such as cancer and diabetes.

Interferons, monoclonal antibodies, coagulation factors, and insulin and other hormones are examples of these products, which are known collectively as biologicals. In contrast to standard chemical products, these medicines consist of several highly complex large molecules and can be extremely sensitive to changes (for example of temperature or the composition of the nutrient medium) during their manufacture. The manufacture of biologicals is a technically demanding and intricate operation.

For some years now, Switzerland has also been authorising biosimilars – imitations of the original biologicals – once the patent on the original product has expired. Unlike copies of chemical medicines (generics), biosimilars are never entirely identical to the original active substance but only similar to the original, hence the name biosimilar. Biosimilars are not generics. The procedure used to authorise them is therefore more complex and requires more surveillance measures than for standard generics.

Further information

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2020

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more

Contact

Contact us

read more

Media

Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more

Biologika & Biosimilars - Interpharma

Der Patient im Mittelpunkt

Biologika & Biosimilars

Der Prozess zur Herstellung eines Medikaments ist mit Investitionen und Risiken verbunden.

Übersicht Regulierung von Arzneimitteln Anwendung von Arzneimitteln Biologika & Biosimilars Spezialitäten­liste Kinderarzneimittel Generika Parallelimporte Pharmakodex

Arzneimittel, welche mit biotechnologisch aufwändigen Prozessen in lebenden Zellen hergestellt werden, spielen heute eine zentrale Rolle in der Therapie und Diagnostik von Krankheiten wie Krebs und Diabetes.

Beispiele solcher sogenannter Biologika sind Interferone, monoklonale Antikörper, Gerinnungsfaktoren sowie Insuline und andere Hormone. Sie bestehen anders als klassische chemische Arzneistoffe aus mehreren hochkomplexen, grossen Molekülen und können in ihrer Herstellung äusserst empfindlich auf Änderungen (zum Beispiel der Temperatur oder auf die Zusammensetzung des Nährmediums) reagieren. Die Herstellung von Biologika ist technisch anspruchsvoll und aufwändig.

Seit einigen Jahren werden in der Schweiz nach Patentablauf der Biologika auch Biosimilars – Nachahmerprodukte der originalen Biologika – zugelassen. Im Unterschied zu den Nachfolgepräparaten von chemischen Arzneimitteln (Generika) sind Biosimilars nie völlig identisch zum Originalwirkstoff, sondern dem Original nur ähnlich (similar). Biosimilars sind keine Generika. Ihre Zulassung erfordert deshalb aufwendigere Verfahren und Überwachungsmassnahmen als bei klassischen Generika.

Weitere Informationen

Über uns

Interpharma ist der Verband der forschenden pharmazeutischen Firmen der Schweiz und wurde 1933 als Verein mit Sitz in Basel gegründet.

Interpharma informiert die Öffentlichkeit über die Belange, welche für die forschende Pharmaindustrie in der Schweiz von Bedeutung sind sowie über den Pharmamarkt Schweiz, das Gesundheitswesen und die biomedizinische Forschung.

Jahresbericht

Informationen zu unseren Kennzahlen und Aktivitäten im Geschäftsjahr 2020

mehr lesen

Board & Geschäftsstelle

Interpharma stellt sich vor

mehr lesen

Publikationen

Publikationen bestellen und herunterladen

mehr lesen

Vision & Mission

Mehr zu den Aufgaben und übergeordneten Zielen von Interpharma

mehr lesen

Kontakt

Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung

mehr lesen

Medien

Aktuelle Informationen und Medienkontakte für Medienschaffende

mehr lesen