Press release: Interpharma General Meeting - Interpharma

Split contribution to:

30 March 2023

Press release: Interpharma General Meeting

Interpharma adopted its Annual Report at today’s General Meeting. In addition, the Management Board was elected. Jörg Rupp (Roche) was elected to another term as President of Interpharma. In addition to Katrien De Vos (AstraZeneca) and Leila Schwery-Bou-Diab (Johnson & Johnson), who are already on the Management Board, Stefan Hendriks (Novartis) was newly elected as Vice President.

At today’s General Meeting, Interpharma launched its 90th anniversary year. Interpharma was founded in Basel in 1933 as an association of the research-based pharmaceutical industry.

Interpharma Annual Report 2022 now available online

Interpharma also published its 2022 Annual Report today. This year’s focus section looks back and traces the research of recent years based on six specific disease patterns. With use of various key economic figures, it also documents how the pharmaceutical industry became the research and innovation engine of the Swiss economy.

Furthermore, it sheds light on the activities of Interpharma in connection with the Pharmaceutical Strategy 2030. In the “Patient in Focus” section, the spotlight is on rapid and broad access to innovation for all patients. The importance of effective and timely protection of intellectual property as well as optimal framework conditions for Switzerland as a location for research is explained in the section “Leading in Research and Development”. The section “Strong Economic Policy Framework Conditions” concerns relations between Switzerland and the EU and our high commitment in the area of security of supply.

Find the Interpharma Annual Report at:

General Meeting 2023

The General Meeting confirms the following members of the Interpharma Management Board for a further term of office: Jörg-Michael Rupp – Roche (President), Katrien De Vos – AstraZeneca (Vice-President), Leila Schwery-Bou-Diab – Johnson & Johnson (Vice-President), Sabine Bruckner – Pfizer, Colleen Kamrad – GSK, Matthias Leuenberger – Novartis, Andrea Michael Meyer – Sanofi, Pierre Morneau – Takeda, Nathalie Stieger – F. Hoffmann-La Roche, Mads Stoustrup – Novo Nordisk, Dr. René P. Buholzer – Interpharma (Delegate of the Board).

Newly elected were Stefan Hendriks – Novartis (Vice President), Graham Dorey – Biogen, Thorsten Hein – Bayer, Michael Lugez – BMS, Max Pahlow – Johnson & Johnson and Dan Staner – Moderna.

About us

Interpharma, the association of Switzerland’s research-based pharmaceutical industry, was founded in Basel in 1933.

Interpharma informs the public about issues that are important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry in Switzerland, including the pharma market in Switzerland, healthcare and biomedical research.

Annual report

Information on our key figures and activities in the financial year 2022

read more

Board and Executive Management

Introducing Interpharma

read more

Vision and Mission

More about the tasks and overriding aims of Interpharma

read more


Contact us

read more


Latest information and media contacts for media representatives

read more